Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Healthcare & Biotechnology

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Helpful guide!

Academic Entrepreneurship for Medical and Health Scientists
Academic Entrepreneurship is a free open education resource that bridges the worlds of academic research and commercialization. This eBook is an easy-to-read guide for those new to the field, offering tools, advice, and best practices. Developed by the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) and the University of Pennsylvania (Penn).

Healthcare & biotechnology

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech industry sectors including: Advanced Materials, Biotechnology, Chemicals, Healthcare, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Membrane and Separation Technology, Nanotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, Photonics, etc. [Global coverage]
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries. [Global coverage]
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. [Global coverage]
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search

Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW! A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Current and historic industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries, including Healthcare & Social Assistance and Life Sciences. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. Also includes risk reports for established U.S. industries. [U.S. only coverage]
Fitch Connect * Access Ends 2/28/25 * This link opens in a new window
A global intelligence database featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional, and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP. The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities. Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses. [Global coverage]
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
At the bottom of the "Sign in" box, look for “If you have IP Access” and use the Click Here button to enter. US and global industry profiles including Porters Five Forces Analysis, and company profiles including SWOT analyses, covering Healthcare and Pharmaceuticals. [Global coverage]
Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window
Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies. Major industry categories include: Biotechnology, Drugs, Genetics, and Health Care. [U.S. only coverage]

News & trade articles

STAT+
Trade publication with exclusive reporting about the pharmaceutical and biotech industries, the health tech industry, science, and coverage at the intersection of health and policy, as well as access to exclusive events and other benefits.

First time users, create an account with your UCI email address.

Scientific American
News magazine that covers research, ideas and knowledge in science, health, technology, the environment and society.
BioSpectrum
A trade publication from India that covers the business of bio-technology. Analyses of policy issues, products, and services across the bio-pharma, bio-informatics, bio-infrastructure and bio-agriculture segments.
Medical Economics
A trade publication for office-based physicians. Coverage includes: challenges in practice management, patient relations, malpractice, electronic health records and other technology, career, and personal finance.

Journals & academic articles

PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full-text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Health Affairs
A peer-reviewed journal on the intersection of health, healthcare, and policy. Analysis and discussion on improving health and healthcare, and addressing such issues as cost, quality, and access. [Note: One-year delay on new content. Articles published in the past year may be requested for free via InterLibrary Loan (ILL).]
Health Care Management Review
A peer-reviewed journal on topics including finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, etc.
Health Economics
Journal topics include: determinants of health and its definition and valuation; the demand for and supply of health care; planning and market mechanisms; micro-economic evaluation of individual procedures and treatments; evaluation of health care systems' performance.
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
A peer-reviewed journal with articles on a diverse range of medical topics, covering important issues that affect medicine, health, healthcare, and health policy.
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
Journal for everyone working in drug discovery and development. Includes news stories in drug discovery, summaries of key primary research papers, and updates on advances in areas such as new drug approvals, patent law and emerging industry trends.
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
A peer-reviewed journal with research articles and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice.

ASM Medical Materials Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed database providing materials data to support medical device design. The database features both materials properties and biological response data for medical device designers. Also includes a searchable list of international device and material producers.

Learn this search: Producers

PAREXEL Biopharmaceutical R & D Statistical Sourcebook
Located in the Langson Library Reference Collection (Call number: HD9665.4 .P37 2017 ) (Note: Reference books cannot be borrowed.) R&D statistics, trends, and proprietary market intelligence and analyses on the biopharmaceutical industry. Supported by thousands of graphs, illustrations, and analyses, the Sourcebook provides the latest intelligence on every aspect of biopharmaceutical development – from product discovery, to R&D performance and productivity, to time-to-market trends. [Print]
ClinicalTrials.gov
A database, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA is responsible for protecting public health by regulating human drugs and biologics, animal drugs, medical devices, tobacco products, food (including animal food), cosmetics, and electronic products that emit radiation.

The FDA's article "Is It Really 'FDA Approved ?'" provides a great overview.
Device approvals, denials and clearances
Drug and biologic approval and IND (Investigational New Drug) activity reports

HCUPnet
A free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties. Includes data (as available) for both diagnoses and procedures.

Learn this search: Diagnosis search
Tip: The ICD-CM (International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification) is used to code and classify both diagnoses and procedures. Current and previous versions of the ICD-CM are available through the CDC.

MedlinePlus: All Health Topics
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Most health topics will have a link to statistics.
National Center for Healthcare Statistics
A subset of the CDC that offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; also covers health care services, insurance, and expenditures.
HealthData.gov
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. Find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

Want more statistics?

Advocacy groups (e.g., the American Heart Association) may collect and report more specific statistics than the US government. In Google, try a sample search like this: hearing loss association statistics site:.org

HRSA Data Portal
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. The HRSA Data Portal enables users to select related datasets to create custom data views, and includes a "Health Care Facilities" dataset. [This dataset is powered by the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Provider of Services data files, which contain characteristics of hospitals and other types of healthcare facilities, including the name and address of the facility and the type of Medicare services the facility provides, among other information.]
California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHS) Open Data Portal
CHHS coordinates the administration of state and federal programs in California. Its Open Data Portal offers non-confidential data on the following topics: Healthcare, Demographics, Facilities and Services, Diseases and Conditions, Environment, and Workforce.
MedLinePlus: Directories
Links to directories for health professionals, services and facilities.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Data
US federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. As of 2016, The ARHQ "Data Resources" page includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:

The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending.

KFF: Health Costs
The Health Costs portal features the Annual Survey of Employers, which provides a detailed look at trends in employer-sponsored health coverage including premiums, employee contributions, cost-sharing provisions, offer rates, wellness programs, and employer practices. KFF (formerly known as the Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit, non-partisan independent public charity, not affiliated with Kaiser Permanente.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA): Heath Care Satellite Account
Measures U.S. health care spending by the diseases being treated (e.g., cancer or diabetes) instead of by the types of goods and services purchased (such as doctor's office visits or drugs).
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Data
US federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. As of 2016, The ARHQ "Data Resources" page includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:

The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending.

APCD Council: All-Payer Claims Database
Many U.S. states are establishing databases of health insurance claims information from all health care payers into statewide information repositories. The databases contain eligibility and claims data (medical, pharmacy, and dental) and are used to report cost, use, and quality information. The data consist of “service-level” information based on valid claims processed by health payers. Service-level information includes: charges and payments, the provider(s) receiving payment, clinical diagnosis and procedure codes, and patient demographics.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, includes a large portal of Research, Statistics, Data, and Systems to help researchers and policy makers understand the health care system.
National Center for Healthcare Statistics
A subset of the CDC that offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; also covers health care services, insurance, and expenditures.
Health Care Cost Institute (HCCI): Annual Report
An independent, non-profit research institute funded in part by health insurance companies. The freely available Health Care Cost and Utilization Report provides yearly reviews of spending, price, and utilization trends for commercially-insured Americans.

Orange County Health Care Agency: Data & Dashboards
Values and comparisons for health, social, and economic indicators for Orange County. A product of the OC Health Improvement Partnership (HIP) with input from 40+ member organizations.
Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
Orange County Business Journal produces the" Book of Lists" supplement. It's a compilation of 50+ industry-specific lists of companies, located in Orange County, as published by OCBJ during the previous year. It usually comes out each January.

The following lists (alphabetically) are related to healthcare: Dental HMOs/PPOs, Drugmakers, HMOs, Hospitals, Medical Device Makers, and PPOs.

Orange County Community Indicators Report
Annual report that measures the overall quality of life in the Orange County community by tracking key indicators, including a chapter on Health.

For a small fee, students and recent grads can join DeviceAlliance, a non-profit organization "focused exclusively on promoting the vitality of Southern California’s medical device community." Membership benefits include a business directory and job listings.