Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Engineering Standards

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Using Standards


Standards can be used to re-engineer an existing product or device. Browse available standards for ideas!


For more information, please see the Standards and Specifications Guide.
For questions or help finding standards, please contact Julia Gelfand, Research Librarian for Applied Sciences & Engineering. 

Standards

ASTM Compass
Access: UCI
Largest database of full-text standards. Includes access to standards, journals, and special technical publications and proceedings. Search by keyword, designation, or author. Use this website to browse standards by category, then search title in ASTM Compass. 

IEEE Xplore
Access: UCI
Full-text of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) standards covering a broad range of industries including biomedical and healthcare, information assurance, information technology, nanotechnology, power and energy, telecommunications, and transportation.

  • Main top menu: Browse > Standards


ANSI Standards Connect 
Access: UCI

Repository for standards licensed by the UCI Libraries. Use “View My Documents” on the right to browse the complete list of standards available. 

ASME Standards Collection
Access: UCI

ASME (The American Society of Mechanical Engineers) standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing.

  • Top right corner: select "Click here to access institutional account"


NISO Standards
Access: Public

NISO (National Information Standards Organization) standards can be downloaded (free) from the NISO website.

COVID-19 Standards

Many organizations have made standards related to the COVID-19 health crisis freely available during the pandemic in order to support research and innovation.

AAMI: Coronavirus Resources from the Field
Access: Public
As the COVID-19 crisis unfolds, AAMI is providing this curated collection of resources to assist the health technology field.

ANSI: Freely Available ISO Standards to Help Address COVID-19 Crisis
Access: Public

To support rapid response efforts to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ANSI is providing access to key international standards. Through the portal, select standards are accessible in read-only format at no cost during the crisis; additional standards may be added in the future. 

IEEE: COVID-19 Related Research
Access: Public

IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore digital library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it. All content in this collection is now free to access for the duration of the global health crisis, with additional rights for all types of reuse, including full text and data mining, and analysis.

ISO: COVID-19 Response
Access: Public

Relevant standards have been compiled to support global efforts in dealing with the COVID-19 crisis. They are freely available in read-only format.

Access Key

UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance