Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Lists of Companies

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Responsible use

Usage policy & guidance

Connect

Lists of companies

Make a list of companies
Get popular lists of companies

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. [Global coverage]
The vendor of this resource may monitor, collect, store, and analyze Subscriber’s usage of the Services (“Subscriber’s Usage Data”) on both a Subscriber and individual User basis for the limited purposes of providing or improving the services.

Generate custom lists using your own criteria > Learn this search: Companies search
Select from pre-made lists of companies > Learn this search: Emerging spaces

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. [Global coverage]
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Company intelligence database, including granular financial and capital structure information on companies worldwide. [Global coverage]

Learn this search: Company pre-made screens

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Database for nonprofit company intelligence, featuring current financial data, IRS forms, and visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits. Includes a directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location, plus a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits. [U.S. only coverage]

To make a list of companies in an industry, you'll typically need an industry code. These are often NAICS codes.
Find and learn about NAICS codes.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Company directory database, powered by Dun & Bradstreet (D&B). Includes profiles for public and private companies globally. Particularly useful for building a list of companies and for understanding parent/subsidiary relationships. [Global coverage]

Mergent Intellect uses NAICS codes.
Learn this search: List of companies

Uniworld This link opens in a new window
Global company directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Find both U.S. firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue. [Global coverage]

Uniworld uses NAICS codes.
Learn this search: List of companies

Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
Orange County Business Journal produces the" Book of Lists" supplement. It's a compilation of 50+ industry-specific lists of companies, located in Orange County, as published by OCBJ during the previous year. It usually comes out each January.

In the record for Orange County Business Journal, look for All Issues and Articles on the right side of the page.
Click the + sign for January of each year, e.g. + Jan 2024. There you'll see the Book of Lists Supplement.

Fortune 500 Companies
This database includes Fortune magazine. This custom URL finds the issues with "Largest U.S. Corporations" in the title (i.e., what Fortune officially calls its Fortune 500 list). [Global coverage]

Select PDF Full Text to explore inside the magazine.
Fortune magazine also breaks down the 500 by industry and by state.

S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial, executive, and activity information on millions of companies worldwide. [Global coverage]

The Idea Generation Screens feature premade filters for 200+ company characteristics > Learn this search: Company pre-made screens
Look up the name of an index (e.g., the Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P 500, etc.) to view and export the current (not historic) list of constituent companies > Learn this search: Index

There are dozens of company lists, produced by many different entities.
This page only points to a select few of the most requested/relevant lists for the UCI community.
The INSEAD Libraries has an excellent compilation of many additional lists.