Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Supply Chains

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Suppliers

  1. U.S. Public companies must disclose their customers' names, when 10% or more of their revenue comes from sales to a single materially important customer.  You'll find these in companies 10-K (Annual) SEC filings
     
  2. Companies' Investor Relation pages can be a good supply chain resource, with details about their top suppliers, their sustainability efforts, etc.  Examples:  Apple, Target, Coca Cola, and H&M.

Procurement IQ 
Access: UCI

15-20 page reports that give an overview of the procurement landscape for 1000+ US idustries.  Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics, recent price, forecast price, market characteristics, market risk, benchmark price, key price drivers, major vendors, vendor cost benchmarks and the Buyer Power Score.

 

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 U.S. industries, including a section for industry-level supply chain information. 

 

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data  Also features biographic and professional connection information for millions of business practitioners.  

  • Search for a company.  Then in the left navigation menu >> Business Relationships >> Customers | Suppliers

 

Bloomberg Terminal
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Type SPLC and <GO>, for customer and supplier data, including peer competitors. 

 


Distributors

Tip:  The terminology used to characterize a distributor may vary by industry. 
Other relevant words include:  reseller, wholesaler, dealer, and broker
 

First: 
To build a list of distributors by industry (and location), first find the most relevant NAICS code for your product category. 

  • NAICS codes related to "Wholesale Trade" start with the number 42.

 

Second:
Using one of the following company directory databases, enter the relevant NAICS code (it's an available search option), and use any other limiting criteria (e.g. location) that you need.

 

Uniworld
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

A global company directory with two modules:  American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries, and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.  Search on key criteria, including industry, employee count, and revenue, and download results in an Excel spreadsheet. 

 

Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Public and private company information (as available) for companies worldwide.  Advanced Search allows for creating a custom Excel spreadsheet of companies based on criteria like industry, location, size, Fortune 1000 status, etc. 

 


News on Supply Chains

 

News is often one of the only sources of information about a company's practices related to its supply chain. 

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Thousands of business articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines. 

 

Factiva
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.

 

Access World News
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

 

 

 Academic Articles for Supply Chains

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Thousands of articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines. Searches across several key titles including: Supply Chain Management Review, World Trade: WT100Journal of Commerce, Industrial Marketing & Purchasing (IMP) Journal, and Supply & Demand Chain Executive

 

Journal of Business Logistics
Peer reviewed journal, covering original thoughts, research, and best practices within the logistics and supply chain arenas.

 

The Journal of Supply Chain Management
Peer reviewed journal with content on behavioral research focusing on theory-building and empirical methodologies.

 

International Journal of Logistics: Research and Applications
Peer reviewed journal that covers all aspects of logistics:  the management of processes, flow of materials and associated information along the entire supply chain, from raw materials through to the final user of the product.

 

International Journal of Managing Value and Supply Chains
Open Access, peer reviewed journal that disseminates new ideas and new research, advance theories, and propagates best practices in the management of value and supply chain management, looking across both product and service-based businesses.

 

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.