Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Industry &amp; Market Reports

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Industry & market report databases

1. Each of these databases has unique and special content, so explore more than one!

2. For industry-specific databases, the industry focus is noted in brackets in the description. Ex: [Retail & Consumer]

3. The Research by Topic menu is the best starting point for: Medical Devices, Healthcare & Biotechnology, Engineering, and IT & Technology.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Current and historic industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. Also includes risk reports for established U.S. industries. [U.S. only coverage]
Mintel This link opens in a new window
[Retail & consumer] Market research reports that address behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for several major consumer segments. Industry reports covering retail and consumer product sectors that address market conditions, forecasts, prominent brands, trends, and customer decisions. [U.S. only coverage]
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
[Technology & healthcare] Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more. [Global coverage]
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
[Technology & healthcare] Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries. [Global coverage]
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW! A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence * Access Ends 12/20/2024 * This link opens in a new window
[Digital & media] Industry and market research data, charts, and reports on topics related to everything digital, including: internet usage, ecommerce, B2B, online marketing and advertising, social media, and mobile device usage. [Global coverage]
Forrester This link opens in a new window
[Information technology] Forrester Access Instructions. Reports across all nuances and trends of IT. Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts. "Waves" offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services. [Global coverage]
Forrester Access Instructions
Gartner This link opens in a new window
[Information technology] Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies. [Global coverage]
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
At the bottom of the "Sign in" box, look for “If you have IP Access” and use the Click Here button to enter. Reports for well-established industries in many countries worldwide, including Porter's Five Forces analyses for those industries, covering almost every aspect of business-to-consumer and business-to-business activity. [Global coverage]
Passport This link opens in a new window
[Retail & consumer] International industry and market research database. Market research covers consumer lifestyles in different countries. Industry research major consumer goods industries. Country and city reports cover business dynamics those regions (as available). [Global coverage]
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
[Retail & consumer] Market analytics for sports business. Research related to consumer demographics, consumer behavior patterns, financial statistics, attendance and media usage trends for major sports market segments, fans, participants, and sporting goods buyers. [U.S. only coverage]
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more. Very useful for researching small, niche industries! [Global coverage]
Plunkett Research This link opens in a new window
Research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations. [U.S. only coverage]
Fitch Connect * Access Ends 2/28/25 * This link opens in a new window
Global intelligence database with data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts for much of the world's countries and industries. Research features country risk, financial markets analysis, and industry research. [Global coverage]