Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Lists of Companies: Make a List, Get Popular Lists

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Make A List of Companies

 

Tip

To make a list of companies in an industry, you'll typically need an industry code.  These are often NAICS codes. 

Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Public and private company information (as available) for companies worldwide.  Advanced Search allows for creating a custom Excel spreadsheet of companies based on criteria like industry, location, size, etc. Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro.  Data for both Mergent & Hoovers comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

  • Learn this search!  << sample search for "medical device" manufacturers in Orange County.

 

​PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries.  Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

 

CB Insights
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Global data and information about the financing activities of startup companies and investors, including venture capital firms, angel investors, as well as M&A and IPO activity. Specializing in emerging industries, the database also offers data-driven research reports, performance metrics related to company health, and data visualization and presentation tools.

  • Users must create an account with your UCI email address. Download limits apply.

 

Uniworld
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary.  Finds both US firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the US.  Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, revenue, etc.  Uniworld also features a "career postings" search option, which is a yes/no indicator that the company has a link on its own website for its own career opportunities.  

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

An advanced and comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.

  • Screening [tab] >> Companies >> Select or Search for Criteria.  
    Under the top Help menu, you'll find a phone number, and a representative (available 24/7) can walk you through screening for a list of companies.  

 

GuideStar
GuideStar specializes in nonprofit company intelligence.  Its covers 2.7 million nonprofits and it features: Current financial data, IRS forms, and visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits.  A directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location.  A directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.


Get Popular Lists* of Companies

 

Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
The Book of Lists supplement issue is simply a compilation of all lists published by OC Business Journal during the previous year. 

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

This database includes Fortune Magazine.  This custom url finds the issues with Largest U.S. Corporations in the title, i.e. what Fortune officially calls its Fortune 500 list. 

  • Select PDF Full Text to explore inside the magazine.  Fortune magazine also breaks down the 500 by industry and by state. 

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial, executive, and activity information on millions of companies worldwide. 

  • Look up the name of an index, e.g. the Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P 500, etc. to see and export the current (not historic) list of constituent companies. 
    Learn this search!
     
  • Use the Markets tab > Industries for lists of the top US public companies, including ratio data, across these sectors:
    Analysis, Energy, Materials, Industrials, Consumer Discretionary, Consumer Staples, Health Care, Financials, IT, Communication Services, Utilities, and Real Estate
     
  • The Idea Generation Screens feature premade filters for 200+ company characteristics.  
    Learn this search!

 

Accounting Today 
Located within the Business Source Complete database, it produces an annual spreadsheet of the Top 100 Firms, with basic data on Revenue, Personnel, and Fee Splits. 

 

 

*There are dozens of company lists, produced by many different entities.
This page only points to a select few of the most requested/relevant lists for the UCI community.
The INSEAD Libraries has an excellent compilation of many additional lists.


What are NAICS and SIC codes, and how can they help me?



U.S. Industries (and therefore the companies operating in those industries) are commonly classified according to two codes: 

NAICS = North American Industry Classification System

SIC = Standard Industry Classification

 

Key Points:

  • Codes help you by acting as a standard controlled language for industries.  For example, "green technology" is vague and could refer to many industries, but NAICS code 221114 refers only to Solar Electric Power Generation.
     
  • NAICS codes are newer and more specific than SIC codes.
     
  • SIC codes are what companies must declare when they first file an S-1 with the SEC to be publicly traded on a US stock exchange.  Companies are not required to declare their NAICS code; it's optional at the discretion of the company. 
     
  • The US Census Bureau is not permitted to release information about individual businesses, including industry classification.  Many research firms ascribe NAICS codes to companies, but accuracy is not guaranteed.  
     
  • No code system is perfect.  Codes might not entirely or accurately describe a company's product(s)/service(s), especially if:
    • 1) a company operates in many lines of business (think of General Electric)
    • 2) a company specializes in a niche product/service in a larger industry

 


How do I find NAICS or SIC codes?



By Industry:

Visit the NAICS or SIC websites to search or browse for any code(s). 

 

By Company: 

Use the Mergent Intellect database to find a known company, e.g. General Electric (GE), to see the codes listed on that company's landing page.

 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.