Skip to Main Content

Economics

Your comprehensive station for UCI's economics research content and beyond.

Email this link:

Access Answers


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


How do I access the UCI network? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.

eBooks

Yes, we still buy print books!  
In fact, some books we can only buy in print, because publishers might not make Ebooks available to university libraries.


‚ÄčOverDrive
Want to read for fun?  The UCI Libraries now have OverDrive, a platform for borrowing "popular and recreational reading" ebooks. 


Test Prep and
Career Research Ebooks

Interested in going to graduate school or earning a professional certification as part of your career path?  Get study books and practice tests (online!) for popular graduate or industry-specific exams!  

Study for a test with Peterson's books, review materials, and interactive practice tests, covering a wide variety of exams.  

  • Graduate school tests:
    GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, PCAT
     
  • Industry-specific tests: 
    Civil Service, Nursing, Real Estate, Social Work, Teaching, and many more!


Dissertations and Theses

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses.

  • In this database UCI has access to all other UC dissertations electronically since 1997, and UCI dissertations back to the 1980's. 

 

UCI Economics Dept. Dissertations
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

This link searches the UC library catalog (UC Library Search) for all UC Irvine dissertations in Economics.

 

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Access: Public
Geography: Global

Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).  
 

Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)
Access: Public
Geography: Global

Index of 1.5 million+ electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).  

Select eBooks


Collections

 

Oxford University Press
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

  • Research Encyclopedias
    Current, peer-reviewed trustworthy research, read in 30 minutes or less, across 25 encyclopedias spanning the social and physical sciences.  
  • Very Short Introductions
    Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics readable.


  • Handbooks: Social Sciences
    Surveys of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.  This subject includes: Business, Management, Economics, Research and Information, etc.  

   

Elsevier Handbooks in Economics
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Reference sources with contributions from leading researchers in the domains of economics, econometrics, and finance.  Each volume presents a self-contained survey of the topic under examination.  

 

Econometric Society Monographs
Access: UCI
Published by Cambridge University Press.  Original research contributions of high quality in economic theory and theoretical and applied econometrics, e.g. the book Analysis of Panel Data.  The UCI Libraries have access to ebooks from 2016 - Present.  
 

OECD iLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.  Thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, etc. discoverable by theme, country or content type.  

  • 17 Themes:  Agriculture and Food, Development, Economics, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Governance, Industry and Services, Nuclear Energy, Science and Technology, Social Issues/Migration/Health, Taxation, Trade, Transport, Urban, Rural and Regional Development.

 

World Bank eLibrary
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

All World Bank publications and research including:  Economic Review (WBER) and Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996. Development Outreach issues.  Policy Research Working Papers since 1995. Content is made available immediately upon release.

 

NBER
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research.  Some research initially presented at NBER conferences and in NBER Working Papers is reviewed, revised, and formally published in NBER books by the University of Chicago Press.

  • Home > Research > Findings > Books & Chapters

 


Advances in Econometrics

Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Original scholarly econometrics papers that expand the use of developed and emerging econometric techniques by disseminating ideas on the theory and practice of econometrics throughout the empirical economic, business and social science literature. 

Annual volume themes, selected by the Series Editors, are their interpretation of important new methods and techniques emerging in economics, statistics and the social sciences.



We have older content in print in Langson Library, specifically v.1(1982) - v.38(2017). 
You'll find it in compact shelving in the basement, under call number: HB 139 A3

Return to the top of the page.