Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Historical Information

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Historical Company Information

 

International Directory of Company Histories
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

eBook series.  Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. Use the Search Within Series box to type in a company name.  (Preformatted citations are available at the end of each report.)

 

Mergent Archives- Moody's Manuals
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

PDF image scans of all Moody's Manuals, starting with the first manuals published in 1909.  The manuals cover company financials not available in Compustat, which has no financials before 1950 and incomplete coverage between 1950 and 1962.  

  • To keyword search any report(s), use Adobe Acrobat Pro > Tools > Text Recognition. 

 

Mergent Archives- Annual Reports
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Offers more than 1,000,000 documents covering over 100 years dating back to 1844.  
USA—Over 370,000 documents  |  Canada—Over 150,000 documents  |  International—Over 500,000 documents

 

UCI Libraries Catalog: Advanced Search
Books are often written about the history of well-known companies.  These books are discoverable in the UCI Libraries catalog.  Search for the company name in the Subject field.  

 

Historical Newspapers
News is often one of the best sources of information about historical companies.  ​

 

ArchiveGrid
5+ million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.


Historical Company Datasets

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global 

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of publicly traded companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices, adjusted for stock splits.  

  • From the homepage > Charting [dropdown menu] > Chart Builder
     
  • UCI Faculty and PhD students may create personal accounts in S&P Capital IQ to facilitate their research and instruction.  Account holders can use Capital IQ’s Microsoft Office Plug-in to build and manipulate financial models and spreadsheets by accessing company financials, estimates, market data, transactions, ownership, fixed income data and more, directly within Excel. 

 

ReferenceUSA Historical Data
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US

Datasets consisting of annual snapshots of historic company data from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database. Includes company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, and location (to zip code).  Data is back to 1997.  

 

Corporate Affiliations Historical Data
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global (limited)

Historical hierarchies and profiles of over 1.9 million of the most prominent parent companies, subsidiaries, affiliates and divisions worldwide.  Data is back to 1993.  To request access to the data, please email the UCI Business & Economics Librarian, Annette Buckley.  

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.