Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Lighting Design

Starting points for research in drama
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

ABOUT Lighting Design

This is a selection of physical and digital books available through UCI Libraries. Use the following subject searches in the library catalog to find other similar materials:

Performing Arts Periodicals * is a good place to go to find both scholarly journals and trade magazines in the world of theater. It indexes and has full text for periodicals like:

Art & Architecture Source * is a good database covering a wide variety of visual art literature. There's quite a bit that covers lighting design in many different contexts: theatre, entertainment industry, industrial design, home design, etc.

IEEE Xplore is a great resource for researching the technology side of lighting design. It provides access to the materials of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. 

 

Inspiration

Lighting Design in Action & Archives

The Lighting Archive is a digital repository of original lighting design documents, such as plots, focus charts, and cue sheets. It includes things like the light plot for David Hersey's 1985 Barbican Theatre design for Les Mis. It includes archives from the genres of dance, opera, and theatre.

Theatrical Lighting Database is a co-sponsored resource by New York Public Library and The Lighting Archive. This is a fairly small resource, but it includes many of the lighting documents (plots, magic sheets, spot cues, etc.) alongside streaming interviews with the lighting designers themselves.

Effective Lighting - a playlist of archival recordings from Jacob's Pillow Dance concerts that draws upon performances in which lighting played a major role. Includes designs by Jennifer Tipton, Beverly Emmons, Tom Skelton, Mark Stanley, and others.

Images

Artstor * is a digital library with over one million images. Images are keyword searchable or can be browsed by geographic area, classification (e.g., decorative object, painting, fashion, etc.), and date. Majority of images tend to come from museum collections.

Digital Public Library of America - Cross searches many of the publicly available materials that have been digitized by libraries in the United States. You might be amazed by the some of the small town finds you find here... Definitely a great resource for finding historical photography from many different locations.

Smithsonian Art Collections lets you search millions of images of materials from the vast Smithsonian collections. Make sure you check out the many different limiters on the left side of the screen that let you narrow your search down more easily.

Color and Light