Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Metaverse / AR / VR

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Databases

Note: Direct report/page links

You may need to open the database first (using the main access link) in order for the direct report/page links to open properly. You can also search the report/page name within the database to access this content.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that address behaviors, lifestyles, and trends for several major consumer and retail segments in the U.S.

eMarketer/Insider Intelligence *Access Ends 12/20/2024* This link opens in a new window
Industry and market research data, charts, and reports on topics related to everything digital.

Metaverse (topic page)
Augmented & Virtual Reality (topic page)

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform.

Metaverse - Statistics & Facts (topic overview)
Metaverse: Market Data & Analysis (market insights report)
XR: AR, VR, and the metaverse - Statistics & Facts (topic overview)
Statista search for Metaverse Market Insight Reports (includes industries such as: advertising, ecommerce, gaming, health and fitness, live entertainment, and education)

Forrester *Access Ends 4/18/2025* This link opens in a new window
Reports across all nuances and trends of IT.
Forrester Access Instructions

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Data and research covering the private investment market. Focuses on emerging markets and companies.
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Vertical Snapshot: The Metaverse (2022)

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Global data and information about the financing activities of startup companies and investors. Specializes in emerging industries.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants and Hype Cycles.

eBooks

The Metaverse by Matthew Ball
Taking us on an expansive tour of the "next internet," Ball presents a comprehensive definition of the Metaverse before explaining the technologies that will power it-and the breakthroughs that will be necessary to fully realize it. He addresses the governance challenges the Metaverse entails; investigates the role of Web3, blockchains, and NFTs; and predicts Metaverse winners and losers. Most importantly, he examines many of the Metaverse's almost unlimited applications. [also available in print]
The Immersive Metaverse Playbook for Business Leaders by Irena Cronin & Robert Scoble
This book explains what "the metaverse" really refers to and shows you how to plot your business road map using the metaverse. Chapters include use cases on social interaction, work, entertainment, art, and shopping to help you make better decisions when it comes to metaverse product and service development. You’ll also explore the overall societal benefits and dangers related to issues such as privacy encroachment, technology addiction, and sluggishness. The concluding chapters discuss the future of AR and VR roles in the metaverse and the metaverse as a whole to enable you to make long-term business plans.
Metaversed: See Beyond The Hype by Luis Bravo Martins & Samantha G. Wolfe
Understand the coming metaverse--and discover how to look past the hype and harness the future of technology. Metaversed is an insightful discussion and analysis of the next, rapidly approaching technological revolution. In addition to identifying the business opportunities, the book pulls back the curtain on major safety and privacy issues that will arise and the expected shifts in both our private and social spheres.
The Metaverse Handbook by Quharrison Terry & Scott Keeney
In this book, a duo of experienced tech and culture experts delivers a guide to participating in the most promising new technology since the advent of the web. Through dozens of metaverse creator case studies and concise, actionable insights, you'll walk away from this book understanding how to explore and implement the latest metaverse tech emerging from blockchain, XR, and web3.
XR-Metaverse Cases: Business Application of AR, VR, XR and Metaverse by Timothy Jung & M. Claudia tom Dieck (Editors)
This book presents a collection of latest case studies on augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR), extended reality (XR) and metaverse applications in various industries, such as healthcare, tourism, hospitality, events, fashion, entertainment, retail, education and video gaming. The volume includes solutions of different maturities as well as those from startups to large enterprises.