Ethical Business: Companies
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Ratings, ESG Relevancy, and accompanying analysis, for any companies that are rated by Fitch (over 4,000 companies globally). Companies are rated annually. To understand a given firm:
The SAM Sustainability Yearbook
A database, now owned by S&P Global, of Corporate Sustainability Assessment (CSA) results for 3,000+ worldwide listed companies. Filter by company name, country or industry, and by one or more sustainability award categories.
100 Best Corporate Citizens
3BL Media develops the 100 Best Corporate Citizens ranking in partnership with Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS) ESG. It assess the largest publicly traded companies in the U.S. based on fundamental environmental, social and governance (ESG) transparency. (The UCI Libraries does not have a subscription to any premium content from 3BL.)
Starting in 2015, Fortune released "Change The World," an annual list of 50 companies that are doing well by doing good. Fortune also has a website devoted to the list.
Corporate Knights Magazine
A magazine about the intersection of business and society, focusing on all aspects of clean capitalism. Features a Global 100 list of the most sustainable companies.
US Chamber of Commerce: Citizens Awards
Since 2000, the US Chamber of Commerce has honored companies for their initiatives to improve communities around the world.
A web resource of for-profit companies certified by the nonprofit B Lab to meet rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency. Includes a database of Benefit Corporations.
Ethical Business: Advocacy & Accountability
BSR (Business for Social Responsibility)
A non-profit organization with a mission to build a just and sustainable world. Offers free research reports and primers that give both analysis and recommendations. (The UCI Libraries is not a member and therefore does not have access to any premium content.)
United Nations Global Compact- Library
A subsection of the UN working to drive change across all aspects of corporate sustainability. Produces a library of reports and analysis supporting ten ESG Principles. (The UCI Libraries is not a member of and therefore does not have access to any premium content.)
CECP (Committee Encouraging Corporate Philanthropy)
A CEO-led coalition empowering companies to promote societal engagement. CECP makes freely available the following two reports listed below. (The UCI Libraries is not a member of and therefore does not have access to any premium content.)
A nonprofit group that, through its investigative reporting, works to promote environmental, social and human rights at the local, national and global levels by holding multinational corporations accountable for their actions.
WBCSD (World Business Council for Sustainable Development)
A global, CEO-led organization of over 200 leading businesses working together to accelerate the transition to a sustainable world.
Ethical Business: Academic and Trade Articles
Sustainability: The Journal of Record
Peer-reviewed journal providing exclusive reporting on the implementation of sustainability programs, initiatives, and practices in higher education and industry.
Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental Management
Peer-reviewed journal with research and practical advice for organizations on the development of tools, practical case studies and an assessment of the relative strengths and weaknesses of different approaches to improve their performance and accountability.
The Conference Board
A non-profit business membership and research group. Produces strategy-focused proprietary research reports and articles on topical business issues.
Business Source Complete
A huge database with millions of articles covering virtually all business subjects. Includes trade articles, academic articles, business news, and industry reports. Includes publications like the Journal of Corporate Citizenship and Business Ethics Quarterly.
Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.
Sustainability (Open Access)
Open Access peer-reviewed journal with international, cross-disciplinary coverage on the environmental, cultural, economic, and social sustainability of human beings.
Business Ethics: The Magazine of Corporate Social Responsibility
An online magazine covering the fields of ethics, governance, corporate responsibility and socially responsible investing.
Ethical Business: Data
A project of the Cato Institute featuring empirical data from reliable sources that look at worldwide long-term trends generally related to human progress. Includes 900+ dynamic datasets (i.e. datasets that allow a user to interact with the data in several ways), and 30+ static datasets (i.e. datasets that do not allow a user to interact much with the data).
Sovereign ESG Portal
From the World Bank. Incorporates data relevant to all 17 Sustainable Development Goals. Data are in themes the World Bank considers to be crucial for financial sector representatives to consider when assessing the contribution of investments or policies to sustainable development.
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Physical terminal(s) located in the Paul Merage School of Business. Bloomberg's ESG covers 11,500+ companies in 83+ countries.
1. Type "company ticker" then hit EQUITY key
2. Type FA ESG and <GO>
What's the jargon?
Its broad elements are: social, environmental, and economic responsibility, AKA the three pillars of people, planet, and profit.
Those organizations (for profit or non profit) that address a basic unmet need or solve a social problem through a market-driven approach.
Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
In CSR, the concept of Responsibility has two sub-meanings. 1- avoiding harm to others, and 2- engaging in charitable or redistributionist activities.
Environment, Social, and Governance (ESG)
The three aspects of CSR, often discussed in terms of governance, are abbreviated ESG- Environment, Social, and Governance.
What can I access?- Public
Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.
The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;
Am I on the UCI network?
Am I responsibly using