Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Databases for Ideas & Trends

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Databases for Ideas and Trends

PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Includes "Emerging Spaces" tool featuring new and disruptive markets, technologies, products, or services- or the new application of a technology, product, or service to a given market. Provides you with an overview of the space and the ability to dive deeper to analyze its growth metrics.


IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Comprehensive industry reports (30-40 pages) on 1,000+ well established U.S. industries and specialty sub-industries. Trend content is scattered throughout reports, so do a keyword search within a report for trend

  • Learn this search!
  • Use IBISWorld’s Industry Wizard tool to create custom lists of industries using specific criteria, or select from pre-made “Quick Lists” such as, “Fastest Growing Industries,” “Export Stars,” and “Hot Start-Up Industries.”


Mintel 
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US

Market research reports on the behaviors and lifestyles of major consumer groups. Industry reports spanning the consumer product sector, including market conditions like market size and share, forecasts, trends, etc.

  • Use the content type filter to view trend reports exploring observations in consumer behavior for the year ahead - browse by sector, demographic, theme, and region.
     

Frost & Sullivan
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global (limited)

Industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

  • Focuses on high-tech industries and includes trend-driven “report types,” such as: Mega Trends, Growth Insights, TechVision Analysis, and Emerging Technologies Research.
     

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Includes content from many business magazines and trade publications (e.g., "Trends Magazine"). Try adding the keyword trend* (with an asterisk) to a search (e.g., real estate AND trend*).  

Factiva
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global
Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.

Plunkett Research Online
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Market research, major industry statistics, trends, and analyses of top companies. 

Google Alerts & Trends

Entrepreneurs are often interested in emerging industries and markets that may not be covered in library databases.

  • Try using Google Alerts to stay up-to-date on the latest trends in emerging areas. With Google Alerts, you can receive email notifications when your topic is mentioned in blogs, news, or web sources.
     
  • Or, try using Google Trends to see a visual display of interest in a particular topic from global to city-level geography. Add additional topics to generate comparison data.

Access Key

UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance