Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Trade and Commodities

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business

 
Trade

 

WTO Statistics
Access: Public
Geography: Global

The World Trade Organization (WTO) provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added. 

  • For spreadsheets and charts showing on a country's trade activity, visit the links for the current trade profiles:
    Trade Profiles:  Annual eBook with country-by-country data on trade flows and trade policy measures
    Tariff Profiles:  Annual eBook with country-by-country data on “bound” tariff rates and applied rates
     
  • To build custom datasets for advanced research, use the WTO Data Portal.  
     

UNCTAD Statistics
Access: Public
Geography: Global

The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), produces more than 150 indicators and statistical time series essential for the analysis of several topics, including: International trade, External financial resources, Commodities, and Maritime transport.

 

IMF eLibrary
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Full access to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), for all periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.  (To build custom datasets for advanced research, use the IMF Data Portal.)

  • For annual spreadsheets listing a country's key trading partners, as well as other economic characteristics, do a keyword search for these Yearbook titles:  
    Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook

    Balance of Payment Statistics Yearbook
    International Financial Statistics Yearbook

 

Global Financial Data
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes commodity indices and prices.

 

US Census: Foreign Trade
Access: Public
Geography: Global

Detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services shipped from the U.S. to foreign countries. The United States Code, Title 13, requires this program.  Data are compiled in terms of commodity classification, quantities, values, shipping weights, method of transportation (air or vessel), state of (movement) origin, customs district, customs port, country of destination, and whether contents are domestic goods or re-exports.


 
Commodities

 

UN Comtrade
Access: Public
Geography: Global

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics. Annual international trade statistics, for over 130 countries, detailed by commodity —including both goods and services— and partner country to the United Nations. Includes broad overviews of imports/exports by country and main categories of commodities. All values are converted in US dollars and metric units. Coverage dates as far back as 1962.

 

Global Financial Data
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes commodity indices and prices.

 

FitchConnect
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

A global intelligence database, featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP.  The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities.  Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses. Includes forecasts and analysis for major commodities worldwide.  

 

World Bank Commodity Markets
Access: Public
Geography: Global

Current and historic commodity prices, released monthly, as well as price forecasts for major commodities. 

 

U.S. Commodities Future Trading Commission (CFTC)
Access: Public
Geography: Global

The regulatory body for all commodities trading in the United States. Their site provides access to filings, market data and analysis, and all things relating to commodities. 

 

IMF Primary Commodity Prices 
Access: Public
Geography: Global

From the International Monetary Fund.  Pricing data are updated monthly for dozens of commodities from four commodity asset classes: energy, agriculture, fertilizers, and metals.  Special Features publications cover commodity market developments and outlook, and analyze a special issue.

 

Global Commodities
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Historical database with primary source visual, manuscript and printed materials documenting the trade in 15 commodities around the world from c1500 to the present day.  Commodities are: Chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver/gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine/spirits.  

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.