Research Guides: Drama: Find Articles

Drama Databases

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
An extensive compilation of literary commentary. Provides access to centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - from Classical and Medieval literature to twentieth century literature, children's literature to poetry and drama.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly and trade journals in Drama and Dance disciplines.
Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly index for journal, trade magazine, and popular magazine articles in the fields of dance, drama, and film.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Compiles a collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
The most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2014. Provides brief annotations of books, scholarly articles, productions, and production reviews. Excellent way to locate many professional productions of Shakespeare works since 1960 all across the globe.

Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes scholarly writings about music occurring in journals, books, dissertations, festschrift, conference proceedings, and other similar publications. Primarily focused on Western art music, but one can locate some interesting literature related to musical theater also. Indexes writings that were published from early-20th century to the present.
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals is a collection of full text primary source material for the study of music and musical life from approximately 1760-1960. Its collection is comprised of music-focused periodicals, music-centric articles from general newspapers and literary periodicals, etc. While focused on music, these resources are an excellent way to study popular culture of the 19th and early 20th century.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals archive online makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. It is international in scope, with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.

Newspaper Reviews

New York Times, 1980-present*
Search for articles in recent editions of the New York Times.
Los Angeles Times, 1985-present*
Search for articles in recent editions of the LA Times.
Nexis Uni*
Useful for locating performance reviews, articles, popular news items, and obituaries.
Newspapers.com
Full runs and portions of newspapers (primarily from USA) from the early 1700's to the early 2000's. Excellent resource for smaller regional and local titles.
Access World News*
Index to domestic and international newspapers, 1996-current, including performance reviews. Mostly full-text.
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text*
Full-text articles in dance, film, and theater. Especially good for finding performance, recording and book reviews, obituaries, articles from scholarly journals as well as popular news sources.

Historical Newspaper Reviews

(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985*
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertisements.
Los Angeles Times Historical, 1881-1986*
Search for historical Los Angeles Times articles.
New York Times Historical, 1851-2004*
Search for historical New York Times articles.
New York Times Theater Reviews (PRINT SOURCE)
Coverage: 1870-2000
Reprinted reviews from the New York times.
In Langson Reference PN 1581 N41

Many more historical newspapers can be found on the News and Newspaper research guide.

Selected Major Drama Journals Online from UCI Libraries

Want to stay on top of all of the newest literature in the Drama field? Create a free Browzine account and accomplish it in a snap! It easily allows you to browse journals available through UCI Libraries by subject, put them on your own personal bookshelves, and also be notified when new issues come out. Some of the journals available through this resource are below:

Comparative Drama