FitchConnect *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: US & Global
A global intelligence database, featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP. The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities. Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses.
Country profiles include PEST/LE (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, / Legal, Environmental) analyses.
Investext (via Mergent Online)
This replaces the Thomson ONE database. Investext, i.e. the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection, offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investments banks and independent research firms worldwide, including Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports. EIU reports are currently missing from the Investext database. Mergent is working with Thomson Reuters (providers of Investext) to reinstate EIU reports.
Europa World Plus
Access is limited to ONE user at a time! Information on hundreds countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including recent country history. Has statistics on area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transport, tourism, communications media, education, and politics.
Business Source Complete
Includes country reports from many well-known publishers, including IHS Global and Political Risk Yearbook.
Passport Global Market Information Database *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Profile reports on many countries' business dynamics, as well as finance, trade, and economies.
CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Non-partisan group that works with partners in government, business and civil society to put effective measures in place to tackle corruption. Offers reports and publications on corruption in different countries throughout the world.
Country Regulation and Policy
Country Commercial Guides
From the US Commercial Service. Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
Doing Business Report Series
From the World Bank. Annual report that gives an overview of business regulations and enforcement across 183 economies. The report provides data on the ease of doing business, ranks each location, and recommends reforms to improve performance.
Trade Policy Reviews
From the World Trade Organization. Surveillance of national trade policies and regulations, so that individuals and companies know as much as possible about the conditions of trade. Achieved in two ways: governments give regular “notifications”; and the WTO conducts regular reviews of individual countries’ trade policies.
CBP Information Center
From US Customs & Border Protection. Gives gives overviews of applicable laws and regulations for importers and exporters. Features on the site include a report titled "Importing into the US," plus a keyword search box.
International Debt Statistics
Also known as "GDF Online." A subscription from the World Bank. Has data for the 135 countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. Indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios, average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections. Also includes topical country data and regional aggregates.
A licensed supplement to the open access content on the IMF website. The IMF eLibrary delivers the IMF’s publications, research, analytical papers, reports, and data as a one-stop resource for IMF content. Includes the IMF's International Financial Statistics.
All publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
World Bank eLibrary
The full collection of all publications and research including: All Economic Review (WBER) and Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996. All Development Outreach issues. All Policy Research Working Papers since 1995. All content is made available immediately upon release.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
International Labour Organization
Key global information regarding the world of work, as well as economic and social development, including both publications and datasets of indicators.
US Census: International Programs
Demographic, economic, and geographic studies of 100+ countries.
EPS China Data
A service provider in China offering statistical Time Series Data. Coverage includes five sectors: Economic Operation, Industry Operation, Trade & External Economy, Social Development, Resources & Environment.
How To Connect:
Electronic & Print Resources