Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: People in Other Countries

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


People in Other Countries

 

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Reports on major elements of consumers' characteristics--as available--for several countries worldwide.  The main report categories are Households, Income and Expenditure, Lifestyles, and Population.
  To access this content, e.g. the Consumer Lifestyles reports:

 

Marketline Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Macro-level socioeconomic and demographic data for countries worldwide, both historical and forecasted. 

 

eMarketer
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including consumers behavior related to: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, mobile device usage.  Coverage is both US and global. 

 

eHRAF World Cultures
HRAF = Human Relations Area File.  Contains ethnographic collections, organized by regions, subregions, and cultures, covering all aspects of cultural and social life, on hundreds of groups of people from around the world.  Caveat: not all cultures are in the HRAF Collection of Ethnography. Rather the aim was for 400 societies around the world to give sufficient diversity.  (See outline of the World Cultures List.)

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Thousands of business articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, trade publications, and magazines. 
Coverage is worldwide.  Often a useful resource for insights on consumers. 

 

IPUMS
Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.  From the University of Minnesota. 

 

Access World News
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.  Country-specific news publications are good for insights on local consumers and markets. 

 

Factiva
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.
  Country-specific news publications are good for insights on local consumers and markets. 

 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.