Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Consumers

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Behavior & Psychographics

 

Mintel
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: US

Consumer lifestyle reports, including purchasing motivations and and product/brand preferences these consumer segments:  Affluent Consumers, Baby Boomers, Kids, Men, Millennials, Mothers, Multicultural, Singles, Teens, and Women.

Market research reports in these consumer-focused industry categories:  Automotive, Beauty, Clothing and Footwear, Drink, Financial Services, Food, Foodservice, Health and Wellness, Home, Household Care, Leisure and Entertainment, Lifestyles, Personal Care, Retail, Technology, and Travel.  Coverage is US.  

 

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Consumer Lifestyles reports on major elements of consumers' living habits, for 80+ countries.  Coverage is global. 

 

eMarketer
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including consumers usage data for the internet, ecommerce, social media, mobile devices, etc. Coverage is both US and global. 

 

SimplyAnalytics
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands of consumer behavioral data variables that can be used when building custom maps and reports (i.e. spreadsheets).  Register for a free account to save and return to your work.  Coverage is U.S. 

 

Sports Market Analytics (SMA)
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Market analytics for all three major sports market segments: fan behavior, participants, and sporting goods buyers.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of full-text articles and bibliographic entries for scholarly business journals and trade publications.  Includes the Journal of Consumer Psychology and the Journal of Consumer Research. 

 

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Brief downloadable reports on key consumer behavior characteristics, Travel, Pets, Media use, etc. that can have a material effect on various industries' performance.  Coverage is U.S. 

 

The Pew Research Center
Reports based on conducting public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.  Coverage is U.S. 

 


Demographics

 

PolicyMap
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Visualize over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.

 

SimplyAnalytics
Access: UCI
Geography: US
 

Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands demographic data variables that can be used when building custom maps and tables.  Register for a free account to save and return to your work. 

 

Social Explorer
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Maximum 1 user at once! Visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. since 1790 through the present, for the country over all down to the level of the county.

 

Marketline Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Macro-level socioeconomic and demographic data for countries worldwide, both historical and forecasted. 

 

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Demographic reports covering populations, homes, incomes, and expenditures, and other consumer trends, for many countries worldwide. 

 

Census Data
Population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the United States Census.

 

The Pew Research Center
Reports based on conducting public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.  Coverage is U.S. 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.