Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Economics: Equity (Stock) Markets and Debt (Bond) Markets

Your comprehensive station for UCI's economic research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/economics


Equity (aka Stock) Markets

 

S&P Capital IQ  *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including data and graphs for historic stock prices.  View time series charts and download the accompanying data for individual companies, stock indexes, e.g. Dow Jones Industrial Average, and stock exchanges, e.g. New York Stock Exchange.  Choose from several metrics including value, market cap, price ratios, etc.

 

WSJ Market Data Center: International Stock Indexes
View the daily and 52-week for high/low data for the most major stock indexes, for each global region.  Historic data as available is back to 2007. 

 

Global Financial Data
Geography: Global
Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes total returns on bonds, bills, stocks, and individual indexes, for over 50 countries. 

 

World Federation of Exchanges
The Statistics tab features Monthly Reports with several key indicators for most stock exchanges worldwide (including non-WFE members) dating back to 2003, as well as a Database of IPOs (including non-WFE members) dating back to 2012. 

  • Register for a free account to access the data.  


Debt (aka Bond / Credit / Fixed Income) Markets:
Issuer Ratings & Index Returns

 

S&P Capital IQ  *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.  For a given company entity, the Fixed Income data includes:  S&P Credit Ratings, Securities Summary (including security type, seniority, coupon, etc.), and Credit Default Swaps.

  • Search for a company >> Fixed Income [Left Navigation Menu] 

 

Value Line Investment Survey
Geography: US
Classifies 1,700 companies’ Financial Strength, with ratings from A++ to C, in nine steps.  Balance sheet leverage, business risk, the level and direction of profits, cash flow, earned returns, cash, corporate size, and stock price, all contribute to a company’s relative position on the scale.

 

FINRA Bonds Center
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Inc.  Largest independent regulator of securities firms doing business with the public in the U.S.  Includes corporate credit ratings from Moody's, S&P, and Fitch as available. 

 

Global Financial Data
Geography: Global
Financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes total returns on bonds, bills, stocks, and individual indexes, for over 50 countries. 

 

Bloomberg Terminal  (Current Merage students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: Global
Use for historical credit ratings:  TICKER [Equity] CRPR [GO].  (CRPR stands for Credit Profile).

 

EMMA: Electronic Market Municipal Access 
Funded and operated by the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB), the self-regulatory organization charged by Congress with promoting a fair and efficient municipal securities market. EMMA is designated by the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) as the official source for municipal securities data and disclosure documents. The website provides free public access to objective municipal market information and interactive tools for investors, municipal entities and others. EMMA supports municipal market transparency but is not a platform for buying or selling bonds.

 

Loading ...

Tip


The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco has an easy to read article that explains the differences between the debt and equity markets.

Connect

How To Connect:

Electronic & Print Resources