Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Companies

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Global
Companies

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data.  Also features biographic and professional connection information for millions of business practitioners.  

 

FitchConnect
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

Features ratings, ESG relevancy, and accompanying in-depth analysis, for companies that are rated by Fitch (over 4,000 globally).  Companies are rated annually.  To understand a given firm, the Issuer Research by Fitch offers in-depth analysis that covers all key rating drivers (e.g. operating environment, financial flexibility, product pipeline, etc.).  

 

Uniworld
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary.  Finds both US firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the US.  Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue. 

 

Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Public and private company information (as available) for companies worldwide, including the ability to build lists of companies.  Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro.  Data for both Mergent & Hoovers comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

 

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Analytical reports on large global consumer companies' operations in various countries worldwide.

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

International in scope.  Public and select large private company profiles, including SWOT analyses.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subjects.  Includes financial reports, trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, and market research reports.   Often one of the only sources of information on foreign companies. 

 

Access World News
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.  Often one of the only sources of information on foreign companies. 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.