Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: New Venture Competition

Innovation & Entrepreneurship Librarian

Sara Heimann

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

sheimann@uci.edu

(949) 824-2205

Subjects: Entrepreneurship

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Start here!

Before beginning your research, review how to Connect from Off Campus (VPN).
The databases listed below are only some of those available from the UCI Libraries to help you with your research.
You are not limited to the databases on this page and may explore the other pages of this guide for more resources.
The Support Resources are eBooks recommended by the NVC Committee to help you develop your business model.
Generative AI and research: Let's Chat About ChatGPT.

Top databases by track

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find industry reports

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that address consumer behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for major retail and consumer segments in the U.S. Reports also address market conditions, forecasts, and prominent brands. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find market reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data and facts on hundreds of industries and thousands of topics from a wide range of sources. Also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find statistics

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Identify and research companies and competitors. Emerging industry analysis. Research investor and deal details. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data and facts on hundreds of industries and thousands of topics from a wide range of sources. Also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find statistics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find industry reports

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that address consumer behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for major retail and consumer segments in the U.S. Reports also address market conditions, forecasts, and prominent brands. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find market reports

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Identify and research companies and competitors. Emerging industry analysis. Research investor and deal details. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find industry reports

Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research and strategy reports covering various healthcare, technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find market reports

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Identify and research companies and competitors. Emerging industry analysis. Research investor and deal details. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data and facts on hundreds of industries and thousands of topics from a wide range of sources. Also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find statistics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find industry reports

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Global data and analysis on startup companies and emerging industries, with a technology focus. Industries covered include: Consumer & Retail, Enterprise Tech, Financial Services, Healthcare & Life Sciences, Industrials, Insurance, and Media & Entertainment. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

Learn this search: Find market reports
Learn this search: Find research reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data and facts on hundreds of industries and thousands of topics from a wide range of sources. Also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find statistics

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Identify and research companies and competitors. Emerging industry analysis. Research investor and deal details. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data and facts on hundreds of industries and thousands of topics from a wide range of sources. Also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Find statistics

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that address consumer behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for major retail and consumer segments in the U.S. Reports also address market conditions, forecasts, and prominent brands. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find market reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics and analysis of market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, key players, and more. [U.S. only coverage]

Learn this search: Find industry reports

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Identify and research companies and competitors. Emerging industry analysis. Research investor and deal details. [Global coverage] [Download limits apply]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Learn this search: Companies search
Learn this search: Emerging spaces

Support resources

Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder; Yves Pigneur; Tim Clark
An overview and explanation of the popular "Business Model Canvas," along with examples. [Print & eBook]
Value Proposition Design by Alexander Osterwalder; Yves Pigneur; Trish Papadakos; Gregory Bernarda; Alan Smith
The book will help you understand the patterns of great value propositions, get closer to customers, and avoid wasting time with ideas that won't work. Practical exercises, illustrations and tools help you immediately improve your product, service, or new business idea. [eBook]
The Lean Startup by Eric Ries
One of the central premises of The Lean Startup movement is what Ries calls "validated learning" about the customer. Rather than creating an elaborate business plan and a product-centric approach, Lean Startup prizes testing your vision continuously with your customers and making constant adjustments. [Print & eBook]
Talking to Humans by Giff Constable
Offers a practical guide to the qualitative side of customer development, an indispensable skill for vetting and improving any new startup or innovation. Explains how to structure and run effective customer interviews, find candidates, and turn learnings into action. Members of non-profit or educational organizations may request a free digital copy of the book. [eBook]
The Startup Owner's Manual by Steve Blank; Bob Dorf
Guides you, step-by-step, as you put the Customer Development process to work. This method was created by renowned Silicon Valley startup expert Steve Blank, co-creator with Eric Ries of the "Lean Startup" movement and tested and refined by him for more than a decade. This how-to guide includes over 100 charts, graphs, and diagrams, plus 77 valuable checklists that guide you as you drive your company toward profitability. [Print & eBook]
Entrepreneurial Finance by Simon Hulme
Easy-to-grasp introduction to financing a new business, guiding the reader step-by-step through the three key financial statements: profit & loss, balance sheet and cash flow. Considerations for raising capital, term sheets, and how best to use accounting data to create a financially-intelligent business. Covers funding, company valuations, pitch decks, and business plans. [eBook]