Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Equity (Stock) Markets and Debt (Bond) Markets

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Equity (aka Stock) Markets

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices.  View time series charts and download the accompanying data for individual companies, stock indexes, e.g. Dow Jones Industrial Average, and stock exchanges, e.g. New York Stock Exchange.  Choose from several metrics including value, market cap, price ratios, etc.

 

WSJ Market Data Center
Access: Public

Geography: Global

View the daily and 52-week for high/low data for the major U.S. and International stock indexes.  Limited historic data is also available.   

 

Global Financial Data
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes total returns on bonds, bills, stocks, and individual indexes, for over 50 countries. 

 

World Federation of Exchanges
Access: Public

Geography: Global

The Statistics portal features Monthly Reports with several key indicators for most stock exchanges worldwide (including non-WFE members) dating back to 2003, as well as a Database of IPOs (including non-WFE members) dating back to 2012. 

  • Register for a free account to access the data.  

 

Alpha Vantage Stock Market APIs
Access: Public
Geography: Global

Cloud-based data access to US, Canada, UK, and other global financial and economic datasets, covering stocks, exchange traded funds (ETFs), currencies (forex), and cryptocurrencies. Both the raw equity data and the derived quantitative signals are supported. Users may access the financial data via web-based HTTP requests, Microsoft Excel, or other spreadsheet software such as Google Sheets.

  • The Support Page offers answers for data access questions.  


Debt (aka Bond / Credit / Fixed Income) Markets:
Issuer Ratings & Index Returns

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.  For a given company entity, the Fixed Income data includes:  S&P Credit Ratings, Securities Summary (including security type, seniority, coupon, etc.), and Credit Default Swaps.

  • For Credit Ratings:  Search for an entity (e.g. IBM, or City of Irvine) > Fixed Income [Left Menu]  > Credit Ratings
  • Learn this search!  < Sample search for corporate bond yields

 

Value Line
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Classifies 1,700 companies’ Financial Strength, with ratings from A++ to C, in nine steps.  Balance sheet leverage, business risk, the level and direction of profits, cash flow, earned returns, cash, corporate size, and stock price, all contribute to a company’s relative position on the scale.

 

FINRA Bonds Center
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Inc.  Largest independent regulator of securities firms doing business with the public in the U.S.  Includes corporate credit ratings from Moody's, S&P, and Fitch as available. 

 

Global Financial Data
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes total returns on bonds, bills, stocks, and individual indexes, for over 50 countries. 

 

EMMA: Electronic Market Municipal Access 
Funded and operated by the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB), the self-regulatory organization charged by Congress with promoting a fair and efficient municipal securities market. EMMA is designated by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) as the official source for municipal securities data and disclosure documents. The website provides free public access to objective municipal market information and interactive tools for investors, municipal entities and others. EMMA supports municipal market transparency but is not a platform for buying or selling bonds.

 

Bloomberg Terminal
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Use for historical credit ratings:  TICKER [Equity] CRPR [GO].  (CRPR stands for Credit Profile).

 

 

Tip


The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has an easy to read article that explains the differences between the debt and equity markets.

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.