Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Economics: Country Information: Overviews, Regulation, Risk, and Financial Data

Your comprehensive station for UCI's economic research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/economics

 
Country Overviews

 

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

The UCI Libraries' subscription covers three modules. 1) Country Reports: The EIU’s flagship service that examines and explains the important political and economic trends in a country. 2) Country Commerce: a practical guide to a country's business regulations and business practices. 3) Financial Services: detailed analysis and a five-year forecast for the financial services industry in a country.

 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Country profiles include PEST/LE (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, / Legal, Environmental) analyses. 
 

 

Europa World Plus
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Access is limited to ONE user at a time!  Information on hundreds countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including recent country history.  Has statistics on area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transport, tourism, communications media, education, and politics.

 

OECD iLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics on member and non-member countries.  The periodic Economic Surveys are a great starting point, covering the major challenges in a country, evaluating the short-term outlook, and making policy recommendations.

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Includes country reports from many well-known publishers, including IHS Global and Political Risk Yearbook.

 

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: Global

Profile reports on many countries' business dynamics, as well as finance, trade, and economies. 

 

CIA World Factbook
Access: Public

Geography: Global

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

 

Transparency International
Access: Public

Geography: Global

Non-partisan group that works with partners in government, business and civil society to put effective measures in place to tackle corruption.  Offers reports and publications on corruption in different countries throughout the world. 

 

 

 


Country Risk

 

FitchConnect
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global

(Formerly BMI Research).  A global intelligence database, featuring analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP.  For a given country, the Country Risk Index presents, on a 0-100 scale (with a higher score being more favorable), the viability of any country based on economic, political, and operational risk.  

 

Political Risk Yearbook
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

Available via the Publications tab in the Business Source Complete database.  Includes all 100 of Political Risk Services' annual country reports, which provide the means for risk mitigation as well as the insight in order to exploit political and economic events for profit.

 

Country Commercial Guides
Access: Public

Geography: Global

From the US Commercial Service.  Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.

 

Transparency International
Access: Public

Geography: Global

A non-partisan global NGO with the mission to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society.  Produces research, data, country indexes, and reports covering several types of corruption risks worldwide.

 

Institute for Economics and Peace
Access: Public

Geography: Global

Global think tank dedicated to developing metrics to analyze peace and to quantify its economic value. Developes global and national indices, calculating the economic cost of violence, analyzing country level risk and understanding positive peace.

 

Tip:

For in-depth scholarly research articles about global politics and business risk, explore these databases of Academic Articles:

 
Country Regulation and Policy

 

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

The UCI Libraries' subscription covers three modules. 1) Country Reports: The EIU’s flagship service that examines and explains the important political and economic trends in a country. 2) Country Commerce: a practical guide to a country's business regulations and business practices. 3) Financial Services: detailed analysis and a five-year forecast for the financial services industry in a country.

 

Country Commercial Guides
Access: Public
Geography: Global

From the US Commercial Service.  Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.

 

Doing Business Report Series
Access: Public

Geography: Global

From the
World Bank.  Annual report that gives an overview of business regulations and enforcement across 183 economies.  The report provides data on the ease of doing business, ranks each location, and recommends reforms to improve performance.

 

Trade Policy Reviews
Access: Public

Geography: Global

From the World Trade Organization.  Surveillance of national trade policies and regulations, so that individuals and companies know as much as possible about the conditions of trade.  Achieved in two ways: governments give regular “notifications”; and the WTO conducts regular reviews of individual countries’ trade policies.

 

CBP Information Center 
Access: Public

Geography: Global

From US Customs & Border Protection.  Gives gives overviews of applicable laws and regulations for importers and exporters.  Features on the site include a report titled "Importing into the US," plus a keyword search box. 

 


Country Financial and Economic Data

International Debt Statistics
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Also known as "GDF Online."  A subscription from the World Bank.  Has data for the 135 countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.  Indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios, average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections.  Also includes topical country data and regional aggregates.

 

IMF eLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

A licensed supplement to the open access content on the IMF website. The IMF eLibrary delivers the IMF’s publications, research, analytical papers, reports, and data as a one-stop resource for IMF content.  Includes the IMF's International Financial Statistics. 

 

OECD iLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

All publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

 

World Bank eLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

The full collection of all publications and research including: All Economic Review (WBER) and Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996. All Development Outreach issues. All Policy Research Working Papers since 1995. All content is made available immediately upon release.  

 

World Development Indicators
Access: Public

Geography: Global

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

 

International Labour Organization
Access: Public

Geography: Global

Key global information regarding the world of work, as well as economic and social development, including both publications and datasets of indicators. 

 

US Census:  International Programs
Access: Public

Geography: Global

Demographic, economic, and geographic studies of 100+ countries. 

 

EPS China Data
Access: UCI
Geography: China

A service provider in China offering statistical Time Series Data.  Coverage includes five sectors:  Economic Operation, Industry Operation, Trade & External Economy, Social Development, Resources & Environment.

 

Prowessdx
Access: UCI
Geography: India

Financial time-series data for over 30,000 Indian companies. Coverage includes both public and private companies with stock price data included for listed companies. Annual Reports of companies, stock exchanges and regulators are the principal sources of the data. From the Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (CMIE).

  • Under the login fields on the top right, click on the Register link.  After you register, you’ll get a confirmation email with a temporary password.  Use that to log in and then accept the terms of use.  
     
  • For help navigating Prowessdx, after you register and login, use the "Seek Clarifications" link at the top of the page.  You will receive help from the database team in India, usually within 24 hours.  
     

Return to the top of the page.

Connect

Box title- Access Answers

What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
Students
Employees
Alumni
Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly
using what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.