DRAMA 129 - Performance Archive - Drama - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

About

The resources listed on this page have been selected to help you better understand the context and history related to the materials you will be exploring during your time in this class. Everything listed here can be accessed digitally; however, UCI Libraries has many more physical materials that are related to these subjects that you can further explore.

If you need help accessing or discovering resources, please reach out to Scott Stone, Research Librarian for Performing Arts: stonesm@uci.edu

Ballets Russes

Streaming Video

Ballets Russes: The Revolutionary Dance Troupe
A dazzlingly entrancing ode to the revolutionary twentieth-century dance troupe known as the Ballets Russes. What began as a group of Russian refugees who never danced in Russia became not one but two rival dance troupes who fought the infamous “ballet battles” that consumed London society before World War II.
The Kirov Celebrates Nijinsky: Firebird
Firebird, together with other works originated during the Saisons Russes, lifted ballet from an art viewed as at best inconsiderable to one that electrified people across Europe. This Kirov staging of Fokine’s Firebird recreates the scenery and costumes created for the original production. Diana Vichneva dances the title role.

Books

The Ballets Russes and Beyond by Davinia Caddy
ISBN: 9781316623633
Publication Date: 2016-10-20
*eBook that only allows 1 reader at a time*

Belle-époque Paris witnessed the emergence of a vibrant and diverse dance scene, one that crystallized around the Ballets Russes, the Russian dance company formed by impresario Sergey Diaghilev. The company has long served as a convenient turning point in the history of dance, celebrated for its revolutionary choreography and innovative productions. This book presents a fresh slant on this much-told history. Focusing on the relation between music and dance, Davinia Caddy approaches the Ballets Russes with a wide-angled lens that embraces not just the choreographic, but also the cultural, political, theatrical and aesthetic contexts in which the company made its name. In addition, Caddy examines and interprets contemporary French dance practices, throwing new light on some of the most important debates and discourses of the day.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
The authoritative resource for all of your factual dance needs. Need background information? Start here!
Legacies of Twentieth-Century Dance by Lynn Garafola
ISBN: 9780819566744
Publication Date: 2005-01-28
Selected writings illuminate a century of international dance. Lynn Garafola has written some of the most influential historical studies and criticism in the field of dance. Legacies of Twentieth-Century Dance is a selection of her essays and reviews that together document the extraordinary transformation of dance, especially ballet, since the early 20th century. Part I, "The Ballet Russes and Beyond," explores the relatively uncharted landscape of French ballet and European art dance in the early 1900s. Part II, "Reconfiguring the Sexes," focuses on women, such as choreographer Bronislava Nijinkska and dancer Ida Rubinstein, as well as phenomena that invite a feminist interpretation, such as the feminization of 19th-century ballet and the invisibility of women choreographers in ballet. Part III, "Dance in New York," examines the period when New York became not only the U.S. dance capital but also, by the 1960s, the dance capital of the world. Finally, Part IV, "Staging the Past," deals with issues of memory, reconstruction, and historical neglect. The book includes a generous selection of photographs.
The Rite of Spring At 100 by Severine Neff (Editor)
ISBN: 0253027357
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
When Igor Stravinsky's ballet Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) premiered during the 1913 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, its avant-garde music and jarring choreography scandalized audiences. Today it is considered one of the most influential musical works of the twentieth century. In this volume, the ballet finally receives the full critical attention it deserves, as distinguished music and dance scholars discuss the meaning of the work and its far-reaching influence on world music, performance, and culture. Essays explore four key facets of the ballet: its choreography and movement; the cultural and historical contexts of its performance and reception in France; its structure and use of innovative rhythmic and tonal features; and the reception of the work in Russian music history and theory.

News, Reviews, and Opinions (from Historical Newspapers)

Further Subject Searches

Clothes and Society

The database Berg Fashion Library is a great resource to find ebooks and digital articles to better understand the fashion/clothing industry and how it fits into society. Examples of books you can access there include:

You can also browse Berg Fashion Library by time period, so if you are interested in learning about how Irene Saltern Salinger fit into the clothing world of the 1930s, you might find this browsing method to be an easier way to find contextual information.

For other primary sources to help understand this topic, you might want to investigate some of the following resources:

Los Angeles Times (Historical)
The Vogue Archive - An archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, and including pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs. This archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Women's Magazine Archive - A collection of women's interest magazines from the 19th century through present. Topics include consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history.

Creating Communities

A People's Guide to Orange County by Elaine Lewinnek; Gustavo Arellano; Thuy Vo Dang
ISBN: 9780520971554
Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Readers may explore this book geographically or use the thematic tours in the appendix to consider environmental politics, Cold War legacies, the politics of housing, LGBTQ spaces, or Orange County's carceral state. The appendix also contains suggestions for teachers using this book, engaging students in cognitive mapping, close reading, popular-culture analysis, and creating additional entries of people's history. While many local histories tend to focus on a few white settlers, this book places attention on the people, especially the subaltern ones who are hierarchically under others, including workers, people of color, youth, and LGBTQ individuals. No single book can represent an entire county, so we have chosen to concentrate on the lesser-known power struggles that have happened here and influenced the landscape that we all share.
A community of contrasts : Asian Americans, native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders in Orange County by Asian Americans Advancing Justice Orange County
Produced in partnership with the Orange County Asian and Pacific Islander Community Alliance (OCAPICA), A Community of Contrasts: Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders in Orange County compiles critical data to paint a more nuanced picture of the county’s Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.
Orange County: A Personal History by Gustavo Arellano
ISBN: 9781439123201
Publication Date: 2008-09-16
Bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano returns with Orange County, a seamlessly woven history of California's Orange County with Gustavo's personal narrative of growing up within its neighborhoods. Part personal narrative, part cultural history, Orange County is the outrageous and true story of the man behind the wildly popular and controversial column ¡Ask a Mexican! and the locale that spawned him. It is a tale of growing up in an immigrant enclave in a crime-ridden neighborhood, but also in a promised land, a place that has nourished America's soul and Gustavo's family, both in this country and back in Mexico, for a century. Nationally bestselling author, syndicated columnist, and the spiciest voice of the Mexican-American community, Gustavo Arellano delivers the hilarious and poignant follow-up to ¡Ask a Mexican!, his critically acclaimed debut. Orange County not only weaves Gustavo's family story with the history of Orange County and the modern Mexican-immigrant experience but also offers sharp, caliente insights into a wide range of political, cultural, and social issues.
Becoming Refugee American: The Politics of Rescue in Little Saigon by Phuong Tran Nguyen
ISBN: 0252099958
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Vietnamese refugees fleeing the fall of South Vietnam faced a paradox. The same guilt-ridden America that only reluctantly accepted them expected, and rewarded, expressions of gratitude for their rescue. Meanwhile, their status as refugees--as opposed to willing immigrants--profoundly influenced their cultural identity. Phuong Tran Nguyen examines the phenomenon of refugee nationalism among Vietnamese Americans in Southern California. Here, the residents of Little Saigon keep alive nostalgia for the old regime and, by extension, their claim to a lost statehood. Their refugee nationalism is less a refusal to assimilate than a mode of becoming, in essence, a distinct group of refugee Americans. Nguyen examines the factors that encouraged them to adopt this identity. His analysis also moves beyond the familiar rescue narrative to chart the intimate yet contentious relationship these Vietnamese Americans have with their adopted homeland. Nguyen sets their plight within the context of the Cold War, an era when Americans sought to atone for broken promises but also saw themselves as providing a sanctuary for people everywhere fleeing communism.

Newspapers and Magazines

LGBT Magazine Archive
Includes historical archives of queer-oriented magazines like The Advocate, Man and Society, etc.
Orange County Register (1987-present)
Orange County Register (Historical)
*Microfilm* This is located in the basement of Langson Library. If you've never used microfilm before, please ask for assistance from a library staff.
Santa Ana Register (1906-1977)
Sex and Sexuality Archives
Digitized primary sources, including materials like magazines, letters, diaries, and organizational papers, related to gender and sexuality studies. Highlights include access to large amounts of the ONE Archives