Research Guides: Economics: &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;Journals

Access Answers

What can I access?

Access is generally available to all people. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UC Irvine Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

Access is available to all people ON the UC Irvine campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.

- UCI- Authorized Affiliates

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.

- UCI- Limited Affiliates

The resources are limited to select UC Irvine populations, based on a person’s status, e.g., current UC Irvine Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UC Irvine Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed.

Am I on the UC Irvine network?
Test my connection.

How do I access the UC Irvine network?
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors

Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.

Advances in Econometrics

Looking for this series?

We have them!

Advances in Econometrics is actually classified (by the publisher) as a book series, so please visit the eBooks page.

Find Journals

BrowZine for UCI
Access: UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.

BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.

Journal Citation Reports
Access: UCI
A module of Clarivate's Incites platform that allows for evaluating and comparing journals. JCR uses citation data drawn from thousands of scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings in 60+ countries. Includes both the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), and the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).

There is a 1-year lag. Each annual release provides the prior year's data.
To find journals by discipline and impact factor (e.g. top-quartile journals):
Browse categories > Economics & Business > sub-category (e.g. Management) > # of Journals [column]

Select Journals

AEA (American Economic Association) Journals

Journal of Economic Literature
Access: UCI
Designed to help economists keep abreast of the vast flow of literature. Issues contain commissioned, peer-reviewed survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of new books classified by subject matter, and an annual index of dissertations in North American universities. [full record]
American Economic Review
Access: UCI
Publishes on a broad range of topics; a general-interest economics journal. [full record]
Journal of Economic Perspectives
Access: UCI
Fills a gap between the general interest press and most other academic economics journals. [full record]
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics
Access: UCI
Publishes papers covering a range of topics in applied economics, with a focus on empirical microeconomic issues. [full record]
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy
Access: UCI
Publishes papers covering a range of topics, the common theme being the role of economic policy in economic outcomes. [full record]
American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics
Access: UCI
Focuses on studies of aggregate fluctuations and growth, and the role of policy in that context. [full record]

Top Quartile* Journals (A-Z) in Economics

*By impact factor, per Journal Citation Reports.

Annual Review of Economics
Access: UCI
Covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics, including economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics, including culture, institutions, social interaction, and networks; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more. [full record]
Brookings Papers on Economic Activity
Access: UCI
Covers broad range of macroeconomic issues currently impacting the public policy debates. Emphasizes rigorous analysis that has an empirical orientation, takes real-world institutions seriously, and is relevant to economic policy. [full record]
Econometrica
Access: UCI
Publishes in all branches of economics - theoretical and empirical, abstract and applied, providing wide-ranging coverage across the subject area. [full record]
The Economic Journal
Access: UCI
A general interest economic research journal, publishing papers in all fields of economics for a broad international readership. [full record]
Economic Systems Research
Access: UCI
Dedicated to disseminating knowledge on interindustry economic systems, structures and processes. This includes the interaction of economies with the natural environment, their use of natural and human resources and their change across time and space. [full record]
Journal of Economic Growth
Access: UCI
Outlet for research in the fields of economic growth and comparative economic development. Publishes research that explores the growth process in the contemporary period as well as over the entire course of human history. [full record]
Journal of Economic Surveys
Access: UCI
Seeks to improve the communication of new ideas. It provides a means by which economists can keep abreast of recent developments beyond their immediate specialization. Areas covered include: economics, econometrics, economic history and business economics. [full record]
Journal of Finance
Access: UCI
Publishes across all the major fields of financial research. The official publication of The American Finance Association. [full record]
Journal of Financial Economics
Access: UCI
Publishes in the area of financial economics and the theory of the firm, placing primary emphasis on the highest quality analytical, empirical, and clinical contributions in the following major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations. [full record]
Mathematical Finance
Access: UCI
Publishes original research articles focused on the development and application of novel mathematical and statistical methods for the analysis of financial problems. [full record]
Quarterly Journal of Economics
Access: UCI
Covers all aspects of the field- from the journal's traditional emphasis on microtheory, to both empirical and theoretical macroeconomics. [full record]
Review of Economics and Statistics
Access: UCI
General journal of applied (especially quantitative) economics. From time to time, the Review also publishes collections of papers or symposia devoted to a single topic. [full record]
Review of Economic Studies
Access: UCI
Encourages research in theoretical and applied economics, especially by young economists. [full record]
Review of Financial Studies
Access: UCI
Publishes new research in financial economics. The Review balances theoretical and empirical contributions. [full record]
Review of International Political Economy
Access: UCI
dedicated to the systematic exploration of the international political economy. Publishes articles that explore such issues as international trade and finance, production and consumption, and global governance and regulation, in conjunction with issues of culture, identity, gender, and ecology. [full record]
World Development
Access: UCI
Multi-disciplinary journal of development studies. It seeks to explore ways of improving standards of living, and the human condition generally, by examining potential solutions to problems such as: poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, discrimination, conflict, etc.. [full record]

Corresponding Data from Journals

I want to replicate an economics article. Where's the article's data?

Sometimes researchers want to replicate an economics article and use the same from the original article. That data availability depends on a couple of key factors:

Does the journal require or only encourage sharing data?
Who produced the data? For example, was it a government, or the authors, or a commercial firm? Sometimes data is restricted because it's expensive or it's sensitive (health info, trade secrets, etc.).

Below are links to data policies for the select journals, and links to data repositories (when available).

Yes = easy to get data
Varies per article = may be difficult or impossible to get data

Data Availability
Journals (A-Z)	Policy	Data Availability	Data Access Notes (If Applicable)
AEA- All Journals	Policy	Yes	openICPSR- AEA
Brookings (BPEA)	Policy	Yes	Journal's site; accompanies articles
Econometrica	Policy	Yes	Econometrica Supplementary Materials
The Economic Journal	Policy	Yes	Journal's site; accompanies articles
Economic Systems Research	Policy	Varies per article
Journal of Economic Growth	Policy	Varies per article
Journal of Economic Surveys	Policy	Varies per article
Journal of Finance	Policy	Varies per article
Journal of Financial Economics	Policy	Yes	Journal's site; accompanies articles
Mathematical Finance	Policy	Varies per article
Quarterly Journal of Economics	Policy	Yes	QJE Dataverse
Review of Economics and Statistics	Policy	Yes	RESTAT Dataverse
Review of Economic Studies	Policy	Varies per article
Review of Financial Studies	Policy	Varies per article	See the RFS Dataverse
Review of International Political Economy	Policy	Varies per article
World Development	Policy	Yes	Mendeley- World Development