Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: IT and Technology

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


IT and Technology:  Industry Databases

 

Forrester Research
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global (limited)

Analysis and insights across a broad range of IT areas.  Content covers how IT affects and grows a business, and impacts customer experience. Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts. 

  • Use the Only my access radio button in the left search results filter menu to see content available at the UCI Libraries.  
  • Playbooks provide guidance for business initiatives. Top menu bar > Insights > Playbooks
  • Waves offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services. Keyword search "The Forrester Wave" and limit by industry.

 

Gartner
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global (limited)

An IT consulting firm that produces research applicable to all facets of technology and organization.  Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e. a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e. a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.

 

eMarketer
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, mobile device usage.  Coverage is both US and global. 

 

BCC Research
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Comprehensive reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech industry sectors.  

  • Focus:  Advanced Materials, Biotechnology, Chemicals, Energy and Resources, Engineering, Environment, Food and Beverage, Fuel Cell and Battery Technologies, Healthcare, Information Technology, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Membrane and Separation Technology, Nanotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, Photonics, Plastics, Safety and Security, and Semiconductor Manufacturing.

 

Frost & Sullivan
Access: UCI

Geography: Global (limited)

Industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

 

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 U.S. industries, including Information, Technology, and Professional, Scientific and Technical Services.

 

Plunkett Research Online
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies.  Spans several major IT industry categories.

 

Mintel
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: US

U.S. Market research reports on the behaviors, lifestyles, and product/brand preferences of major consumer groups.  Thematic coverage includes 'e-commerce,' 'mobile,' and 'entertainment'. 

 

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Reports covering IT infrastructure, telecoms, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet, and technology vendors.


MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

US and global industry profiles and company profiles throughout many fields involving IT.

 

Pew Internet & American Life Project
Reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.


IT and Technology:  Academic and Trade Articles and Books

 

O'Reilly
Access: UCI
O'Reilly for Higher Education features all O'Reilly publications and thousands of  technical eBooks from 200+ global publishers.  It also offers videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, etc.  Subjects include: Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, IT & Software, Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subjects.  Includes scholarly articles, industry reports, news, and trade publications like Computerworld and CIO Magazine

 

Journal of Cases on Information Technology
Peer reviewed scholarly journal of real-life teaching cases and case studies based on individual, organizational, and societal experiences related to the utilization and management of information technology.

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.