Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Databases

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Databases A-Z

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from U.S. and international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional, and world issues. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Company search

ASM Medical Materials Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed database providing materials data to support medical device design. The database features both materials properties and biological response data for medical device designers. Also includes a searchable list of international device and material producers.

Learn this search: Producers

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more.

Learn this search: Find industry reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Global data and information about the financing activities of startup companies and investors, including venture capital firms, angel investors, as well as M&A and IPO activity. Specializing in emerging industries, the database also offers data-driven research reports, performance metrics related to company health, and data visualization and presentation tools.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence * Access Ends 12/20/2024 * This link opens in a new window
Industry and market research data, charts, and reports on topics related to everything digital, including: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, and mobile device usage.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites.
Maximum 12 users at a time.

Learn this search: Earnings call transcripts
Learn this search: Expert search
Learn this search: Trends

Fitch Connect * Access Ends 2/28/25 * This link opens in a new window
Global intelligence database with data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts for much of the world's countries and industries. Research features country risk, financial markets analysis, and industry research.
Forrester This link opens in a new window
Reports across all nuances and trends of IT. Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts. "Waves" offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services.
Forrester Access Instructions
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Database for nonprofit company intelligence, featuring current financial data, IRS forms, and visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits. Includes a directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location, plus a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Current and historic industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. Also includes risk reports for established U.S. industries.

Learn this search: Find industry reports
Learn this search: Industry ratios
Learn this search: Keyword search within report
Learn this search: Supply chain
Learn this search: US business environment profiles

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
At the bottom of the "Sign in" box, look for “If you have IP Access” and use the Click Here button to enter. Reports for well-established industries in many countries worldwide, including Porter's Five Forces analyses for those industries, covering almost every aspect of business-to-consumer and business-to-business activity. Also includes company profiles featuring SWOT analyses, and country profiles featuring PESTLE analyses. (Sponsored by the Paul Merage School of Business.)

Learn this search: Company search
Learn this search: M&A deals

Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

Learn this search: Patent news

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Company directory database, powered by Dun & Bradstreet (D&B). Includes profiles for public and private companies globally. Particularly useful for building a list of companies and for understanding parent/subsidiary relationships.

Learn this search: List of companies

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that address behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for several major consumer segments in the U.S. The Industry reports covering retail and consumer product sectors that address market conditions, forecasts, prominent brands, trends, and customer decisions in the U.S.

Learn this search: Find market reports
Learn this search: Market size & share

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.

Learn this search: Contacts
Learn this search: Earnings call transcripts

Passport This link opens in a new window
International industry and market research database. Market research covers consumer lifestyles in different countries. Industry research major consumer goods industries. Country and city reports cover business dynamics those regions (as available).

Learn this search: Market share

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, identify and analyze competitors, and search investor details.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces
Learn this search: Financial ratios
Learn this search: M&A
Learn this search: People search (UCI alumni)

Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.

Learn this search: Industry trends

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Database of business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas in the U.S.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Company intelligence database, including granular financial and capital structure information on companies worldwide. Company profiles contain data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers and acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data. Also features biographic and professional connection information for business leaders.

Learn this search: Company pre-made screens
Learn this search: Financial ratios
Learn this search: Index
Learn this search: M&A by industry
Learn this search: M&A transactions
Learn this search: PE & VC custom screen
Learn this search: PE & VC pre-made screens
Learn this search: People search

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database that combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in various formats, like journals, books, reports, etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical US census data, ACS, RCMS and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create visualizations and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change, location-based data down to the city block.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Market analytics for sports business. Research related to consumer demographics, consumer behavior patterns, financial statistics, attendance and media usage trends for major sports market segments, fans, participants, and sporting goods buyers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW! A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.

Learn this search: Find statistics

Uniworld This link opens in a new window
Global company directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Find both U.S. firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue.

Learn this search: Distributors
Learn this search: List of companies

Value Line Investment Survey * Access Ends 4/25/25 * This link opens in a new window
Financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities.

Learn this search: Financial ratios

Vivvix (Formerly Ad$pender) This link opens in a new window
A database of advertising expenditures and occurrence information for millions of brands.
Access is limited to 1 user at a time.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Web of Science: Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from various patent issuing authorities. Ability to search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.