Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Black Playwrights

Starting points for research in drama
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

Tagpacker

Image result for TAGPACKER

Tagpacker. Browsing for plays to read can be difficult. This homegrown site lists most of the plays added to the UCI Libraries since 2010. You can sort the plays by number of cast (including gender); playwright demographics like ethnicity, sexuality, nationality, and gender; major themes, etc. Each play listing includes a summary of the play, a link to the library's record, and a link to the Google Book preview if available. More information about locating specific plays or accessing our many online play databases are on the Online Plays page.

Playwrights and Theatres

(Selected) American Theatres:

More comprehensive list available here: https://blacktheatrematters.org/black-theatre-companies/

Library Resources

Black Drama 1850-present (Second Edition) * contains the full text for over 1,600 plays written from the mid-19th century to the present by more than 200 English speaking playwrights of African descent. Includes basic facts about each play as well such as first known production, production history, author biographical details, etc.

New Play Exchange * is a database that allows you to search for and discover plays using discrete indexing terms for facets like playwright demographics, cast information, themes, etc. Not only does it help you discover playwrights and plays (generally unpublished), but it also has full text for some plays.

North American Women's Drama * contains over 1,500 plays and related information such as playbills, production photographs, and ephemera.