Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Home

Starting points for research in drama
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

NEW E-RESOURCES

Dive into these new electronic resources during Spring 2021!

4,811 Yay Or Nay Illustrations & Clip Art - iStock

  • Black Drama, 3rd ed. – This online resource provides full text for over 1,700 plays authored by playwrights from the English-speaking African diaspora. More than 40% of the collection has not been published elsewhere. We previously had access to the 2nd ed.; this newest edition expands the content with several hundred additional plays, so if you’re already familiar with this database please check back in on the new content.
  • Latin American Drama – This online resources provides full text for almost 600 plays written by Latin American playwrights from the 19th-21st centuries. Includes varying plays in both Spanish and English.
  • Critical Studies and Performance Practice -  This valuable ebook collection is part of Bloomsbury’s Drama Online platform. It includes more than 400 books—all published by Methuen Drama or Arden Shakespeare—primarily focused on Theatre Craft (including many different disciplines like acting, design, stage management, improvisation, and dramaturgy) and Context/Criticism. Also included in this collection is a unique “visual dictionary” (streaming video clips) for physical actor training, titled PATAZ. Topics include concepts like Alignment, Breath, Questioning, Rhythm, etc.
  • Patsy Rodenburg’s workshop, “Shakespeare in the Present” – Six hour streaming video of acclaimed master technician Patsy Rodenburg working with actors on Movement, Speech, Body, and Vocal Warmups.

Essential Drama Resources

Welcome to UCI's Drama Research Guide! This guide will help you find and select the best resources for all your drama research needs. Navigate the guide using the tabs at the top of this page. Have a question? Ask me!

 

***Please make sure to check the Accessing Resources page for the most up-to-date information on how to connect to our electronic resources and how to access our physical collections while our physical buildings are closed due to the pandemic.***

PLAYS

Image result for TAGPACKER

Tagpacker. Browsing for plays to read can be difficult. This homegrown site lists most of the plays added to the UCI Libraries since 2010. You can sort the plays by number of cast (including gender); playwright demographics like ethnicity, sexuality, nationality, and gender; major themes, etc. Each play listing includes a summary of the play, a link to the library's record, and a link to the Google Book preview if available. More information about locating specific plays or accessing our many online play databases are on the Online Plays page.

 

RESEARCH ARTICLES

Image result for proquestPerforming Arts Periodicals * primarily covers the areas of drama, dance, and film. It's especially good for locating performance, book, and recordings reviews; obituaries; and popular news articles. Scholarly articles from main publications are also available.

 

 

WATCH

Image result for digital theatre plusDigital Theatre Plus * provides streaming video of many different plays that have been produced on the contemporary British stage, interviews with professional practitioners, study guides for select classic masterworks, pedagogical guides for use in both the classroom and the rehearsal, a growing encyclopedia of factual information to help you better understand the history and social context behind the plays, and many more things (ever want to read manga versions of Shakespeare?)!

 

CONNECT

VPN If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are three different methods: Software, Web, and Mobile. Software takes a little more time to setup the first time, but it works with all resources. Web is known to not work well with many of the streaming media resources.

Performing Arts Librarian

Scott Stone's picture
Scott Stone
Contact:
Langson Library 464

stonesm@uci.edu
Subjects:Arts

Ask a Librarian

blue Ask a Librarian icon