Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Biotech

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Biotech:  Industry Databases

 

BCC Research
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

In depth market research reports on several emerging high-tech industries, including Biotechnology. 

 

Frost & Sullivan
Access: UCI

Geography: Global (limited)

Industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

 

ASM Medical Materials Database
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Materials data to support medical device design. The database features both materials properties and biological response data for medical device designers.  Also includes a searchable list of device and material producers. Producers listed  may operate in the US and/or around the world, but have medical devices approved by the FDA for use in the US.  Content in other sections, such as materials, coatings and drugs has no region specificity.

 

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 U.S. industries, inlcuding Biotechnology.

 

​PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries.  Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

  • To get started:  [Left Sidebar] > click on Companies & Deals > Industry 

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Domestic and international healthcare sub-industry profiles and company profiles throughout Pharmaceuticals and Healthcare.

 

Plunkett Research Online
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies. Covers Biotechnology, Drugs, Genetics, and Health Care.

 


Biotech:  Academic & Trade Articles

 

STAT+
Access: UCI
Trade publication with exclusive reporting about the pharmaceutical and biotech industries, the health tech industry, science, and coverage at the intersection of health and policy, as well as access to exclusive events and other benefits.

  • First time users, register for an account with your UCI email address.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subject, with content from academic and trade biotech publications, e.g. Pharmaceutical Technology, the Journal of Commercial Biotechnology, and Biotech Business. 

 

Web of Science
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Index for finding scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. 

 

ScienceDirect
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

 

PubMed
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles.

 

BioSpectrum
A trade publication from India that covers the business of bio-technology. Analyses of policy issues, products and services across the bio-pharma, bio-informatics, bio-infrastructure and bio-agriculture segments.

 

JSTOR
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

JSTOR Stands for Journal Storage.  Contents comprise entire back runs except for the most recent (2-5 years) of scholarly journals, across all disciplines
.

Return to the top of the page.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.