Research Guides: Drama: Costume Design

ABOUT Costume Design

Introduction to Costume Design with Marcy Froehlich
Assistant Professor of Costume Design at the University of California Irvine, Marcy Froehlich, explores the fundamentals of costume design by taking you behind the scenes into the drama department’s costume workshop. Showcasing detailed costume boards and dress forms, Froehlich discusses the crucial decisions behind color palettes, fabric choices, and historical influence as well as the importance of both factual research and “emotional research” around the production and the script. With an emphasis on the creation of one’s individual costume design methods, Froehlich explores a variety of artistic styles and tools in which to convey one’s designs.
Hollywood Undressed, Looking for the Golden Age Costume Designers
The doors of the mythical Hollywood studios enclose a great deal of forgotten treasures. Amongst these gems of the 7th art is the infamous white dress that Marilyn Monroe wore in "The Seven Year Itch" or Humphrey Bogart’s trench coat in “Casablanca”… These clothes carry the aura of the stars that wore them and characterize a turning point in American cinema history. But in the shadow of each legendary pieces of clothing is a formidable artist… These “costume designers” managed to turn Hollywood’s actors into figures of style and elegance but many never received due recognition for their work. This "Road Movie" follows the young French actress, Moon Dailly as she goes looking for these departed virtuosos and those who knew them in order to enlighten us on an important part of Hollywood’s history.
My West End: An Insight Into Working in Millinery
Costume Prop Maker and Milliner Liz Crossman invites us into Wandsworth Studios to discuss her role and creative process for bringing designs to life for the stage. Crossman also offers invaluable career advice, emphasising the importance of facilitating as much work experience as possible, and promotes thinking outside the box to open doors to new opportunities.
On Costume: Faye Michel
As wardrobe mistress Faye Michel is part of the costume team and works closely with the costume supervisor, dressers and actors. She discusses her work and how she began in the theatre business.
On Costume: Paula McIntosh
Behind the scenes of Private Lives another drama goes on. Head of Wardrobe Paula McIntosh chats about the tasks that she and her team carry out to ensure that there are no mishaps.
On Costume Cutting: Michal Shyne
Having worked in Theatre Clwyd's costume department for 25 years, Michal understands the importance of developing a cross-departmental raport and 'evolving' with a building and its inhabitants. Here, she discusses what initially drew her into the world of theatre costume and how a cutter negotiates between period, design, fabric, performance requirements and actors' tastes.
On Costume Supervision: Lynette Mauro
As a costume supervisor Lynette Mauro works very closely with the production designer and wardrobe team to support the creation of costume designs into clothes that characters wear on stage.
Pattern Development
Featuring Rosemary Ingham, this program teaches how to design and construct well-fitted costumes and outfits. Some directions are from "The Pattern Development Handbook" of which Rosemary Ingham and Liz Covey co-authored. It covers such topics as obtaining accurate measurements, analyzing sketches, developing paper patterns, and producing mock-ups.
Practitioners on Practice - On Costume Design: An Interview with Katrina Lindsay
Having trained at Central Saint Martin's, Katrina has created work for some of the most successful theatrical productions of the last decade, including Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Wonder.land, and Les Liaisons Dangereuses. Katrina explains how she first encountered theatre design at the end of her school days, considers the importance of forging meaningful relationships with contemporaries, and explores design as a form of storytelling.

This is a selection of physical and digital books available through UCI Libraries. Use the following subject searches in the library catalog to find other similar materials:

Basic Millinery for the Stage by Timothy Dial; Tim Dial
ISBN: 032500336X
Publication Date: 2002-07-12
*physical book*
Costume Craftwork on a Budget by Tan Huaixiang
ISBN: 9781138212695
Publication Date: 2019-07-26
*ebook*
Costume Craftwork on a Budget demonstrates how to use inexpensive materials to create durable costumes and props in a short amount of time. Fully illustrated step-by-step instructions teach readers how to use 3-D makeup and create teeth, wigs, masks, hats, nonhuman costumes, leather products, and other accessories. This new edition features updated introductions for each chapter and project, expanded chapters on 3-D Makeup, Wigs, Masks, Headdresses, and Animal Costumes, and projects from shows such as Shrek the Musical (latex ears), Orphie & the Book of Heroes (headdresses), and Side Show (a lizard costume). From creating armor out of laundry baskets to detailed tricks for creating a witch's prosthetic nose, this book equips aspiring costume designers with the techniques needed to produce costumes and props that are beautiful, economical, and safe
Costume Design by Lynn Pecktal
ISBN: 082308311X
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
*physical book*
Interviews with: Theoni V. Aldredge -- Randy Barcelo -- Zack Brown -- Patton Campbell -- Alvin Colt -- Jane Greenwood -- Desmond Heeley -- Ann Hould-Ward -- Willa Kim -- William Ivey Long -- Santo Loquasto -- Bob Mackie -- Carrie Robbins -- Ann Roth -- José Varona -- Tony Walton -- Miles White -- Patricia Zipprodt.
Costume in Motion by E. Shura Pollatsek
ISBN: 9781351258517
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
*ebook*
This is a guide to all stages of the collaboration process between costume designers and choreographers, documenting a wide range of approaches to the creation of a dance piece. Featuring interviews with a diverse selection of over 40 choreographers and designers, in-depth case studies of works by leading dance companies, and stunning original photography, the book explores the particular challenges and creative opportunities of designing for the body in motion. Filled with examples of successful collaborations in contemporary and modern dance, as well as a wide range of other styles, Costume in Motion provides costume designers and choreographers with a greater understanding of the field from the other's perspective.
Creating the Character Costume: tools, tips, and talks with top costumers and cosplayers by Cheralyn Lambeth
ISBN: 9781138816114
Publication Date: 2016-12-22
*ebook and physical copies*
Many beginning and hobbyist costumers believe that professional costume/prop builders have unlimited and specialized resources with which to ply their craft. Actually, the pros create things in much the same way that hobbyists do, working as resourcefully and creatively as possible with a limited budget. Creating the Character Costume dives into these methods to showcase how to achieve expert looks with limited means and lots of creativity.
Filmcraft by Deborah Nadoolman Landis
ISBN: 9780240818672
Publication Date: 2016-06-11
*ebook*
Actors often say they only really assume the identity of their character when they have donned the costumes painstakingly created for them by the costume designer. In this volume of the FilmCraft series of books, sixteen of the world’s leading costume designers come together to share their inspiration and knowledge with the reader. They provide insights into the challenges of envisioning a character, working with budgets, and collaborating with production designers, actors and directors. Designers featured include Academy Award winners Aggie Guerard Rodgers, Janty Yates and Lindy Hemming.
The Magic Garment: principles of costume design by Rebecca Cunningham
ISBN: 9781478638155
Publication Date: 2019-10-11
*physical book*
Understanding stage costumes -- Understanding the play -- Doing research -- The designer's tools : the elements and principles of design -- Developing the costume -- Rendering the sketch -- Choosing fabrics -- Getting the show together -- Designing for film -- Preparing for a costume design career -- Appendix I : Historical research sources -- Appendix 2 : Historical costume outline
Modernizing Costume Design, 1820-1920 by Annie Holt
ISBN: 9780429054785
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
*ebook*
Annie Holt identifies the roots of contemporary Euro-American practices of costume design, in which costumes are an integrated part of the dramaturgy rather than a reflection of an individual performer’s taste or status. She argues that in the period 1820–1920, as part of the larger project of modernism across the artistic and cultural field, the functions of "clothing" and "costume" diverged. Onstage apparel took on a more specific semiotic task, acting as a fresh channel for the flow of information between the performer, the literary text, and the spectator. Modernizing Costume Design traces how five kinds of artists – directors, performers, writers, couturiers, and painters – made key contributions to this new model of costume design.
A Working Costume Designer's Guide to Color by Jeanette deJong
ISBN: 9781351131414
Publication Date: 2021-09-16
*ebook*
Provides readers with the skills and knowledge to create coherent color schemes for costumes. Drawing on decades of experience in the costume shop, the author guides readers through every step of the process, from finding inspiration for a color scheme and successfully working with the design team to understanding how lighting design can affect costume color choices. Filled with step-by-step illustrations of how to add colors to a set of renderings and color-block samples to illustrate color theory, terminology, and usage of colors, the book covers a wide range of topics.

Performing Arts Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A good place to go to find both scholarly journals and trade magazines in the world of theater. It indexes and has full text for periodicals like:

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Contains ebooks, essays, encyclopedias, and images to allow the researcher to explore how clothing has influenced and been influenced by society. Covers a wide range of time periods and cultures.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting point for all visual arts research! This database covers all periods and media (historical and contemporary, decorative and commercial art, various areas of architecture and architectural design). It includes scholarship starting from the 1930s to the present, is international in scope.

Research & Inspiration

This is a small selection of books available from UCI Libraries. Use these as starting points to explore the collection, which has costume/clothing-oriented books scattered throughout various sections depending on their specific focus.

17th-Century Women's Dress Patterns by Jenny Tiramani (Editor); Susan North (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851776313
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
*physical book*
This innovative and breathtakingly detailed book from the V&A presents dress patterns, construction details, embroidery, and making instructions (including a knitting pattern and lacemaking) for 15 garments and accessories from a 17th-century British woman's wardrobe. Step-by-step drawings of the construction sequence and scale patterns for each garment enable readers to accurately reconstruct them. There are scale diagrams for making linen and metal thread laces, silk braids, and embroidery designs. Multiple photographs, close-up construction details, and X-ray photography reveal the hidden elements of the clothes, the number of layers, and the stitches used inside.
18th-Century Fashion in Detail (Victoria and Albert Museum) by Susan North
ISBN: 9780500292631
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
*physical book*
This book reveals the decorative seams, refined stitching, voluptuous drapery, strict corseting, slashing, and stamping that make up some of the garments in the Victoria and Albert Museum's superlative fashion collection. With an authoritative text, exquisite color photography of garment details, and line drawings showing the complete construction of each piece, the reader has the unique opportunity to examine up close historical clothing that is often too fragile to be on display.
19th-Century Fashion in Detail (Victoria and Albert Museum) by Lucy Johnston
ISBN: 9780500292648
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
*physical book*

This sumptuously illustrated book reveals the decorative seams, refined stitching, voluptuous drapery, strict corseting and slashing and stamping that make up some of the garments in the V&A's superlative 19th-century fashion collection. With an authoritative text, exquisite colour photography of garment details and line drawings showing the complete construction of each piece, it gives the reader a unique opportunity to examine historical clothing that is often too fragile to be on display.
20th-Century Fashion in Detail (Victoria and Albert Museum) by Claire Wilcox; Valerie D. Mendes
ISBN: 9780500294109
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
*physical book*

Revealing the elaborate embroidery, intricate pleats and daring cuts that make up some of the 20th century's most beautiful garments, this book explores the specific techniques used by couturiers as tastes and textile technologies evolved. Work by designers such as Mariano Fortuny, Madeleine Vionnet, Paul Poiret, Hubert de Givenchy, Mary Quant, Yves Saint Laurent and Vivienne Westwood is rediscovered, and exquisite haute-couture pieces, from sequinned Chanel trouser suits and richly embroidered Schiaparelli jackets to striking Balenciaga creations and Dior evening gowns, are examined.
1920s Fashion Design by Pepin Press Staff
ISBN: 0896762327
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
*physical book*
Lots of images from catalogs of the 1920s. Mens, womens and childrens wear. Formal, informal, undergarments and outergarments.
Bustle Fashions 1885-1887 by Frances Grimble (Editor)
ISBN: 9780963651785
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
*physical book*
This book contains practical patterns for undergarments and nightgowns; wrappers and tea gowns; bodices, skirts, and overskirts; complete ensembles for street and hose wear; and outer jackets, coats, dolmans, and cloaks. The patterns are drawn from rare original issues of the magazine The Voice of Fashion and 1885 to 1887 editions of the pattern book The National Garment Cutter.
Fashion: the collection of the Kyoto Costume Institute : a history from the 18th to the 20th century by Akiko Fukai; Kyoto Costume Institute Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 3822812064
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
*physical book*
Fashioning Fashion: European dress in detail, 1700-1915 by Sharon Sadako Takeda
ISBN: 9783791350622
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
*physical book*
Fashions of the Gilded Age by Frances Grimble (Editor)
ISBN: 9780963651754
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
*physical book*
This set contains a complete wardrobe of authentic women's styles from the late 1870s and early 1880s. This "natural form" silhouette, with its slender bodice, graceful drapery, and flowing train, is one of the most elegant of the 19th century. It is a rich pattern source for those who create period costume for theater, film, living history, reenactment, bridal wear, or dolls. It's a valuable identification and dating tool for costume historians and vintage clothing collectors.
Patterns of fashion. 4, Cut and construction of linen shirts, smocks, neckwear, headwear, etc. by Janet Arnold
ISBN: 9780333570821
*physical book*
This book contains colour portraits and photographs of details of garments, as well as patterns for 86 items of linen clothing, which range from men's shirts and women's smocks, from superb ruffs and collars to boot hose and children's stomachers.
Patterns of Men's Dress 1600-1630 by Susan North
ISBN: 9780500519059
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
*physical book*
Presents full instructions for the making of men's historical garments in a technically accurate, visually exciting, step-by-step format. The book delves into the intricate detail of the techniques involved in historical tailoring and dressmaking. Scale patterns, precise construction diagrams, an abundance of informative details, and x-ray photographs that reveal the hidden structure of each piece are accompanied by color photography of the whole garment.
Underwear: Fashion in Detail by Eleri Lynn
ISBN: 9781851777846
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
*physical book*
From camisoles to corsets, basques to boudoir caps and girdles to garters, Underwear: Fashion in Detail gets up close to some of the most intimate items in the V&A. The book traces the evolution of underwear, from rare examples dating from the sixteenth century and the exaggerated shapes of eighteenth-century courtly undergarments, to Dior's curvaceous 'New Look' girdles to contemporary lingerie by Agent Provocateur and Rigby and Peller.
Vintage Details: a fashion sourcebook by Basia Szkutnicka; Jeffrey Mayer
ISBN: 9781780677422
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
*physical book*
Vintage Details is a stunning collection of over 550 beautifully photographed details from previously unseen 20th-century vintage clothing. The images are arranged by detail: necklines; collars; sleeves; cuffs; pockets; fastenings and buttonholes; hems, darts, stitching and fitting devices; pleats, frills and flounces; embellishment; surface texture and print. Inner construction shots will also be included, along with images of the full garments providing context for the details shown.

Online Collections:

Commercial Pattern Archive * - Provides thousands of different commercial clothing patterns originally published between 1868-2000.

Vintage Patterns Wikia - Documents sewing patterns that are at least 25 years old. Can search or browse in many different categories.

UCI Libraries Books:

The Art of Fashion Draping by Connie Amaden-Crawford
ISBN: 9781501328480
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
*physical book*
Learn to drape fabric on a dress form to create your own patterns. The step-by-step instructions are organized from basic to advanced projects using both imperial and metric measurements, so you don't have to convert measurements. The book includes a wide variety of fashion styles, from bodices to bias-cut gowns. Intermediate and advanced design variations include an off-shoulder sleeve design and a peplum design. More than 1,000 two-color line drawings show you each draping step.
Bustle Fashions 1885-1887 by Frances Grimble (Editor)
ISBN: 9780963651785
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
*physical book*
This book contains practical patterns for undergarments and nightgowns; wrappers and tea gowns; bodices, skirts, and overskirts; complete ensembles for street and hose wear; and outer jackets, coats, dolmans, and cloaks. The patterns are drawn from rare original issues of the magazine The Voice of Fashion and 1885 to 1887 editions of the pattern book The National Garment Cutter.
Character Costume Figure Drawing by Tan Huaixiang
ISBN: 1315452367
Publication Date: 2017-11-27
*ebook*
This is an essential guide that will improve your drawing skills and costume renderings. Step-by-step visuals illustrate the how-tos of drawing body parts, costumes, accessories, faces, children, and different character archetypes, such as maternal, elderly, sassy, sexy, and evil. By focusing on the foundations of drawing bodies, including body proportion, bone structure, body masses, facial expressions, and appendages, this guide shows you how to develop sketches from stick figures to full-blown characters. The third edition features a new chapter, Digital Mixed Media Costume Rendering.
Corsets: historic patterns and techniques by Jill Salen
ISBN: 9780896762619
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
*physical book*
Progressing through almost two centuries of corset-making, this collection showcases a range of period pieces, from the 1750 whale-boned corsets, through the invention of the sewing machine and mass-produced corsets of the 1850s to the makeshift corsets of World War I.
Corsets and crinolines by Norah Waugh.
ISBN: 9780713407228
*physical book*
Beginning of the sixteenth century to 1670 -- 1670 to the end of the eighteenth century -- Beginning of the nineteenth century to 1925 -- The construction of corsets -- The construction of farthingales, hoop petticoats, etc. -- Supports for corsets, crinolines, etc. -- Whalebone -- Glossary.
Costume Close-Up: clothing construction and pattern, 1750-1790 by Linda Baumgarten
ISBN: 0896762262
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
*physical book*
Unveils the secrets of eighteenth-century garments in the collection of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Experts and novices alike will enjoy the engaging presentation of text, period illustrations, and modern photography. Examining stitch marks, thread remnants, and creases, the authors solve the mysteries of how clothing was made, altered, and, sometimes, even how it was laundered and stored.
The cut of men's clothes, 1600-1900 by Norah Waugh.
ISBN: 9780571085941
*physical book*
This book traces the evolution of the style of men's dress through a sequence of diagrams accurately scaled down from patterns of actual garments, many of them rare museum specimens. The plates have been selected with the same purpose. Some are photographs of suits for which diagrams have also been given; others, reproduced from paintings and old prints, show the costume complete with its accessories. Quotations from contemporary sources--from diaries, travelers' accounts and tailors' bills--supplement Norah Waugh's text with comments on fashion and lively eyewitness descriptions.
The Cut of Women's Clothes by Norah Waugh
ISBN: 9780878300266
Publication Date: 1987-01-07
*physical book*
Each period in the history of costume has produced its own characteristic line and silhouette, derived from a cut and construction which varies considerably from age to age. Here are patterns taken from actual dresses, many of them rare museum specimens, illustrated by sketches of the dresses. There are notes on the production of women's dress, with references to early technical books and journals, together with diagrams from some of them. Numerous illustrations show the dresses as worn complete with their hairstyles, jewelry, decorations and accessories
Designing Apparel Through the Flat Pattern by Ernestine Kopp; Lee Gross; Vittorina Rolfo; Beatrice Zelin
ISBN: 0870057375
Publication Date: 1991-08-23
*physical book*
Digital Pattern Cutting for Fashion with Lectra Modaris® by Patricia Grice
ISBN: 9781350065123
Publication Date: 2019-01-24
*physical book*
Design your own original 2D patterns and use 3D prototyping to test your designs, achieve the perfect fit and make quick alterations. Pattern Cutting For Fashion with Lectra Modaris® will guide you from the basics of pattern modification through to 3D realisation, alteration and visual effects, as well as the completion of a finished production pattern. By viewing your garment in a virtual environment first, you will also be able to make design, colour, print and fabric decisions prior to to making.
Draping: techniques for beginners by Francesca Sterlacci; Barbara Arata-Gavere (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786271761
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
*physical book*
Draping is the art of manipulating fabric directly on the dress form. It is the most creative way for a fashion designer to turn ideas into three dimensions. Those who are new to draping start with a series of blocks, or slopers. Learn the basics in a series of lessons, from how to prepare muslin (calico) to draping skirts and dresses
Men's Tailoring: bespoke, theatrical and historical tailoring 1830-1950 by Graham Cottenden
ISBN: 9780429442414
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
*ebook*
Introduces the reader to English tailoring and covers the drafting of patterns, cutting out in cloth, and the complete traditional construction techniques in sequence for the tailoring of a waistcoat, trousers and jacket. The book contains: step-by-step instructions, complete with illustrations, for students and costumiers who are new to the making of male tailored garments from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
The pattern development handbook by Rosemary Ingham and Liz Covey
*physical book*
Pattern Magic 1 by Tomoko Nakamichi
ISBN: 9781856697057
Publication Date: 2010-10-06
*physical book*
Pattern Magic 2 by Tomoko Nakamichi
ISBN: 9781856697064
Publication Date: 2011-02-16
*physical book*

Presents step-by-step instructions on creating patterns for a variety of sculptural garments.
Pattern Magic 3 by Tomoko Nakamichi
ISBN: 9781780676944
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
*physical book*
Pattern Magic: stretch fabrics by Tomoko Nakamichi
ISBN: 9781856698276
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
*physical book*
Taking inspiration from nature, from geometric shapes and from the street, this book harnesses the sheer joy of making and sculpting clothes. It takes a creative approach to pattern cutting, with step-by-step projects for fashion designers and dressmakers to enjoy. Presents step-by-step instructions and patterns for sculptural garments using stretch and jersey fabric.
Patterns of Men's Dress 1600-1630 by Susan North
ISBN: 9780500519059
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
*physical book*
Presents full instructions for the making of men's historical garments in a technically accurate, visually exciting, step-by-step format. The book delves into the intricate detail of the techniques involved in historical tailoring and dressmaking. Scale patterns, precise construction diagrams, an abundance of informative details, and x-ray photographs that reveal the hidden structure of each piece are accompanied by color photography of the whole garment.

Online Collections:

Berg Fashion Library * - Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Content includes bibliographic guides, the Berg Encyclopedia, e-books, and thousands of high quality of fashion images from many different cultures and time periods.

Europeana: Fashion - Browse and search over 700,000 images of clothing from European museums and libraries. Items are from many different time periods, but do tend to focus on 20th and 21st centuries. Generally European focus.

FIDM Museum & Galleries - Browse and search several thousand of the items from this collection. Time range is 18th century to the present.

Met Museum: Costume Institute - Browse over 30,000 images of clothing and accessories from many different geographic locations, cultures, and time periods.

National Museum of African American History & Culture: Clothing - Browse several hundred online items from the Smithsonian focused on the clothing of African Americans. Primarily covers the 20th and 21st centuries, but also includes some items from as far back as the 16th century.

UCI Libraries Books:

50 Designers/50 Costumes: concept to character by Jeffrey Kurland; Deborah Nadoolman Landis; Judianna Makovsky
ISBN: 9780942102468
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
*physical book*
The field of costume design comes to life in this beautiful soft-cover catalogue representing the work of fifty of the top costume designers working today. Each designer is represented by a full-color two-page spread featuring an insightful first-person commentary that explores the challenges that he or she faced on one recent film project, and how a particular costume resulted from this intensive design process. Each layout also contains the original sketch for that costume and a film still of the costume as it was ultimately worn by the actor on film.
Broadway and Hollywood by Irene Sharaff
ISBN: 0442275277
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
*physical book*
In a Glamorous Fashion: the fabulous years of Hollywood costume design by Paul La Vine
ISBN: 0684166100
Publication Date: 1980-09-01
*physical book*
National Geographic Fashion by Cathy Newman
ISBN: 0792264169
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
*physical book*
Spangles, Feathers and Flesh by Jane Merrill
ISBN: 9781476671741
Publication Date: 2018-12-03
*physical book*
Fashion is synonymous with change yet the iconic showgirl costume has remained largely unchanged since the early 20th century. Beginning in the 1800s, a couture of the risqué evolved from Paris nightclubs to Las Vegas casinos. The concept of glamour itself was in large part based on what Parisian courtesans and burlesque performers wore
Traditional Chinese Textile Designs in Full Color by Northeast Drama Institute Staff; Lu Hua (Illustrator); Ma Chiang (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0486239799
Publication Date: 1980-05-01
*physical book*
A new selection of plates from the portfolio, Designs on Chinese opera costumes, edited by the Research Studio of the Northeast Drama Institute, designs reproduced by Lu Hua and Ma Chiang, as published by the People's Art Publishing House, Peking, in 1957
Walk this way : footwear from the Stuart Weitzman collection of historic shoes by Edward Maeder; Stuart Weitzman (Contribution by); Valerie Paley (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781911282143
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
*physical book*
Lavishly illustrated with one hundred color photographs from the Stuart Weitzman Collection, this new volume explores the impact of twentieth-century design and culture on the evolution of women's shoes from 1870-1980. It is a must-have for all shoe fans.
William Ivey Long: costume designs 2007-2016 by Rebecca Elliot; Annie Carlano (Editor); Peter Marks
ISBN: 9780300229387
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
*physical book*
The catalogue of an exhibition of the costume designs of the award-winning American designer, William Ivey Long featuring his work for stage and screen from 2007-2016
World Dress Fashion in Detail by Rosemary Crill; Jennifer Wearden; Verity Wilson
ISBN: 9781851775682
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
*physical book*
Showcases a fabulous array of garments from the V & A's incomparable dress collection. It brings together some 150 garments from East and West, from the tropics to the Arctic circle, from the plains of India to the mountain ranges of Montenegro. Many of the garments illustrated here were made for festivals, weddings and other ceremonies, and they display a breathtaking richness of detail - rows of ornamental buttons, embroidered borders, intricate pleating and stitching, flamboyant fringes and tassels - that makes them a source of inspiration for many of today's top designers.