Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Economics:  Databases 

Your comprehensive station for UCI's economic research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/economics

Databases

 

What is a database, anyway?
Broadly speaking, a database is a resource that contains information, presented in a way that's organized and retrievable.  For the databases that you encounter on this guide, think of each one as a focused collection of info.  They offer content including: written reports, numeric data in spreadsheets, charts/graphs/images, video, or a mix of content.  

  • This Databases page links to economics-related database licensed at UC Irvine.  That means UCI pays to sponsor campus-wide access to these databases; it's analogous to someone buying a Netflix subscription for their family.  

 

Why are there so many?
Each database specializes in different things, and the different database vendors are all competing against each other.  Using that streaming services analogy, if you want to watch all the content, you'd have to subscribe to many vendors, e.g. Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, Disney Plus, etc.

 

Which ones are the best for my research?
It depends on your topic.  One database could be great—relevant(!)—for company research, and it could also be terrible—irrelevant(!)—for country research, and vice-versa.

  • If you already know the name of a database that you want, then start on this Databases page.  
     
  • If you're beginning research and you want database recommendations, then explore the subject dropdown menus,
    shown in ALL CAPS.  These menus recommend databases for common topics within a broad subject.  For example, to get info on an industrylook under the INDUSTRIES & COMPANIES subject menu. 
     

Databases

 

What is a database, anyway?
Broadly speaking, a database is a resource that contains information, presented in a way that's organized and retrievable.  For the databases that you encounter on this guide, think of each one as a focused collection of info.  They offer content including: written reports, numeric data in spreadsheets, charts/graphs/images, video, or a mix of content.  

  • This Databases page links to economics-related database licensed at UC Irvine.  That means UCI pays to sponsor campus-wide access to these databases; it's analogous to someone buying a Netflix subscription for their family.  

 

Why are there so many?
Each database specializes in different things, and the different database vendors are all competing against each other.  Using that streaming services analogy, if you want to watch all the content, you'd have to subscribe to many vendors, e.g. Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, Disney Plus, etc.

 

Which ones are the best for my research?
It depends on your topic.  One database could be great—relevant(!)—for company research, and it could also be terrible—irrelevant(!)—for country research, and vice-versa.

  • If you already know the name of a database that you want, then start on this Databases page.  
     
  • If you're beginning research and you want database recommendations, then explore the subject dropdown menus,
    shown in ALL CAPS.  These menus recommend databases for common topics within a broad subject.  For example, to get info on an industrylook under the INDUSTRIES & COMPANIES subject menu. 
     

Return to the top of the page.

Box title- Access Answers

What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
Students
Employees
Alumni
Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly
using what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.