What can I access?
- PublicAccess is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.
For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.
Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;
Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.
How do I access the UCI network?
- Students
- Employees
- Alumni
- Visitors
Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.
Scholarly Articles
EconLit
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Published by the American Economic Association. Provides thousands of bibliographic entries for a wide range of economics-related literature, both theory and application. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL).
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries from scholarly business journals.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of bibliographic entries of key relevance to the discipline including urban affairs, community development and urban history.
PsycINFO
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of scholarly articles and bibliographic entries on psychology, cognitive sciences, and related disciplines.
Scopus
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The largest index of peer-reviewed literature, in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Index for finding scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
ScienceDirect
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
JSTOR
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
JSTOR Stands for Journal Storage. Contents comprise entire back runs except for the most recent (2-5 years) of scholarly journals, across all disciplines.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature- with 1500+ journals- in political science and its complementary fields.
PAIS Index
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Public Affairs Information Service. Quarterly-updated records for millions of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, from 120+ countries. Covers "the realm of public policy."
Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The working papers series from the National Bureau of Economic Research. New research by NBER affiliates, circulated for discussion and comment. Papers issued more than 18 months ago are open access.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Access: Public
Access: UCI Authorized Affiliates (eJournals)
Geography: Global
A repository featuring many specialized research networks (RNs) that altogether cover practically all academic disciplines. Scholars use SSRN to share their forthcoming research preprints (i.e., working papers and abstracts that have not been peer-reviewed), and to discover one another's forthcoming research. SSRN also classifies papers into topic-based eJournals that are distributed to institutional subscribers.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Access: Public
Geography: Global
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 78 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The bibliographic database includes working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
arXiv- Economics
Access: Public
Geography: Global
A moderated open access repository of working papers and scholarly articles in mathematics and the sciences, with a new section devoted to Economics.
EconLit
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Published by the American Economic Association. Provides thousands of bibliographic entries for a wide range of economics-related literature, both theory and application. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL). Includes working papers.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Theory and research in international affairs, including a significant amount in economics. Has working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries, including working papers. Advanced Search > Document Type > Working Paper.
The Peterson Institute for International Economics
Access: Public
Geography: Global
A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy. Working papers series launched in 1994.
Universities & Colleges
Many institutions have repositories of working papers. Start with a Google search limited to the .edu domain. For example, paste this into Google: economics working papers site:.edu
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses.
In this database UCI has access to all other UC dissertations electronically since 1997.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Limited as possible to records that are freely available online.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Limited as possible to records that are freely available online.
