News & Newspapers

A selection of digitized images of periodicals and journals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

A collection of newspapers (as digital facsimiles) chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past. This database includes five unique collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2; Early American Newspapers Series 1, 2, and 13; Early American Newspapers California, and Hispanic American Newspapers.

Coverage: 1871-1980. Newspaper based in Austin, Texas.

A freely accessible website hosted by the Library of Congress, this collection covers America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963. It also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

This collection includes newspapers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.

A collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

History Commons, formerly Accessible Archives, contains several collections of primary source material in American history. The archives include historical periodicals and books, eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Collections cover the Civil War, suffrage, World War I, as well as regional and local newspapers.

Contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

The complete run of this newspaper from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.

Provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of The New York Times, including images and advertisements. Coverage begins with the first edition published in 1851 and extends to three years from the present day (due to a rolling embargo).

Provides online access to over 200 million scanned pages of 4,900+ historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries, including Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Panama.

This collection includes newspaper publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.

Primary sources about the history of student protest in the United States. The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages from newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, etc.

A digitized collection of selected California newspapers spanning the years from 1849 to 1911. The project is run by the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research at the UC Riverside.

A collection of newspapers published in California between 1850 - 1922.

Contains over 2,000 newspapers from the 24 states west of the Mississippi. Date range for each newspaper varies.

This bilingual (Japanese and English) newspaper archive contains all obtainable published articles from this longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States.

A collection of rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835. The journals provide perspective on all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Access to The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791 - 2003), both British newspapers.

Issues of the London edition of this internally known daily newspaper, from 1888-2010. Each item has been subject- or topic- categorized to facilitate searching. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included, shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

Provides online access to over 200 million scanned pages of 4,900+ historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries, including Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Panama.

A database of newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns, industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, and Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

A collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. Includes pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. Access includes Part I and Part II of the collection.

Full-text facsimile of The Times, Britain’s oldest national daily newspaper from 1785-2024.

Access to late Qing Dynasty and Republic era newspapers held at Shanghai Library, including 新闻报, Sin Wan Pao, 1893~1949, 民国日报, The Republican Daily, 1916~1949 , 时报, The Eastern Times 1904~1939, Central Daily News 《中央日报》 1928~1949,Yi Shih Pao 《益世报》 1915~1949, & Ta Kung Pao 《大公报》 1902~1949/1952, and more.

Comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by The North-China Daily News & Herald, Limited.

Provides full-text searching and browsing of the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China.

A collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia, featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

El Mundo was a conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico from 1919 until it ceased in 1990. Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.

A collection of historical Latin American newspapers, including newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

Coverage: 1876-2019

Access to the Jerusalem Post from1932 - 2008.

This collection of historical newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. It comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content, however the following titles are included as well: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); and Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).

A collection of nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers, including itles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia’s best-known, independent, national newspaper. The Daily Observer is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia — including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development. The Daily Observer Digital Archive (DODA) is a comprehensive archive of this title, published in English.

This collection of historical newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. It comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content, however the following titles are included as well: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); and Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).