Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Economics: News  

Your comprehensive station for UCI's economic research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/economics

News

Tip:  Need to search a LOT of news titles at once?  

Use this tab: Databases of News & Trade Articles.
News databases include thousands of titles to make your searching more efficient!

Tip:  Need to search a LOT of news titles at once?  

Use this tab: Databases of News & Trade Articles.
News databases include thousands of titles to make your searching more efficient!


Databases of News & Trade Articles

 

Business Source Complete
Thousands of business articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines. 

 

Factiva
Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites. 
Text mining of this database is prohibited. 

 

Access World News
Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

 

Regional Business News
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch 
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including ethnicity in the workplace.

 

The Conference Board
A non-profit business membership and research group. Produces strategy-focused proprietary research reports and articles on topical business issues.

 

 

Tip:  What's a trade publication?
Trade publications are generally written by people within an industry for people within an industry.  For example, JCK is for people working in the jewelry industry, and the Chronicle of Higher Education is for people working at colleges and universities.  Trade publications give great insight into the culture, vocabulary, and inner workings of an industry. 

 

 

The UCI Libraries are proud to be the first in the UC System to offer campus-wide access to
The Wall Street Journal directly through WSJ.com! 

The UCI Libraries and The Wall Street Journal entered a partnership which provides sponsored WSJ memberships for all current UCI students, faculty and staff.  Each activated membership comes with personalized access to WSJ.com, the WSJ mobile app, industry-specific newsletters and podcasts, and exclusive experiences with access to special events and discounts through WSJ+.
 

How do current UCI affiliates (i.e. students, faculty, and staff with an active UCInetID and password) activate their complimentary membership?

 
  • Visit WSJ.com/UCILibraries 
  • Enter your UCInetID and password to access the Create Account page. 
     
  • Use a UCI .edu email address to create your membership account.
     
  • Students need to enter their graduation date when they register for membership; students do not need to renew their membership annually.  
     
  • After your membership account is created:

    --use WSJ.com to access content.

    --download the WSJ mobile app.  When you launch the app, go to Sign In.
   

 

How do current UCI faculty and staff renew their membership?

Faculty and staff need to renew their membership annually. 

  • You will receive an automated email from Dow Jones with a "Refresh Membership" link.  
     
  • Alternatively, visit WSJ.com/UCILibraries while you are using the VPN, configured to UCIFull.  That link should successfully redirect you to your WSJ.com account (it may take several seconds).

 

Do students receive additional benefits from Wall Street Journal after they graduate? 

Students with activated memberships qualify for significantly reduced promotional rates that continue for two years after graduating.  Students will receive an automated email upon graduation from WSJ inviting them to subscribe at those exclusive rates. 

 

Can current UCI affiliates who already have personal subscriptions cancel their membership?

If you currently pay for a personal WSJ membership, you will not automatically be switched to the UCI Libraries sponsored membership. To cancel a personal membership and switch to the university-sponsored membership, you have two options:

  • Option 1:  email support@wsj.com.
  • Option 2:  call 1-800-JOURNAL and say that you are switching to the subscription provided by the University of California, Irvine. 

Partial refunds will be dispersed.  After your personal account is closed, you will be able to activate your complimentary membership sponsored by the UCI Libraries.

 

More questions?

For any additional technical questions:  email support@wsj.com or call 1-800-JOURNAL 

You can also contact Annette Buckley, UCI Libraries Research Librarian for Business and Economics.

Email:  annetteb@uci.edu   Office:  949-824-0360

 


Historic Wall Street Journal



WSJ, 1984-Current
Via ProQuest Major Dailies.  Each issue is indexed thoroughly for access to top news stories and information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers complete bibliographic information and companies, people, products, etc.
 

WSJ, 1889-2002
Via ProQuest Historic Newspapers. Includes the complete WSJ newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in PDF format. 

 

Financial Times' FT Logo

 

The UCI Libraries are proud to offer campus-wide access to The Financial Times directly through FT.com!

The UCI Libraries and The Financial Times (FT) have entered into a partnership which provides sponsored FT.com accounts for all current UCI students, faculty and staff.  Each account comes with personalized access to FT.com and the FT mobile app.  FT is a daily read for executives, policy-makers, and academics, among others, around the world. The FT offers news, opinion pieces, and data on a variety of topics, including management, business, the legal industry, politics, climate change, and economics, all from a global perspective.
 

How do current UCI affiliates (i.e. students, faculty, and staff with an active UCInetID and password) activate their complimentary accounts?

 
  • Visit FT.com/UCILibraries
     
  • Enter your UCInetID and password to access the FT Join page. 
     
  • Use your @uci.edu email address to create your account
     
  • If you encounter an error message when creating your account, try using a different browser.
     
  • After your account is created, use FT.com to access content.
     
  • For help creating your account, email: customer.support@ft.com
 

 

 

 

undefined


How do current UCI affiliates access the FT 
mobile app? undefined

  • Download the FT mobile app.  When you launch the app, you will see a Sign In page. 
     
  • After you type your @uci email address, you will have an option to Sign in via University of California, Irvine.
     
  • Use your UCInetID and Password to sign in to the FT app.  

 


Do students receive additional benefits from the Financial Times after they graduate?

Within one year of graduation, graduates are eligible for a free 3 month subscription to FT.com. You will be emailed a link in the Spring, or you can contact customer.support@ft.com for details.

 

Can current UCI affiliates who already have personal subscriptions migrate to the UCI Libraries' sponsored subscription?

If you currently pay for a personal FT.com account, please do the following to migrate your account to the UCI Libraries' sponsored license:

  1. Log into FT.com using your current credentials.
  2. In the same browser, go to the sign-up link: ft.com/ucilibraries.
  3. Complete any open fields.
  4. If you are not using a university email address, you will need to change it via this page: ft.com/myaccount.
  5. Email higher.education@ft.com, include your email address, and explain that you want to cancel your personal account.

 

How should I get started with the FT?

 

More questions?

For technical questions, email customer.support@ft.com or call 855-685-2372.   For help with setting up alerts or learning about integration into courses, email rebecca.garfinkel@ft.com.

 


Historic Financial Times


Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010)
Access is via the Gale Primary Sources database.

 

undefined

 

The UCI Libraries are proud to be the first in the UC System to offer campus-wide access to
The New York Times directly through NYTimes.com! 

The UCI Libraries and The New York Times entered a partnership which provides sponsored NYTimes.com accounts for all current UCI students, faculty and staff.  Accounts do not include e-reader editions, Times Insider content, or digital versions of the New York Times Crossword.
 

How do current UCI affiliates (i.e. students, faculty, and staff with an active UCInetID and password) activate their complimentary accounts?

undefined

  • You must be on the UCI campus or, if you are off campus, using the VPN, configured to UCIFull.
     
  • Visit AccessNYT.com.
     
  • Type Irvine to find UCI in the list of schools.
     
  • You will be directed to the Create Your Account page.
     
  • Use your @UCI email address, create a password, and choose the appropriate type of user (student/faculty/staff/administrator/other).  Then click Sign Up.  

 

How do current UCI affiliates renew their account?

Computer Website Renewal:

  • You must be on the UCI campus or, if you are off campus, using the VPN, configured to UCIFull.
  • When renewing on a computer that you regularly use to access NYTimes.com, you will often be auto-recognized.  If you are not auto-recognized, then:
    Visit AccessNYT.com.
    Type Irvine to find UCI in the list of schools.
    Beneath the Create Account button, click on Already have an account? Log in here »

Mobile App Renewal:

  • You might get stuck in a loop when trying to renew your account on the mobile app, like this.
    Already a subscriber?  Log in.  >>  Don’t have an account?  Create one.  >>  “Could Not Create Account.  The e-mail address provided is already in use.”  >> Already a subscriber?  Log in.
    If that happens, delete and reinstall the mobile app.

 

Can current UCI affiliates who already have personal subscriptions cancel their membership?

If you currently have a personal paid subscription to the New York Times and are having difficulty creating a UCI account, please contact the New York Time's customer service directly.  Personal subscriptions: 1-800-698-4637  *  Academic subscriptions: 1-800-753-7795


More questions?

Email NYT education support team at edu@nytimes.com with any inquiries, or use chat: NYT Group Subscription live chat.  Hours:  M-F 8am-5pm Eastern.​
 

Terms of Service:
Permissions  *  Linking  *  Privacy Policy  *  Terms of Service

 


Historic New York Times


New York Times Current
Coverage: 1980 - current

U.S. Major Dailies
Coverage: 1980s - current. Includes NYT and other major newspapers

Connect

How To Connect:

Electronic & Print Resources

Tip

For an overview of the current, important, and 
controversial issues impacting society, try 
CQ Researcher.

Each entry reads like an easily understandable Wikipedia page, but unlike Wikipedia, everything is credibly cited!