Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business:  News 

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business

News

 

Most Requested Titles

Title Access Coverage Premium* Notes
Wall Street Journal See Notes Global Yes 1) The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates.    
--  Account required?  Yes
--  Mobile app available?  Yes
2) Users on the UCI campus network can access WSJ articles in other databases.
New York Times See Notes Global Yes 1) The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates.  
--  Account required?  Yes
--  Mobile app available?  Yes
2) Users on the UCI campus network can access NYT articles in other databases.

Financial Times
See Notes Global Yes 1) The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates.  
--  Account required?  Yes
--  Mobile app available?  Yes
2) Users on the UCI campus network can access FT articles in other databases.
Economist UCI Global -- Available in the Global Issues database. 
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Orange County
Business Journal

 
UCI CA -- Available in the Regional Business News database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version.  

The Book of Lists
This supplement issue is a compilation of all lists published by OCBJ during the previous year. 
Harvard Business Review  UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
HBR restricts its 500 most popular articles (subject to change), and they cannot be printed or saved.  
The HBR Magazine is separate from Harvard's instructional materials, (e.g. Cases, Modules, and Core Curriculum Articles).

 

More Key Titles

Title Access Coverage Premium* Notes
Atlantic
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Nexis Uni database. >> Learn this search!  Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Barron's
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Factiva database.  
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Bloomberg BusinessWeek
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version.  
Business Insider
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Access World News database.  
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Conference Board
 
UCI Global Yes The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription.  
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No
Consumer Reports
 
UCI US -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version.  
Daily News of Los Angeles
 
UCI CA -- Available in the Access World News database.  
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Entrepreneur Magazine
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Fast Company
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Forbes Magazine
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Foreign Affairs
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Fortune Magazine
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Inc. Magazine
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Investor's Business Daily
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
Los Angeles Business Journal
 
UCI CA --

1) Available in the Factiva database on a 4-week delay.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).

2) Print version in Langson Library, Current Periodicals; (Bound) HF 5001 L67

Los Angeles Times
 
UCI Global -- Available in the ProQuest News database.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
McKinsey Quarterly
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
NewsWeek
 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are text-only (i.e., no images).
Nikkei Asia
 
UCI Asia
and US

Yes

The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription.  
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No
Orange County Register  UCI-
Authorized Affiliates
CA Yes The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates.  
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No
Politico Pro  
 
UCI US
and CA
Yes The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription.  
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No
San Diego Business Journal 
 
UCI CA -- Available in the MasterFILE Premier database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version. 
San Diego Union Tribune
 
UCI CA -- Available in the Access World News database.  
Articles are a mix of text-only (i.e., no images). and PDF scans.
San Francisco Chronicle
 
UCI CA -- Available in the Access World News database.  
Articles are a mix of text-only (i.e., no images). and PDF scans.
Scientific American
 
UCI Global Yes The UC System sponsors a system-wide subscription as part of the UC's agreement with Springer Nature.   
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No
US News & World Report 
                                 
UCI Global -- Available in the Business Source Complete database.
Articles are PDF scans of the print version, and rankings data is not included.  
Washington Post
 
UCI Global Yes The UCI Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription.  
Just ignore the prompts to login or subscribe.  :)
--  Account required?  No
--  Mobile app available?  No

 

* What does "Premium" mean?
When the UCI Libraries (or the UC System) sponsor a premium subscription, we negotiate and sign a license directly with the publisher, and we pay a subscription fee.  This enables our users to access news from the publisher's website directly (e.g., WSJ.com) without hitting paywalls.  


News Databases

 

Business Source Complete
Access:  UCI

Thousands of business articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines. 

 

Factiva
Access:  UCI

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.
Factiva's terms of use prohibit text mining, i.e. using any code or program (e.g. crawlers and APIs) to automatically retrieve or download large amounts of content.

 

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies
Access:  UCI
Access to the text of the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington-Post, Wall Street Journal,  Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. 

 

Access World News
Access:  UCI

Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

 

Regional Business News
Access:  UCI

Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch 
Access:  UCI

Full-text newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including ethnicity in the workplace.

 

The Conference Board
Access:  UCI

A non-profit business membership and research group. Produces strategy-focused proprietary research reports and articles on topical business issues.

 

Tip:
What's a trade publication?

Trade publications are generally written by people within an industry for people within an industry.  For example, JCK is for people working in the jewelry industry, and the Chronicle of Higher Education is for people working at colleges and universities.  Trade publications give great insight into the culture, vocabulary, and inner workings of an industry. 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.

 Tips: 
 

Want to search a LOT of news titles at once?  
Use this tab: News Databases.  News databases include thousands of titles to make your searching more efficient!
 

Want an easy overview for big controversial social issues?  
Try CQ Researcher. Each entry reads like an easily understandable Wikipedia page, but unlike Wikipedia, everything is credibly cited.