Drama

The Costume Designer's Toolkit explores the wide-ranging skills required to design costumes for live performance in theatre, dance, opera, and themed entertainment. Arranged in chronological order to create a design, each chapter describes tools, strategies, and techniques costume designers use to create lively and believable characters within a story environment. The book provides a step-by-step outline of the costume design process beginning with developing as an artist and creating an artistic vision for a script. It covers a wide range of topics, including: Assessing the scope of a production Understanding design thinking and the creative process Project management and budget forecasting Collaborating with and leading creative teams Current practices in costume rendering and communication Mixing purchased, rented, stock, and built costumes to form a design Designing a garment with impact Fitting costumes on performers Combining grit and grace for a successful career Each topic includes case studies and tips from experienced professionals, identifies vital skills, describes techniques, and reveals the essential elements of artistic leadership, collaboration, and cultural acumen. The Costume Designer's Toolkit is the perfect guidebook for the student, aspiring, or early-career costume designer, to be used alone or in costume design university courses.

The Costume Supervisor's Toolkit explores the responsibilities of a Costume Supervisor within a theatrical, opera or dance production company. Rebecca Pride provides an insight into all manner of processes, beginning with a definition of the role, and offers explanations of the timeline from the first design meetings, leading all the way up to managing fittings and final rehearsals. This how-to guide outlines best working practices, including building a team and creating a Costume Bible, whilst also providing helpful resources such as sizing guides, a list of useful addresses, and case studies from renowned theatrical organizations.

Set and costume designers render environments and characters for a wide array of performative events; skilled artisans and technologists bring these visions to life. This book explores the dynamic between those who decide what the set and costumes should look like and those who make them work, including scene designers, costume designers, scene shops, and costume shops. The book discusses how to identify resources, ask the right questions, and engage in healthy collaborations. Following these fundamentals are practical activities and interviews with industry professionals that demonstrate how these skills can be applied to a broad range of productions and other avenues for creative design and production.

A Working Costume Designer's Guide to Fit explores the concept of fit in theatrical costumes - what it is, how to assess it, and how to achieve it. Being able to assess whether a costume fits or not is a learned skill, which takes practice as well as information about what the fit standards are for different types of garments. Filled with detailed step-by-step illustrations, this book provides all the knowledge readers will need in order to achieve the perfect fit for their costumes, including: How costumes can support actors onstage when they fit correctly. How to take measurements and how to assess them. How to conduct a fitting and what materials are needed. How to resolve a number of issues that may arise during a fitting. How to fit a mock-up test garment in preparation for building a costume from scratch. How to adjust a garment or mock-up to fit better. Chapters 8-14 also explore different categories of garments and discuss how to check them against the wearer's measurements before trying them on, what the standards of fit are for each category, and how to fit an existing garment. This is an essential guide for students of Costume Design courses and professional costume designers of any experience level.

Men's Tailoring: Bespoke, Theatrical and Historical Tailoring 1830-1950 introduces the reader to English tailoring and covers the drafting of patterns, cutting out in cloth, and the complete traditional construction techniques in sequence for the tailoring of a waistcoat, trousers and jacket. The book contains: step-by-step instructions, complete with illustrations, for students and costumiers who are new to the making of male tailored garments from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; drafting blocks and construction techniques for the main three styles of nineteenth century male garments: frock coat, morning coat and dress coat; patterns, photographs and detailed measurements taken from a variety of male coats, jackets, waistcoats and trousers from c1830 - c1950 from museums and collections. From choosing the right cloth to preparing for the fitting process, this how-to guide will help readers create beautiful, historically accurate three-piece suits for events and performances.

Since its first publication, Classic Tailoring Techniques for Menswear has been the authoritative resource for custom hand tailoring production. This new edition focuses on updating these timeless construction techniques through extensive use of all new photography and digital illustrations to enhance the clarity of each process. The enduring art of tailoring and the nature of bespoke tailoring processes means that the techniques presented in the first edition remain as relevant for today's designers as ever. The new edition is updated with information on measuring, alternative approached in use today and 748 all new photographs and illustrations. It also includes a brief overview of contemporary tailoring and the identifying key components of luxury tailoring from Britain, Italy and the Unites States. This introduction also familiarizes the reader with ways in which traditional production methods have been used in the development of luxury ready-to-wear men's tailoring. The text is ideal for students with basic design, patternmaking and sewing skills of at least an intermediate level for courses including Tailoring Techniques, Menswear Design, Couture Sewing, Intermediate or Advanced Construction Techniques, Costume Construction and Fashion Design Studios. Instructor's Guide available.

A History of the Theatre Costume Business is the first-ever comprehensive book on the subject, as related by award-winning actors and designers, and first hand by the drapers, tailors, and craftspeople who make the clothes that dazzle on stage. Readers will learn why stage clothes are made today, by whom, and how. They will also learn how today's shops and ateliers arose from the shops and makers who founded the business. This never-before-told story shows that there is as much drama behind the scenes as there is in the performance: famous actors relate their intimate experiences in the fitting room, the glories of gorgeous costumes, and the mortification when things go wrong, while the costume makers explain how famous shows were created with toil, tears, and sweat, and sometimes even a little blood. This is history told by the people who were present at the creation - some of whom are no longer around to tell their own story. Based on original research and first-hand reporting, A History of the Theatre Costume Business is written for theatre professionals: actors, directors, producers, costume makers, and designers. It is also an excellent resource for all theatregoers who have marveled at the gorgeous dresses and fanciful costumes that create the magic on stage, as well as for the next generation of drapers and designers.

Written by a leading design consultant and carefully updated with the latest information on the industry, this is the essential guide to earning a living, marketing skills, furthering a design career, and operating a business. With more than thirty years of backstage and behind-the-scenes experience in theater, film, television, concerts, and special events, James Moody shares his success secrets for the benefit of design students and working designers. Topics include:  Finding and landing dream assignments Negotiating fees Setting up ideal working spaces Building the perfect staff Overcoming fears of accounting and record-keeping Choosing the right insurance Joining the right unions and professional organizations And more  In addition to revealing how to get the great design jobs in traditional entertainment venues, the author shows designers how to think outside the box and seize creative, lucrative opportunities--such as those in theme parks, in concert halls, and with architectural firms. Providing the keys for passionate, talented designers to become successful businesspeople, The Business of Theatrical Design is a must-read for novices and established professionals alike.

Wig Making and Styling: A Complete Guide for Theatre and Film, Second Edition is the one-stop shop for the knowledge and skills you need to create and style wigs. Covering the basics, from styling tools to creating beards, it ramps up to advanced techniques for making, measuring, coloring, and cutting wigs from any time period. Whether you're a student or a professional, you'll find yourself prepared for a career as a skilled wig designer with tips on altering existing wigs, multiple approaches to solving wig-making problems, and industry best practices.

With over 1,000 full-color images and detailed instructions on how to create iconic hairstyles and makeup, Historical Wig Styling: Ancient Egypt to the 1830s, 2nd edition, is an excellent resource for professional costume designers and wig makers, as well as for students of Costume Design and Wig Making and styling courses.

Historical Wig Styling: Victorian to the Present, 2nd edition, is a guide to creating beautiful, historically accurate hairstyles for theatrical productions and events. This volume covers hairstyles from the Victorian era through the contemporary styles of today. Chapters begin with an overview of historic figures and styles that influenced the look of each period, followed by step-by-step instructions and photographs showing the finished look from every angle. The book also explores the necessary supplies and styling products needed to create the perfect coif, tips for proper wig handling, a brief history of the makeup for each historical period, and basic styling techniques useful when working with wigs or real hair. New hairstyles featured in this edition include: - Civil War era women - Late Victorian African-American men - 1910s' Full width style women - 1920s' glossy waves - 1940s' Victory rolls - 1950s' Poodle updos - 1960s' flips With over 1,000 full-color images and detailed instructions on how to create iconic hairstyles and makeup, Historical Wig Styling: Victorian to the Present, 2nd edition, is an excellent resource for professional costume designers and wig makers, as well as for students of Costume Design and Wig Making and Styling courses.

Widely referred to as the "bible of stage makeup," the timely revision of this classic text addresses principles and techniques in the use of makeup for the contemporary performer. This extensive exploration of the application and use of stage makeup and makeup for a variety of performance venues covers all aspects in detail and contains over 400 photographs, drawings, and diagrams demonstrating step-by-step procedures. Thoroughly updated and revised, this classic text remains accurate and comprehensive, providing information from which all readers - whether students to the field or seasoned, professional makeup artists - will benefit. New to this edition: Updated photography throughout. Features the latest information on products and techniques throughout. New additions to chapters concerning  hairpieces and wigs: making a pattern for a beard and mustache, making a pattern for a wig, fronting a wig, or sending accurate information for rentals, and the basic roller set for wigs. The source Appendix has been totally updated with new vendors and the latest website addresses. The materials Appendix has had the most current products added. There are new, blank makeup charts for class work and designing makeups. There is a color guide for a two-part silicone life cast. The new color section featuring Academy Award nominee, Christien Tinsley, steps for the Tinsley Transfers for cuts, bruises and prosthetics. (As seen in the movie The Passion Of The Christ.) A selection of makeup in color with complete instructions. Color photos of Academy Award winner, Matthew Mungle, special effects makeup for the CSI television show. Instructions for a new "creating a likeness" of Queen Elizabeth I. The Film and Television chapter now includes information about working with the latest HD digital technology. The color section now includes a series of photos illustrating the effects of gel colors on natural makeup.

A Beginner's Guide to Special Makeup Effects: Monsters, Maniacs and More is an introduction to special effects makeup using cost-effective tools and materials that can be found in local stores. The book is divided into three sections - Simple Makeup, Advanced Materials and Techniques and Advanced Makeup - and features tutorials to create characters such as a pirate, vampire, ghost, robot, burn victim, witch, zombie and goblin. Each character is introduced with a full-page photograph of the finished makeup and illustrated with full-color, step-by-step photographs. The book also includes instructions on how to make fake teeth, apply bald caps, create gory wounds and injuries and make simple prosthetics. Each makeup tutorial is designed to progressively build on the techniques outlined in the preceding tutorial, guiding readers from the basics of foundation, highlight and shadow to creating advanced creature makeups. This is a beginner makeup book suited for students of Stage Makeup courses, as well as for the theatre technician working and training on their own.

Theatre Artisans and Their Craft: The Allied Arts Fields profiles fourteen remarkable artists and technicians who elevate theatre production to new dimensions, explore new materials and technologies, and introduce new safety standards and solutions. Readers will learn how the featured artists delved into entrepreneurial ventures and created their own work for themselves; researching, studying, and experimenting, seeking answers when none were available. The book explores how to make an impact in the entertainment industry from behind the scenes, and how students can model themselves after these successful professionals to jump-start their career in theatre production. Aimed at theatre and film practitioners in the allied arts fields, Theatre Artisans and Their Craft offers a collection of success stories that are both inspiring and informative.

As a costume supervisor Lynette Mauro works very closely with the production designer and wardrobe team to support the creation of costume designs into clothes that characters wear on stage.

Having worked in Theatre Clwyd's costume department for 25 years, Michal understands the importance of developing a cross-departmental raport and 'evolving' with a building and its inhabitants. Here, she discusses what initially drew her into the world of theatre costume and how a cutter negotiates between period, design, fabric, performance requirements and actors' tastes.

Head of Wardrobe Paula McIntosh chats about the tasks that she and her team carry out to ensure that there are no mishaps.

As wardrobe mistress Faye Michel is part of the costume team and works closely with the costume supervisor, dressers and actors. She discusses her work and how she began in the theatre business.

Costume Prop Maker and Milliner Liz Crossman invites us into Wandsworth Studios to discuss her role and creative process for bringing designs to life for the stage. Crossman also offers invaluable career advice, emphasising the importance of facilitating as much work experience as possible, and promotes thinking outside the box to open doors to new opportunities.

Head of Wardrobe Ruth McCorkindale takes us behind the scenes of the Novello Theatre to discuss her work on the critically acclaimed musical Mamma Mia! McCorkindale considers how teamwork and collaboration are an essential part of working in the wardrobe department and explains how her sewing and making skills provided her with incredible opportunities to develop in the world of theatre.

Head of Hair/Wigs and Make Up Joanna Smedley demonstrates how wigs and masks are developed for the hit musical Wicked at the Apollo Victoria Theatre. Smedley details the maintenance work involved in the production process and considers how studying creative subjects enabled her to gain valuable work experience to progress her career.