What can I access?
- PublicAccess is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.
For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.
Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.
The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.
Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;
Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.
How do I access the UCI network?
- Students
- Employees
- Alumni
- Visitors
Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.
Scholarly Articles
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries from scholarly business journals.
EconLit
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of scholarly articles on disciplines within economics.
PsycINFO
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of scholarly articles and bibliographic entries on psychology, cognitive sciences, and related disciplines.
Communication Abstracts
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Communication and mass-media related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including ethnicity in the workplace.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.
Scopus
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The largest index of peer-reviewed literature, in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A massive index for scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
ScienceDirect
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
PubMed
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles.
JSTOR
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
JSTOR Stands for Journal Storage. Contents usually comprise entire back run of a publication, except for the most recent (2-5 years) of scholarly journals, across all disciplines.
Working Papers
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Access: Public
Access: UCI Authorized Affiliates (eJournals)
Geography: Global
A repository featuring many specialized research networks (RNs) that altogether cover practically all academic disciplines. Scholars use SSRN to share their forthcoming research preprints (i.e., working papers and abstracts that have not been peer-reviewed), and to discover one another's forthcoming research. SSRN also classifies papers into topic-based eJournals that are distributed to institutional subscribers.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The working papers series from the National Bureau of Economic Research. New research by NBER affiliates, circulated for discussion and comment. Papers issued more than 18 months ago are open access.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Access: Public
Geography: Global
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 78 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The bibliographic database includes working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries, including working papers.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Includes working papers from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals, covering international politics and related fields, including security, finance, diplomacy, law, governance, development, and environment.
The Peterson Institute for International Economics
Access: Public
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy. Working papers series launched in 1994.
Various Business Schools
Many university business schools have repositories of working papers readily available online. To find them, start with a Google search limited to the .edu domain. For example, paste this into Google: business working papers site:.edu
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses.
In this database UCI has access to all other UC dissertations electronically since 1997.
UC Library Search: Merage School Dissertations
Access: UCI
This link searches the library catalog for all dissertations in Management (i.e. from the Merage School).
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Limited as possible to records that are freely available online.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Limited as possible to records that are freely available online.
Case Studies
FAQ: I have to read a case study from a popular vendor. Why can't I get it from the UCI Libraries?
Cases are lucrative for popular vendors (Korn, 2012, WSJ). Imagine you're selling cases for $10/case. Do you make more money by selling to a library ($10 x 1), or by selling to a 50-student class ($10 x 50)? The latter! That's why vendors prohibit libraries from licensing and sharing cases. Therefore you must buy your own copy or use a course packet if your program administrators created one for your class.
| Columbia | MIT |
| Darden | Northwestern |
| Harvard (more info below) | Sage |
| IMD | Stanford |
| Insead | Thunderbird |
| Ivey | USC |
Harvard Business Review (HBR) Cases, Modules, & Core Curriculum Articles
Harvard requires each person buys a license for any Case, Module, or Curriculum Article they want to read. You must buy your own copy of materials that are sold via the HBR store or use course packets (if available).
MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Case studies, approximately 10 pages long, typically addressing either industry trends or a company's strategy.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A massive database with articles covering all aspects of business. The following journals are dedicated to case studies, and more cases are findable through the Advanced Search.
Add the term "case study" to your keyword search string, e.g. logistics AND "case study"
Journal of Cases on Information Technology
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Peer reviewed journal of real-life teaching cases and case studies based on individual, organizational, and societal experiences, related to the utilization and management of information technology.
Asian Journal of Management Cases
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Peer reviewed journal of cases focusing on real life management issues in the unique socio-economic environment of Asia. Teaching and research cases cover a wide range of management challenges, from South, Central and South-West Asia, plus the Middle East.
South Asian Journal of Business & Management Cases
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Peer reviewed journal of original teaching cases, research or analytical cases, evidence-based case studies, comparative studies on industry sectors, products and practical applications of management concepts.
Journal of Education Advancement and Marketing
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Peer reviewed journal of case studies on advancement, development, alumni relations, fundraising, marketing and communications for educational institutions.
eBooks & Print books
Many business book chapters feature case studies. From the Library Search page, add the phrase: "case studies" to a broad keyword search, e.g.: "case studies" AND management.
To protect its revenue, Harvard requires each person buys a license for any Case, Module, or Curriculum Article they want to read, so the UCI Libraries is prohibited from purchasing and sharing these materials. You must buy your own copy of these materials or use course packets (if available).
The Journals and News tabs both link to the Harvard Business Review Magazine; users may freely access magazine articles.
