What can I access?
- PublicAccess is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.
For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.
The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.
Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;
Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.
How do I access the UCI network?
- Students
- Employees
- Alumni
- Visitors
Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.
Economic Indicators: United States
S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company and economic intelligence database. Features a Chart Builder tool for quickly visualizing and exporting data on economic indicators including: GDP, CPI, Unemployment, Balance of Payments, etc.
Global Financial Data
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Coverage is 1790-present.
The Conference Board
Access: UCI
Geography: Global (limited)
Produces the Consumer Confidence Index® (CCI), The Conference Board Leading Economic Index® (LEI), The Conference Board Employment Trends Index™ (ETI), and The Conference Board and PwC Measure of CEO Confidence™
US Economic Census
Access: Public
Geography: US
The official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It surveys 4 million businesses, including large, medium and small companies, representing all U.S. locations and industries.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
Access: Public
Geography: US
Produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy. The cornerstone is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.
SimplyAnalytics
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Maximum 3 users at once! Offers thousands of economic census and premium behavioral data variables that can be used when building custom maps and spreadsheet reports. Register for a free account to save and return to your work..
S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company and economic intelligence database. Features a Chart Builder tool for quickly visualizing and exporting data on economic indicators including: GDP, CPI, Unemployment, Balance of Payments, etc.
Global Financial Data
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.
International Debt Statistics
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
Also known as "GDF Online." A subscription from the World Bank. Has data for the 135 countries that report to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. Indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios, average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections. Also includes topical country data and regional aggregates.
IMF eLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A licensed supplement to the open access content on the IMF website. The IMF eLibrary delivers the IMF’s publications, research, analytical papers, reports, and data as a one-stop resource for IMF content. Includes the IMF's International Financial Statistics.
OECD iLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
All publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
World Bank eLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The full collection of all publications and research including: All Economic Review (WBER) and Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996. All Development Outreach issues. All Policy Research Working Papers since 1995. All content is made available immediately upon release.
World Development Indicators
Access: Public
Geography: Global
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
International Labour Organization
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Key global information regarding the world of work, as well as economic and social development, including both publications and datasets of indicators.
Center for International Data
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Housed at the Department of Economics at the University of California, Davis, the center collects, enhances, creates, and disseminates international economic data, including: tariffs, imports/exports, and the Penn World Tables, i.e. national accounts for each country.
US Census: International Programs
Access: Public
Geography: Global
Demographic, economic, and geographic studies of 100+ countries.
Economic Indicators: California and Orange County
SCAG Local Profiles
Access: Public
Geography: California
Southern California Association of Governments is an association of local governments and agencies that convenes to address regional issues. Profiles covering SCAG constituent cities are released every two years, for these counties: Imperial County / Los Angeles County / Orange County / Riverside County / San Bernardino County / Ventura County.
Orange County Community Indicators
Access: Public
Geography: California
Annual report that measures the overall quality of life in the Orange County community by tracking key indicators of economic, social and environmental well being.
California Labor Market Information
Access: Public
Geography: California
County and City level labor market information. Includes wage and salary data, occupational projections, employment statistics, and education and training.
US Census County Business Patterns
Access: Public
Geography: California
Historical economic data at the industry level within US counties.
California Travel & Tourism Commission
Access: Public
Geography: California
Operates the "Visit California" websites to promote the state. Provides statistics, research, and promotional content to help stakeholder businesses improve their marketing efforts.
What are indicators?
They are statistics about economic development or human welfare in a region, often presented as time series data, i.e. data for the same variable captured at different times, usually at a regular frequency, e.g. weekly, monthly, annually.
| Common Economic Indicators | Common Social Indicators |
| Gross Domestic Product (GDP), output by sectors, private consumption, retail sales volume, employment, unemployment, average earnings, investment, productivity, inflation, producer input and output prices, current account, volume of trade in goods and services, exports, imports, public debt, and interest rates. | Adult literacy, education expenditure, fertility rate, household income and time use, infant mortality, life expectancy, incidence of antisocial behaviour and criminal offences, income inequality, poverty rate, proportions of urban and rural population, social security expenditure, unemployment, voter turnout, and water and air quality. |
Source: A Dictionary of Economics
