Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Consumers

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Psychographics vs. demographics

Psychographics refers to personality attributes, values, opinions, attitudes, interests, or lifestyles.

Demographics are personal characteristics such as: age, gender, ethnicity, income, educational attainment, etc.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle reports, including purchasing motivations and product/brand preferences, for the following consumer segments: Affluent Consumers, Baby Boomers, Kids, Men, Millennials, Mothers, Multicultural, Singles, Teens, and Women.
Market research reports in the following consumer-focused industry categories: Automotive, Beauty, Clothing and Footwear, Drink, Financial Services, Food, Foodservice, Health and Wellness, Home, Household Care, Leisure and Entertainment, Lifestyles, Personal Care, Retail, Technology, and Travel.
[U.S. only coverage]
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW! A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]
Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer Lifestyles reports on major elements of consumers' living habits for 80+ countries. [Global coverage]
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence * Access Ends 12/20/2024 * This link opens in a new window
Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including consumer usage data for the internet, ecommerce, social media, mobile devices, etc. [Global coverage]
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data. [U.S. only coverage]
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Market analytics for sports business. Research related to consumer demographics, consumer behavior patterns, financial statistics, attendance and media usage trends for major sports market segments, fans, participants, and sporting goods buyers. [U.S. only coverage]
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Brief, downloadable reports on key consumer behavior characteristics (e.g., Travel, Pets, Media use, etc.) that can have a material effect on various industries' performance. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: US business environment profiles

RKMA Market Research
eBooks of market research reports that are compiled from widely available data. Topics: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile; Entertainment & Leisure; Pandemic Impact: Consumer Markets; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail & E-Commerce; Sports Marketing; Travel & Tourism. [U.S. only coverage]
Pew Research Center
Reports derived from public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. [U.S. only coverage]

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data. [U.S. only coverage]
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. [U.S. only coverage]
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical US census data, ACS, RCMS and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create visualizations and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change, location-based data down to the city block. [U.S. only coverage]
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
At the bottom of the "Sign in" box, look for “If you have IP Access” and use the Click Here button to enter. Macro-level socioeconomic and demographic data for countries worldwide, both historical and forecasted. [Global coverage]
Passport This link opens in a new window
Demographic reports covering populations, homes, incomes, expenditures, and other consumer trends, for many countries worldwide. [Global coverage]

Census Bureau
Population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the United States Census.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Brief, downloadable reports on key consumer demographics (e.g., population, poverty rate, marriage rate, number of college students, etc.) that can have a material effect on various industries' performance. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: US business environment profiles

Pew Research Center
Reports derived from public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. [U.S. only coverage]
PRB: International data
Useful for quickly making estimates based on worldwide population information.