Skip to Main Content

Business

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond.

Email this link:

Access Answers


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 

Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.

How do I access the UCI network? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors

Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.

Real Estate


Real Estate:  US Residential


IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 industries, covering most major aspects of real estate.  

 

Statista
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources (market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases). 

  • Keyword search for residential real estate

 

SimplyAnalytics
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands of data variables that can be used when building custom maps and tables.  (Register for a free account to save and return to your work.)  Variables derived from the US Census cover many aspects of housing and real estate, and coverage goes down to local (e.g. zip code) levels.  

 ​

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Covers virtually all business subjects.  Includes content from several real estate journals, e.g. The Journal of Real Estate Portfolio Management,  Real Estate Economics, and Housing Finance International, as well as real estate trade publications, including National Real Estate Investor and Commercial Property Executive.   

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
U.S. and international sub-industry profiles and company profiles throughout real estate.

 

National Mortgage News articles
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Text-only articles (i.e. no visuals included), from the National Mortgage News trade publication, are available through the Access World News database.  

 

National Association of Realtors (NAR)
Access: Public
Geography: US
NAR produces housing statistics on the national, regional, and metro-market level where data is available:

  • Existing-Home Sales
  • Pending Home Sales Index
  • Housing Affordability Index
  • REALTORS® Affordability Distribution Curve and Score
  • Metropolitan Median Home Prices and Affordability
  • County Median Home Prices and Monthly Mortgage Payment

 

S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices
Access: Public
Geography: US
Measures of U.S. residential real estate prices, tracking changes in the value of residential real estate both nationally as well as in 20 metropolitan regions.  From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

 

Freddie Mac House Prices Index
Access: Public
Geography: US
Provides a measure of typical price inflation for houses within the United States. Values are calculated monthly and released at the end of the following quarter.  Coverage includes, National, State, and MSA level, all dating back to 1975.  


Real Estate:  US Commercial


IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 industries, covering most major aspects of real estate.  Coverage is US. 

 

Fitch Connect
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Macroeconomic country, industry and financial market analysis, covering 200 global markets.   The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities.  Industry reports cover countries' residential and commercial real estate markets. 

 

Statista
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources (market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases). 

  • Keyword search for commercial real estate

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
U.S. and international sub-industry profiles and company profiles throughout real estate.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
Covers virtually all business subjects.  Includes content from several real estate journals, e.g. The Journal of Real Estate Portfolio Management,  Real Estate Economics, and Housing Finance International, as well as real estate trade publications, including National Real Estate Investor, Commercial Property Executive, and Site Selection.

 

NAIOP Research Foundation
Access: Public
Geography: US
Formerly the National Association for Industrial and Office Parks, a trade association for developers, owners and investors of office, industrial, retail and mixed-use real estate.  Offers free reports covering how real properties, particularly office, industrial and mixed-use properties, impact communities throughout North America.

 

Commercial Real Estate Finance Council (CREFC)
The trade association for the commercial real estate finance industry.  Limited amounts of data are freely available.  The UCI Libraries does not have a membership to access premium content.

 

Commercial Property Price Indices (CPPIs)
There are three vendors that each produce a different CPPI, measures the overall value of commercial real estate.  The UCI Libraries do not have a license to any of these vendors' content.  Users may have to register with these commercial entities to receive content.  

  • Green Street- Uses an appraisal-based methodology, i.e. unleveraged commercial U.S. property values that captures the prices at which commercial real estate transactions are currently being negotiated and contracted.
     
  • CoStar- Uses a transaction-based methodology, i.e. price movements using repeat-sales regression analysis.  
     
  • Real Capital Analytics (RCA) CPPI-  Uses a transaction-based methodology, i.e. price movements using repeat-sales regression analysis.  RCA is now part of MSCI (Morgan Stanley Capital International).  


Real Estate:  US Government

 

Homeland Infrastructure Foundation-Level Data (HIFLD)
Access: Public
Geography: US
US National geospatial information across multiple levels of government to provide a common foundation for data visualization and analysis.  Aggregates 270+ datasets including real estate, venues, facilities, federal lands, state buildings, etc. from numerous government entities.  Data is available for download as CSV, KML, Shapefile, and accessible via web services to support application development and data visualization. 


The General Services Administration (GSA) provides centralized procurement for the federal government, which includes constructing, managing, and preserving government buildings, as well as leasing and managing commercial real estate, through the GSA Public Buildings Service (PBS).  
Access: Public
Geography: US

  • GSA Buildings
    ​Dataset of a list of GSA Owned and Leased Buildings that includes address, usable and rentable square footage as well as other characteristics of the building.  Data comes from REXUS.  
     
  • Real Estate Across the US (REXUS)
    The primary tool used by PBS to track and manage the government's real property assets, and to store inventory data, building data, customer data, and lease information.
     
  • Federal Real Property Profile (FRPP) Public Data Set
    Real property data from the Federal Real Property Profile Management System (FRPP MS), made accessible to the public. FRPP MS is the federal government’s centralized inventory of real property under the custody and control of executive branch agencies.The FRPP public data set is displayed in comma separated value (CSV) files. 
     
  • Inventory of Owned and Leased Properties
    IOLP is a visual mapping tool that allows users to understand where GSA has space across the country and its territories. View specific data for GSA owned and leased properties, and search by ownership or lease characteristics. 

 

The Department of Defense (DoD) is also one of the Federal government’s larger holders of real estate.
Access: Public
Geography: US

  • Base Structure Report
    ​An annual consolidated snapshot summary of the Military Departments’ native real property inventory (RPI) data, that provide most readers with accurate background information about the vast majority of issues regarding DoD’s real property infrastructure, including an overview of the size of the DoD inventory, followed by the summary information, first arrayed alphabetically by State for all of DoD, and then repeated in sections dedicated to each Service. The last section provides summary details on sites managed by the States as part of the Army National Guard. 

 

Real Estate:  Global


FitchConnect 
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
A global intelligence database, featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP.  The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities.  Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses.  Industry reports cover countries' residential and commercial real estate markets. 

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
U.S. and international sub-industry profiles and company profiles throughout real estate.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
Covers virtually all business subjects.  Includes content from several real estate journals, e.g. The Journal of Real Estate Portfolio Management,  Real Estate Economics, and Housing Finance International, as well as real estate trade publications, including National Real Estate Investor and Commercial Property Executive.   

See Also

If you're researching Real Estate in Southern California, visit the Orange County and California page.  

Some of the resources listed there, like the SCAG Profiles, have local-level Real Estate information.

Return to the top of the page.