Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Articles, Journals, & Cases

Access Key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Usage Policy & Guidance

Connect

How to Connect from Off-Campus

Test My UCI Connection

Common VPN Issues

Connecting FAQs

Databases for Academic Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries from scholarly business journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly articles and bibliographic entries on psychology, cognitive sciences, and related disciplines.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Research on an array of education topics. Includes peer reviewed, scholarly journals, conference papers, videos, and some Open Access journals.
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database for education research. Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations/theses.
For material not available in full text, ProQuest links to where UCI has full text access. A free, publicly accessible version of ERIC is at https://eric.ed.gov/ .
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including ethnicity in the workplace.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest index of peer-reviewed literature, in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
A massive index for scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR stands for Journal Storage. Contents usually comprise entire back-run of a publication, except for the most recent (2-5 years) of scholarly journals, across all disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full-text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Journals

Explore the UCI Libraries' journals with BrowZine!

BrowZine is a current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. Available to users with an active UCInetID.

Below is a selection of innovation and entrepreneurship-related journals available from the UCI Libraries.

Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
Leading scholarly journal publishing original conceptual and empirical research that contributes to the advancement of entrepreneurship.
Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal
Key areas of interest include: social policy and political science, anthropology, sociology, not-for-profit management, finance, organizational theory, strategy, social geography, economics, ethics and moral philosophy, and social psychology.
Journal of Business Venturing
Peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary academic journal publishing research on all aspects of entrepreneurship. Its scope spans the disciplines of economics, psychology, and sociology.
The Journal of Product Innovation Management
Interdisciplinary, international journal that seeks to advance theoretical and managerial knowledge of innovation management and product development. Publishes original articles on organizations of all sizes (start-ups, small to medium sized enterprises, large corporations) and from the consumer, business-to-business, and policy domains.
Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal
Key areas of interest include: social policy and political science, anthropology, sociology, not-for-profit management, finance, organizational theory, strategy, social geography, economics, ethics and moral philosophy, and social psychology.
The International Journal of Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Published quarterly, IJEI provides a worldwide forum for the exploration and dissemination of ideas and experience relating to the development and application of entrepreneurship.
Venture Capital
International, peer-reviewed journal publishing research on entrepreneurial finance. It is a forum for communication between academic researchers, venture capital practitioners and policy-makers that raises the knowledge of venture capital activity and other types of entrepreneurial finance on a global basis.

Search for cases within a journal using keywords such as: startup or entrepreneur*
(the asterisk will return all variations of the root word entrepreneur, i.e., entrepreneur, entrepreneurs, entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial).

O'Reilly
Video case studies tell a real story in video from a first-person point of view and feature many well-known companies, such as: Pinterest, Target, Airbnb, Facebook, Netflix, Google, HomeDepot, Capital One, and Salesforce. Topics include Business Transformation, Design Thinking, Machine Learning, Microservices, Mobile, Technical Leadership, and User Research.

To browse cases:
1. Search "case study" (with quotation marks).
2. On the results page, select Videos under Browse format.
3. Use the Publishers filter to select O'Reilly Media, Inc. and select Apply.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Case studies, approximately 10 pages long, typically addressing either industry trends or a company's strategy. Select “Case Studies” from the drop-down menu next to the search bar.

Journal of Cases on Information Technology
Peer-reviewed journal of real-life teaching cases and case studies based on individual, organizational, and societal experiences, related to the utilization and management of information technology.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A massive database with articles covering all aspects of business. The following journals are dedicated to case studies, and more cases are findable using the Advanced Search. For example, add the term "case study" to your keyword search (e.g., logistics AND "case study").

MIT Sloan: Case Studies
The teaching business case studies available from MIT Sloan School of Management, which fall under the headings of entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics, are narratives that facilitate class discussion about a particular business or management issue.
eBooks & Print Books
Many business book chapters feature case studies. From the Library Search (catalog) page, add the phrase: "case studies" (in quotations) to a broad keyword search, e.g., "case studies" AND (entrepreneur* OR startup).

To protect its revenue, Harvard requires that each person buys a license for any Case, Module, or Curriculum Article they want to read, so the UCI Libraries are prohibited from purchasing and sharing these materials. You must buy your own copy of these materials, or use course packets (if available).

The News tab links to the Harvard Business Review Magazine. Users may freely access magazine articles.