Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Patents

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


 
Patents

 

Derwent Innovations Index
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

One of the most comprehensive databases of patent information.  Covers millions of basic inventions and patents worldwide from 1963 in three sections: chemical, electronic and electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering. 

 

The Lens.org
Access: Public
Geography: Global
A joint initiative of Cambia (an independent non-profit institute) and Queensland University of Technology.  Hosts over 100 million patent records from 95+ jurisdictions. 

  • To find US companies who own the most patents:  Our Apps [top menu] > Patents [left menu] > Owners
  • To find the top companies applying for the most patents:  Our Apps [top menu] > Patents [left menu] > Applicants

 

Top 300 Organizations Granted U.S. Patents
Access: Public
Geography: US
Annual list compiled by the Intellectual Property Owners Association. 

 

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Access: Public
Geography: Global
WIPO cooperates with intellectual property (IP) offices worldwide all over the world to provide current IP statistics.

 

USPTO Full-text & Image Database
Access: Public
Geography: US

Searchable database of patents, powered by the US Patent & Trade Office.  (Searches are limited to patent numbers and/or classification codes for pre-1976 patents.)

  • For patents by a given company, use the company's official name (e.g. Amazon Technologies, Inc.) in the "Applicant Name" Field.
  • Questions?  Try one of the USPTO's many Support Centers.  


Patents Associated with Products

 

"There are hundreds of thousands of patented products on the market, most of which are known by a brand name or trademark. However, product names usually are not found in patent documents, because companies tend to file patent applications long before considering product names and trademarks. Patent rules also discourage the use of product names in patent applications."

 

Search Tips

  • The name of a product often has no connection to the patent(s) related to it.
     
  • Look for a patent number on the product or packaging. Many companies print patent numbers on their products as a public notification. Use the number to search a patent database.
     
  • Look for company names on both the product and its packaging. Remember that the company that distributes a product may be different from its manufacturer. Search the name of the company in a patent database.
     
  • Visit the company's website. Many companies publish details about their products on their websites and in their product literature.
     
  • Search the product name in a trademark database to determine the name of the owner. Search the owner's name in a patent database.
     

Credit: Thanks go to Michael White at Queens University Library for this great info!


Select eBooks

 

Nolo's Patents for Beginners
Access: UCI
A primer on patent law that explains how to: document your invention, acquire patent rights, 'read' a patent application, understand how and why to make a patent search, determine patent ownership, find patent information, understand international patent law, and decide whether to file a provisional patent.  Copyright 2018. 

 

Nolo's Patent Searching Made Easy
Access: UCI
Learn how to verify the patent status of an idea, search Patent and Trademark Depository Libraries, and use online patent search services.  Learn how to assign your idea to the right class, compare it to related ideas, and then determine if it's novel enough to qualify for a patent.  Copyright 2017.  

 

Nolo (Latin for “I don’t choose to") is a publisher of reliable, plain-English legal information that anyone can use.

 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.