What can I access?
- PublicAccess is generally available to all people. Registration or account creation might be required to access.
For commercial websites, the UC Irvine Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all people ON the UC Irvine campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.
The resources are limited to select UC Irvine populations, based on a person’s status, e.g., current UC Irvine Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UC Irvine Libraries for access instructions.
Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed.
Am I on the UC Irvine network?
Test my connection.
How do I access the UC Irvine network?
- Students
- Employees
- Alumni
- Visitors
Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.
Company Overviews:
Profiles, Financials, Hierarchies, and SWOT Analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats)
S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of publicly traded companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data. Also features biographic and professional connection information for millions of business practitioners.
PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, identify and analyze competitors, and search investor details.
Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. It's particularly useful for building lists of companies and for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships (use the Family Tree tab for a company). Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro. Data for both Mergent & Hoovers comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).
MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Select public and select large private company profiles, spanning most major industries worldwide. Profiles often include a detailed SWOT Analysis.
Nexis Uni Company Dossier
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. This Company Dossier tool Public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. Particularly helpful for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships and some executive email addresses (as available).
Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global
Analytical reports on large global consumer companies' operations in various countries worldwide. Some reports may include a detailed SWOT Analysis or have content to help write one.
Uniworld
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Finds both US firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the US. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue.
EDGAR
Access: Public
Access to all public companies' filings to the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC). Offers full-text searching of all filings produced in the last 4 years.
Private Companies: Other Resources
PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, identify and analyze competitors, and search investor details.
News is often one of the only sources of info on private companies!
Factiva
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business news wires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of news articles from popular and trade sources.
Access World News
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Full-text news from 600+ U.S. and 700+ international sources, offering viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Press Releases
The Press Release page for a private company, discoverable through Google, is also a critically important resource.
Helpful SEC filings
The 10-K/Q have the most detail about a company's finances; you won't find a more specific breakdown elsewhere.
