Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Analyst Reports and Earnings Conference Calls

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business

 

Analyst Reports

 

Investext (via Mergent Online)
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

This replaces the Thomson ONE database.  Investext (i.e., the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection) offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investments banks and independent research firms globally.  Coverage dates as far back as 1982.   

  • Learn this search!
     
  • Reports are typically embargoed for 14 days prior to being made available.  
     
  • Prominent firms included* Prominent firms not included*

    BMO Capital Markets
    Credit Suisse
    Deutsche Bank
    Evercore 
    HSBC
    JPMorgan
    Nomura
    RBC Capital Markets
    UBS AG
    Wells Fargo Securities 

    Barclays
    BofA
    BNP Paribas
    Goldman Sachs
    Jefferies Group
    Lazard
    Merrill Lynch
    Mizuho
    Moody′s
    Morgan Stanley
    Morningstar

    *Lists are subject to change without notice.

 

Value Line
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Stock reports on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.  Spans most recent 13 weeks. 

 

Analyzing Analyst Recommendations 
Guide from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) that offers insights for interpreting recommendations.

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.  While the UCI Libraries' do not subscribe to S&P's Aftermarket Research analyst reports product, Capital IQ has consensus data of analyst estimates for earnings, back to 1999.

  • Look up a company >> Estimates [left menu] >> CIQ Estimates.  

 

The Wall Street Transcript (TWST)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Via the Business Source Complete database.  TWST Publishes bi-weekly industry reports that feature equity analyst, money manager and CEO interviews.

 

 

Earnings Conference Call Transcripts

 

Because of Regulation Fair Disclosure (effective Oct. 23, 2000) during quarterly conference calls, public companies often disclose their past quarter's performance, and they usually discuss their future outlook/initiatives.  These calls are often transcribed, and they are known as Earnings Conference Calls or Analyst Calls.  In addition to the databases below, transcripts or recordings are often made available on the Investor Relations page of the company's website.  

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data.  Most Earnings Conference Calls feature the recorded audio.  

 

Investext (via Mergent Online)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

This replaces the Thomson ONE database.  Investext, i.e. the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection, offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investments banks and independent research firms globally.  Includes earnings conference call transcripts from Thomson Reuters StreetEvents.  

 

Factiva
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, etc.  The Search Builder page allows for choosing a publication called CQ FD Wire, as well as a company name.  Factiva's terms of use prohibit text mining, i.e. using any code or program (e.g. crawlers and APIs) to automatically retrieve or download large amounts of content.

Regional Business News
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Earnings call transcripts from the Fair Disclosure Wire publication, since November 2005.  

  • Use the Search Within This Publication link on the left side of the screen.  

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.