Includes "Emerging Spaces" tool featuring new and disruptive markets, technologies, products, or services - or the new application of a technology, product, or service to a given market. Provides you with an overview of the space and the ability to dive deeper to analyze its growth metrics. [Global coverage]
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.
Current and historic industry research reports for established and niche U.S. industries. Trend content is scattered throughout reports, so do a keyword search within a report for trend. [U.S. only coverage]
Use IBISWorld’sIndustry Wizard tool to create custom lists of industries using specific criteria, or select from pre-made “Quick Lists” such as, “Fastest Growing Industries,” “Export Stars,” and “Hot Start-Up Industries.
Market research reports that address behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for several major consumer segments in the U.S. The Industry reports covering retail and consumer product sectors that address market conditions, forecasts, prominent brands, trends, and customer decisions in the U.S. [U.S. only coverage]
Use the content type filter to view trend reports exploring observations in consumer behavior for the year ahead - browse by sector, demographic, theme, and region.
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries. [Global coverage]
Focuses on high-tech industries and includes trend-driven “report types,” such as: Mega Trends, Growth Insights, TechVision Analysis, and Emerging Technologies Research.
Covers virtually all business subjects. Includes content from many business magazines and trade publications (e.g., "Trends Magazine"). Try adding the keyword trend* (with an asterisk) to a search (e.g., real estate AND trend*). [Global coverage]
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites. [Global coverage]
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services. Includes market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations. [U.S. only coverage]
Entrepreneurs are often interested in emerging industries and markets that may not be covered in library databases.
Try using Google Alerts to stay up-to-date on the latest trends in emerging areas. With Google Alerts, you can receive email notifications when your topic is mentioned in blogs, news, or web sources.
Or, try using Google Trends to see a visual display of interest in a particular topic from global to city-level geography. Add additional topics to generate comparison data.
Additional Sources for Ideation
News
Staying up-to-date on current events is a great way to learn about the latest products and trends.
Visit the News page to browse individual news publications or search news databases.
Academic Articles
Searching the literature (e.g, articles, reports, white papers) can help you discover the latest research in a particular field.
Example: Search PubMed@UCI (a medical literature database) to learn about emerging treatments or advances in medical devices.
Entrepreneurs are often interested in emerging industries and markets that may not be covered in library databases.