Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Engineering

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Engineering

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech industry sectors, including engineering. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more. [Global coverage]
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Current and historic industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries, including many which touch upon various types of engineering. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. Also includes risk reports for established U.S. industries. [U.S. only coverage]
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. [Global coverage]
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search

Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries. [Global coverage]
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW! A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
US and global industry profiles including Porters Five Forces Analysis, and company profiles including SWOT analyses, covering many fields of engineering. [Global coverage]
Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations. [U.S. only coverage]

Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
Web of Science: Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from various patent issuing authorities. Ability to search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Index for finding scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

Applied Ergonomics
Aimed at those interested in applying ergonomics/human factors in their design. Areas covered include applications in the office, industry, consumer products, information technology, and military design.
The Design Journal
An international refereed journal covering all aspects of design, including design practice, theory, management and education.
BioMedical Engineering OnLine
An open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing research in all areas of biomedical engineering. Aimed at readers and authors with an interest in using tools of the physical and data sciences and techniques in engineering to understand and solve problems in the biological and medical sciences.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full-text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

For more information, please see the Standards and Specifications Guide. For questions or help finding standards, please contact Julia Gelfand, Research Librarian for Applied Sciences & Engineering.

ANSI Standards Connect This link opens in a new window
Repository for American National Standards Institute (ANSI) standards licensed by the UCI Libraries.

Use “View My Documents” on the right to browse the complete list of standards available.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

COVID-19 standards

Many organizations have made standards related to the COVID-19 health crisis freely available during the pandemic in order to support research and innovation.

AAMI: Coronavirus Resources from the Field
As the COVID-19 crisis unfolds, AAMI is providing this curated collection of resources to assist the health technology field.
ANSI: Freely Available ISO Standards to Help Address COVID-19 Crisis
To support rapid response efforts to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ANSI is providing access to key international standards. Through the portal, select standards are accessible in read-only format at no cost during the crisis; additional standards may be added in the future.
ISO: COVID-19 Response
Relevant standards have been compiled to support global efforts in dealing with the COVID-19 crisis. They are freely available in read-only format.