Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Advertising

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business
 
Databases for Advertising

 

Ad$pender
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across the following media:  

  • Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, Nat'l Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, Nat'l Spot Radio, Outdoor, and Internet Display (note that Internet Display does not offer data on a company's advertising through social media platforms). 
  • We have two extra modules until February 2022.
    • Market Module: Get local-level breakdowns of data by Designated Market Areas (DMAs), as covered by Ad$pender.
    • Historic Module:  Instead of going back 5 years, our data now goes back to 1995.
       
  • View a PDF user manual here
  • Learn this search!
  • For help with searching in this database, call the Ad$pender New York office (8am – 8pm Eastern): 1-800-497-8450.  Tell Ad$pender that you are with The University of California, Irvine, and that you would like to get help walking through your query from the beginning.
     

Mintel
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: US

Market research reports including graphics, practical analysis, and recommendations for marketing strategies.  Also has industry reports spanning the consumer product sectors, including market conditions like market size and share, forecasts, trends, etc. 

 

eMarketer
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, mobile device usage.  Coverage is both US and global. 

 

Forrester Research
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global (limited)

Analysis and insights across a broad range of IT areas.  Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts.  "Playbooks" provide guidance for marketing professionals.  "Waves" offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services.

 

Plunkett Research Online
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of companies.  Spans several major industry categories, including advertising.

 

Nielsen Datasets  *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: US​

For PhD students and Tenure Track Faculty only!  The UCI Libraries' subscription includes the Consumer Panel dataset and the Retail Scanner dataset.  Data is from a partnership between Nielsen and the Kilts Center for Marketing at the Chicago Booth School of Business.


Readings for Advertising

 

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
Essays on some of the top recent global and emerging brands.  Essays look at historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy and development hurdles and the outcome of the campaign-- what worked, what didn't and why. 

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries for scholarly business journals and trade publications.  Includes both AdWeek and Advertising Age trade publications. 

 

Marketing Week
Access from 1998+ via the Nexis Uni database.  A leading news magazine for people in the marketing, advertising and media communities.  Provides case studies, a spotlight on the best innovation in marketing and the latest in consumer and business trends. 

  • If you see a "View Link" message, ignore it and click the Continue button.  

 

Communication Abstracts
Communication and mass-media related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale.

 

Advertising & Society Review
Scholarly journal devoted entirely to advertising and its relationship to society, culture, history, and the economy.

 

Nielsen Ratings

Variety Magazine
A weekly industry magazine, with of note on all aspects of the entertainment industry.  Reports cover film box office gross revenue, theater production gross revenue, and top streaming shows. Also includes the following Nielsen television ratings from the prior week: 
Top 20 TV programs for "Adults 18-49"

Top 20 TV programs for "Total Viewers"
"Facebook & Twitter Interactions"

  • From the Variety landing page, choose "Search within this publication."  Then: See this search!

 

Nielsen's Top 10's
Select content, for the current time period, made freely available by Nielsen.  The UCI Libraries does NOT have a license/subscription to any other premium content on the Nielsen website. 

Connect

How To Connect

Electronic & Print
Resources