Drama

When building a corset, think of it as a blank canvas. From there you can structure it and add as many embellishments as you please. This title also covers various steps, including how to make a modesty panel, to build single layer, double layer, and fashion fabric corsets, offering an advice on how to fit and style a corset

Volume almost exclusively concentrates on 19th century. Very well documented writing with a plethora of images copied from original sources (i.e., not just the author's own sketches). Amazing bibliography for tracking down more information on the topic.

Excellent overview primarily focused on 19th and 20th centuries, but with well written introduction to earlier history. Wonderful pictures, particularly a large amount of advertisements.

Progressing through almost two centuries of corset-making, this collection showcases a range of period pieces, from the 1750 whale-boned corsets, through the invention of the sewing machine and mass-produced corsets of the 1850s to the makeshift corsets of World War I.

Have you ever wondered why we wear the type of clothes we do? Packed with outlandish outfits, this exciting history of British fashion trends reveals the flamboyant fashions adopted (and discarded) by our ancestors.

Notable for primarily bringing together quotations from original primary sources that discuss and mention corsets and other understructures. Excellent source for finding primary sources.

Newer book by same author of previous book. Similar content, but more in depth coverage, particularly of mid-late 20th century styles.

Covers the history of underwear from 3000BC to 1971. Majority of volume focuses on 1790-1939. Large amount of illustrations along with some early advertisements.

Fairly standard historical overview. Tends to give a bit more information about pre-19th century than other volumes. Particularly helpful is a separate bibliography of illustration sources, which can be used to track down other similar pictures.

In this book, Pamela Powell takes a very practical approach, showing how to design and construct lingerie, sleepwear and foundation garments.

How to use this book -- Guidance on the pattern drafting process -- Finding and using the measurements for your historical pattern -- Pattern drafting tools -- Female measurements -- Female measurement form -- Female measurement guide -- female measurement table -- The female basic block pattern -- Female basic block instructions -- Preparing the female basic block for your historic pattern -- Historical patterns

In this second volume of Stays and Corsets, Mandy Barrington continues to create historical patterns for a modern body shape. This book contains all new corset patterns with a range of silhouettes that span over 300 years, from the late 16th century to the early 20th century.

ENORMOUS database of art from museums and educational institutes all over the world. Browse by time period, type of art (fashion, photographs, paintings, etc.), location, or search for specific images.

Online fashion and clothing encyclopedia. Provides both historical context as well as a plethora of pictures. Great starting point to learning about a new topic!!

Database of commercial clothing patterns from late 19th century to present. It might be easiest to browse various patterns by searching the "Garment" type in the search screen. Predetermined selections include: Bodice, Bras, Chemise/Undershirt, Corsets, Corset covers, etc.

Photography book of an underwear exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. High quality photos show excellent clothing details.

How to use this book -- Guidance on the pattern drafting process -- Finding and using the measurements for your historical pattern -- Pattern drafting tools -- Female measurements -- Female measurement form -- Female measurement guide -- female measurement table -- The female basic block pattern -- Female basic block instructions -- Preparing the female basic block for your historic pattern -- Historical patterns

Amazingly indexed full color scans of the entire run of Vogue (US) beginning in 1892. You can find some wonderful ads in here!