Research Guides: Asian Studies: Writing East Asia

Gale eBooks

UC Library Search

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Search JSTOR

Journals, primary sources, and now BOOKS

Duxiu

CiNii

RISS

Connect from off campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Useful Subject Guide Links

Research Librarian For Asian Studies

Ying Zhang

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

English-Chinese translation - its history and issues of fidelity

"Chinese English"
Translation
Fidelity (cultural, political, psychological...)

MLA International Bibliography

Tian, Xujun. “Translators as Mediators to Mend the Psychological Gap between Source Text and Target Text: A Corpus-Based Study on the Chinese English Translation of Modal Verbs in the Chinese Report on the Work of the Government (2000–2022).” PLoS ONE, vol. 20, no. 3, Mar. 2025, pp. 1–14.

Culture Specific Items in Chinese to English Video Game Translation: TRANSMEDIALITY AND INTERACTIVIT by Dariush Robertson
Publication Date: 2025-05-13

This monograph provides groundbreaking insight into authentic practice and analyses a case study with theories from both translation studies and sociology to address questions such as how linguists translate CSIs, why they use certain approaches, and what is revealed when both the translation behaviour and the reasons underpinning their practice are considered in context.
Children's Literature and Transnational Knowledge in Modern China by Shih-Wen Sue Chen
Publication Date: 2019-05-08

Drawing from a rich archive of periodicals, novels, tracts, primers, and textbooks, the author analyzes how Chinese children's literature published by Protestant missionaries and Chinese educators in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries presented varying notions of childhood...Through its contributions to the fields of children's literature, book history, missionary history, and translation studies, it enhances our understanding of the negotiations between Chinese and Western cultures that shaped the publication and reception of Chinese texts for children.
Translating Culture : Late-Victorian Literature into Chinese by Isaac Yue
Call Number: Langson Library ; P306.8.C6 Y84 2015

Attempts to look at how the notion of culture convolutes this predominantly language-based practice and considers its implication on a text's "untranslatability."
Translation and Cross-Cultural Communication Studies in the Asia Pacific by Leong Ko & Ping Chen (eds.)
Publication Date: 2015

provides a comprehensive and in-depth account of various issues encountered in translation and interpreting activities and cross-cultural communication in the Asia Pacific.
Transnationalism and Translation in Modern Chinese, English, French and Japanese Literatures by Ryan Johnson
Publication Date: 2020-12-15

Drawing on the latest work in philosophical logic and analytic Asian philosophy, this monograph proposes a new model of literary worlds that is best suited to comparative literature dealing with Western and East Asian traditions.
文化翻譯與文本脈絡 : 晚明以降的中國, 日本與西方 = Cultural translation and textual context : China, Japan, and the West since the late Ming by 彭小妍 & 李歐梵
Call Number: Langson Library East Asian Collection ; PN241.5.C6 W46 2013

Publication Date: 2013

Papers included: 林紓與哈葛德 : 翻譯的文化政治 / 李歐梵; 瞿秋白 : 翻譯理論與語言共同體 : 尋找一個「中國讀者」/ 費南; 細讀《傅雷家書》 : 文化脈絡, 國家領導權, 與譯者的困境 / 傅朗 -- 冷戰時代的美國文學中譯 : 今日世界出版社之文學翻譯與文化政治 / 單德興 , and more

Chinese Generation Z women —Work & Family

generation Z, Gen Z, centennials, iGeneration, iGen, post-millennials, zoomer, 90后,00后...
women, female...(pregnancy, maternity, motherhood)
work, workplace, career, occupation, employment..

Women's Studies International
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.
Business Source Complete
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
5 simultaneous users allowed at one time. If unable to access, please try again later.
Urban Studies Abstracts
GenderWatch
WiseNews 慧科资讯

Ho, Wing Shan. “Chinese Supermom: Re-Domesticating Women in Reality TV Shows.” Feminist Media Studies, vol. 22, no. 7, Nov. 2022, pp. 1801–16.

China’s Low Fertility and the Impacts of the Two-Child Policy by Wei Chen
Publication Date: 2024

an essential read to students and scholars of Chinese studies, population and demography studies, and those interested in contemporary China
Crossing boundaries & confounding identity : Chinese women in literature, art, and film by Cheryl C.D. Hughes (ed)
Publication Date: 2023

"Examines literary, historical, and cultural portrayals of Chinese women, across centuries and continents"
Equality and Anti-Discrimination by Liu Xiaonan (Editor); Wang Liwan (Editor)
Call Number: Law Library Stacks (1st floor) ; KNQ2465 .E68 2022

Publication Date: 2021-11-04

include a chapter: employment fraudulence vs. employment discrimination a case study on secretive marriage, pregnancy or childbirth / He Xia
Sociology of Chinese Youth by Su, Liang, and Laurence Roulleau-Berger
Publication Date: 2022

examines the effects of internal migration, education, family dynamics, urban life, labor markets, and digital engagement on young Chinese individuals. The work highlights the complexities of social mobility, identity formation, and the pressures of modernity faced by post-1980 generations, including post-80s, post-90s, and post-00s cohorts. It discusses how these youths navigate issues of inequality, digital divides, and the dual family model amidst evolving societal expectations.
Women and China's Revolutions by Gail Hershatter
Call Number: Langson Library ; HQ1767 .H46 2019

Publication Date: 2018-09-04

If we place women at the center of our account of China's last two centuries, how does this change our understanding of what happened? This deeply knowledgeable book illuminates the places where the Big History of recognizable events intersects with the daily lives of ordinary people, using gender as its analytic lens.

Japanese Otaku culture and international perception

otaku, anime, manga, video games, cosplay, j-pop, pop culture, オタク...
International, world, global...

Kovacic, Mateja. “Hong Kong’s Anime: A Cultural History of Anime in Hong Kong’s Last Decade.” Journal of Anime & Manga Studies (JAMS), vol. 5, Jan. 2024, pp. 75–112.

Hernández-Pérez, Manuel. “Otaku Tourists out of Japan: Fictionality, Shared Memories, and the Role of National Branding in the Japanese Pilgrimages of Anime Fans in the United Kingdom.” Journal of Popular Culture , vol. 52, no. 6, Dec. 2019, pp. 1512–35.

Cosplay : the fictional mode of existence by Frenchy Lunning
Publication Date: 2022-03-15

An exploration of cosplay and its relationship with the realms of its global fandom, performance, and the modes of fictional existence Flourishing far beyond its Japanese roots, cosplay has become an international phenomenon with fervid fans who gather at enormous, worldwide conventions annually. Here, author Frenchy Lunning offers an intimate, sensational tour through cosplay's past and present, as well as its global lure.
Japanese Visual Culture: explorations in the world of manga and anime by Mark W. MacWilliams
Call Number: Langson Library ; NC1764.5.J3 J37 2008

Publication Date: 2014-12-18

This volume brings together an international group of scholars from many specialties to probe the richness and subtleties of these deceptively simple cultural forms. The contributors explore the historical, cultural, sociological, and religious dimensions of manga and anime, and examine specific sub-genres, artists, and stylistics. The book also addresses such topics as spirituality, the use of visual culture by Japanese new religious movements, Japanese Goth, nostalgia and Japanese pop, "cute" (kawali) subculture and comics for girls, and more.
The Representation of Japanese Politics in Manga: the visual literacy of statecraft by Roman Rosenbaum (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-10-29

This edited volume explores political motives, discourses and agendas in Japanese manga and graphic art with the objective of highlighting the agency of Japanese and wider Asian story-telling traditions within the context of global political traditions
Eco-Disasters in Japanese Cinema by Rachel DiNitto (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; PN1993.5.J3 E355 2024

Publication Date: 2024-09-17

In the first volume dedicated to a multi-genre analysis of environmental themes in Japanese cinema is a chapter "Miyazaki Hayao's Eco-Disasters in Japanese Cinema: Rereading Nausica".
The Courteous Power : Japan and Southeast Asia in the Indo-Pacific era by John D. Ciorciari (Editor); Kiyoteru Tsutsui (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; DS525.9.J3 C68 2021

Publication Date: 2021-11-08

Has several chapters, including Revisiting "Cool Japan": The Southeast Asian Gaze toward Japanese Manga and Anime -- What Is Soft Power? -- "Look to Japan" -- FANtasizing Japan -- Hijab Cosplay in Indonesia -- Duterte Manga/Anime -- Doraemon Tofu
週刋少年マガジン (1959-1995) by 東京 : 講談社
Call Number: EAC PN 6790 J3 S48

Publication Date: 昭和34 [1959-]

a very popular Japanese manga magazine

Taeko Kono's depiction of women's unconventional sexual desire

sex desire, sex drive, sexual urge, libido, lust...
women, female
Taeko Kono 河野多惠子 (literature, novel, fiction...)

Women's Studies International
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.
GenderWatch
MLA International Bibliography

Bullock, Julia C. “Eroticizing the Other Woman: What Queer Theory Can(Not) Tell Us About Japanese Women’s Writing.” PAJLS: Proceedings of the Association for Japanese Literary Studies, vol. 9, 2008, pp. 110–16.

The Other Women's Lib : gender and body in Japanese women's fiction by Julia C. Bullock
Call Number: Langson Library ; PL747.82.W64 B85 2010

Publication Date: 2010-04-30

provides the first systematic analysis of Japanese literary feminist discourse of the 1960s--a full decade before the "women's lib" movement emerged in Japan. It highlights the work of three well-known female fiction writers of this generation (Kono Taeko, Takahashi Takako, and Kurahashi Yumiko) for their avant-garde literary challenges to dominant models of femininity.
The Woman's Hand: gender and theory in Japanese women's writing by Paul Gordon Schalow (Editor); Janet A. Walker (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; PL725 .W67 1996

Publication Date: 1996-10-01

Thirteen essays in the volume are divided into four parts. Part I locates women writers within Japanese literary history; Part II shows ways in which modern women writers have "written the body" in Japan; Part III gives examples of tropes and genres used to write about female experience; and Part IV depicts how gender intersects with other social and cultural contexts in Japanese women's writing.
Resisting sadomasochism in Kono Taeko by Chizuko Uema
Publication Date: 1998

A doctoral dissertation from the University of Oregon about Kono's sadomasochistic elements in her fictive creations that enable her to "express her own frustrations as a woman and a female writer in post-war Japan."
Narratives of sexuality and embodiment: Performative identities and abject agency in contemporary fiction and poetry by Japanese women writers by Joanne Quimby
Publication Date: 2010

One chapter in this dissertation (Indiana University) on the short stories of K ono Taeko discusses Kono’s focus on female sexuality, in particular masochistic desire, and takes up questions of abjection, masochistic agency, and performative masochism that can be traced in Kono’s stories.
Fantasies of Cross-Dressing: Japanese Women Write Male-Male Erotica by Kazumi Nagaike
Publication Date: 2012-05-03

This book represents the first extensive critical attempt to examine Japanese women's narratives of male homosexuality/homoeroticism, addressing not only popular culture genres, but also the considerable body of critically acclaimed literary works (with English translations of the original works). The result is an in-depth analysis of the ways in which female fantasies of male homosexuality/homoeroticism may be composed, acknowledged, and interrogated.
河野多惠子全集 by 河野多惠子
Call Number: Langson Library East Asian Collection ; PL855 .O44 1994

Publication Date: 1994-95

The complete works of Taeko Kono in 10 volumes.

Esoteric Shinto

shinto, kami, 神道
esoteric, mysterious, mystical

ATLA Religion Database

Rambelli, Fabio. “Gagaku in Medieval Japanese Religion.” Religions, vol. 13, no. 7, July 2022,

Shinto in History : ways of the kami by John Breen (Editor); Mark Teeuwen (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; BL2218 . S526 2000

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

The essays in this volume cover a wide range of topics on Shinto and kami in history, including the profound formative influence of Taoism on Shinto in early Japan; the relationship between shrine cults and nature; and the role of shrine and temple ritual in the Japanese state of the Heian period.
The Origin of Modern Shinto in Japan : the vanquished gods of Izumo by Yijiang Zhong
Publication Date: 2016-10-06

Analyses the formation of Shinto as a complex and diverse religious tradition in early modern and Meiji Japan, 1600-1868 and highlights the role of the god Okuninushi and the mythology centered on the Izumo Shrine in western Japan as part of this process.
The Sea and the Sacred in Japan : aspects of maritime religion by Fabio Rambelli (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; BL2211.O24 S43 2018

Publication Date: 2018-07-12

the first book to focus on the role of the sea in Japanese religions. While many leading Shinto deities tend to be understood today as unrelated to the sea, and mountains are considered the privileged sites of sacredness, this book provides new ways to understand Japanese religious culture and history.
Contacts between cultures, v 3: Eastern Asia: literature & humanities by Bernard H. Luk (Editor); Barry D. Steben (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; DS1.5 .I55 1990

Publication Date: 1993-01-01

Includes one paper entitled Chinese themes in the sculptural programmes of Shinto shrines of the Edo period.
The Essence of Shinto : Japan's spiritual heart by Motohisa Yamakage
Call Number: Langson Library ; BL2221 .Y355613 2006

Publication Date: 2007-05-01

The English translation of 神道の神秘 discusses the character and practices of Shinto.
神道文化の現代的役割 : 地域再生・メディア・災害復興 by 黒崎浩行
Call Number: Langson Library East Asian Collection ; BL2224 .K87 2019

Publication Date: 2019

Discusses social roles of Shintoism in regional revitalization, mass media, and disaster recovery.

Kendo and Samurai Culture

kendo, 剣道, martial arts
samurai, worrier, 侍

Historical Abstracts
MLA International Bibliography
Film Index International
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Full text of core scholarly and trade journals in Drama and Dance disciplines.

Chan, Stephen. “The Construction and Export of Culture as Artefact: The Case of Japanese Martial Arts.” Body & Society, vol. 6, no. 1, Mar. 2000, p. 69.

Dawson-Cook, Susan. “THE WAY OF THE Samurai.” American Fitness, vol. 27, no. 1, Jan. 2009, pp. 50–51.

Secrets of the Samurai by Oscar Ratti; A. Westbrook
Call Number: Science Library ; U43.J3 R37

Publication Date: 1973-09-01

Examines the Japanese samurai and their Bujutsu warrior culture including both armed and unarmed combat. Among the latter combat forms are Kyuijutsu, Kenjutsu, Sumo, Jujutsu, Kiaijutsu, Judo, Karate, and Aikido.
The Lone Samurai and the Martial Arts by Stephen Turnbull
Call Number: Langson Library ; DS827.S3 T873 1990

Publication Date: 1990-05-01

This book veers from the traditional how-to direction of martial arts books, focusing instead on the martial arts as an integral part of Japanese cultural and military history. Specifically, it deals with the legacy of the samurai
Directory of World Cinema: Japan 2 by John Berra (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Among the additions to this volume are in-depth treatments of two previously unexplored genres - youth cinema and films depicting lower-class settings - considered alongside discussions of popular narrative forms, including J-Horror, samurai cinema, anime and the Japanese New Wave.
Sword of Zen : Master Takuan and his writings on immovable wisdom and the sword Taie by Peter Haskel (Translator)
Call Number: Langson Library ; BQ9399.T337 H37 2013

ISBN: 9780824835439

Publication Date: 2012-10-25

this book includes an introduction to Takuan's distinctive approach to Zen and swordsmanship. It also offers an accessible overview of the actual role of the sword in Takuan's day.
Kendo : culture of the sword by Alexander C. Bennett
Publication Date: 2015-07-31

Included in this first in-depth historical, cultural, and political account in English of the Japanese martial art of swordsmanship is a chapter on the fall and rise of samurai culture.
Kendo: its philosophy, history, and means to personal growth by Minoru Kiyota
Call Number: Langson Library East Asian Collection ; GV1142 .K59 1995

Publication Date: 1995-01-07

This book focuses on kendo's philosophical infrastructure, its history and its potential contributions to personal growth. The purpose of this work is to describe the discipline of swordsmanship cultivated by the samurai in medieval and premodern Japan and to show the relevance of that discipline today.
修羅 by 松本俊夫
Call Number: Science Library Media ; PN1997 .S5847 2004

Publication Date: 2004

A cinematic representation of a stark, desperate tale of vengeance, Shura examines the plight of Gengobe, a ronin (samurai without Master), and his quest to right the wrongs done unto him.

• Modern Korean identity (han) and its connection to spirituality

identity, sentiment, hatred, sorrow, 한의 정서, 한 恨
spirituality, religion

Ro, Young-chan. “Spirituality, Spontaneity, and Moral Charisma in Korean Confucianism.” Journal of Korean Religions , vol. 9, no. 2, Oct. 2018, pp. 55–82.

Korean Spirituality by Don Baker
Call Number: Langson Library ; BL2230 .B35 2008

Publication Date: 2008-04-01

The author adopts a broad approach that distinguishes the different roles that folk religion, Buddhism, Confucianism, Christianity, and indigenous new religions have played in Korea in the past and continue to play in the present while identifying commonalities behind that diversity to illuminate the distinctive nature of spirituality on the Korean peninsula.
Spirit Power : Politics and Religion in Korea's American Centur by Heonik Kwon
Publication Date: 2022

Explores the manifestation of the American Century in Korean history with a focus on religious culture.
새 천년 한국인 의 정체성 : 제 11회 한국학 국제 학술 회의 논문집 = Korean identity in the new millenium : proceedings of the 11th International Conference on Korean Studies
Call Number: Langson Library East Asian Collection ; DS901.6 .I56 2001

Publication Date: 2001

Includes many papers on Korean identity and spirituality, such as "The folklorization of the shamanistic heritage in contemporary Korea: folklore, national identity and Korean shamanism" (259-274) and "In search of a new Buddhist identity in colonial Korea: Han Yongun's ideas of Buddhist reform" (325-340)
Christianity in Korea by Robert E. Buswell (Editor); Timothy S. Lee (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; BR1325 .C525 2006

Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Has several relevant chapters, such as "The division and reunification of a nation: theological reflections on the destiny of the Korean people" (258-279)
Human acts : a novel by Han, Kang
Call Number: Langson Library ; PL992.26.K36 S6613 2016

Publication Date: 2016

A novel by Han Kang, the 2024 Nobel Literature Winner about the Gwangju Uprising. In a sequence of interconnected chapters, the victims and the bereaved encounter censorship, denial, forgiveness and the echoing agony of the original trauma.
서편제 by 임권택
Call Number: Science Library Media ; PN1997.2 .S6736 2006

Publication Date: 2006

A sad and touching movie about P'ansori 판소리.

Women and the drinking culture in South Korea

Drinking, social drinking, Alcoholism, 음주, 사회 생활
Women, Female, 여성

Women's Studies International
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
5 simultaneous users allowed at one time. If unable to access, please try again later.
GenderWatch
Sociological Abstracts
PsycINFO

Lee, Soo-Bi, et al. “A Longitudinal Analysis on Determinants of Problem Drinking among Korean Women: Focusing on a Gender Perspective.” Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention & Policy, vol. 17, no. 1, July 2022, pp. 1–10.

A Linguistic Image of Womanhood in South Korea by Jieun Kiaer; Jiyoung Shin
Publication Date: 2022-12-30

examines the verbal and non-verbal techniques used by contemporary South Korean women to navigate their society.
Korean Wines and Spirits : drinks that warm the soul by Robert Koehler
Call Number: Science Library ; TP534.K6 K67 2014

Publication Date: 2015-04-30

This volume looks at the history of alcohol's place in Korean culture as social practice, medicine, and sacred rites.
East Asian Sexualities : modernity, gender and new sexual cultures by Stevi Jackson (Editor); Jieyu Liu (Editor); Juhyun Woo (Editor)
Call Number: Langson Library ; HQ1075.5.A785 E27 2008

ISBN: 9781842778890

Publication Date: 2008-10-01

Included in the book is this chapter entitled The office party: corporate sexual culture and sexual harassment in the South Korean workplace (pp.69-84), which touches upon the social drinking topic.
If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha
Publication Date: 2021-04-13

A riveting debut novel set in contemporary Seoul, Korea, about four young women making their way in a world defined by impossible standards of beauty, after-hours room salons catering to wealthy men, ruthless social hierarchies, and K-pop mania...
82년생 김지영 by 김도영
Call Number: Science Library Check Out Desk(Reserves) ; PN1997.2 A155 2021

Publication Date: 2021

enters on a housewife who becomes a stay-at-home mother and later suffers from depression. Depicts the everyday sexism the title character has experienced since her youth.

BTS and the Hallyu Wave

BTS, Bangtan Sonyeondan, Bangtan Boys, Kpop, 방탄소년단
Hallyu, Korean wave, 한류, 韓流

Lynch, Kimery S. “Fans as Transcultural Gatekeepers: The Hierarchy of BTS’ Anglophone Reddit Fandom and the Digital East-West Media Flow.” New Media & Society, vol. 24, no. 1, Jan. 2022, pp. 105–21.

Sociolinguistics of the Korean wave : hallyu and soft power by Nora Samosir and Lionel Wee
Publication Date: 2024

Given the South Korean government's involvement in providing funding and publicity, the Korean Wave raises interesting sociolinguistic questions about the relationship between artistry and citizenship, the use of social media in facilitating the consumption of cultural products and, ultimately, the nature of soft power itself. Studies of soft power have tended to come from the field of international relations. This book shows that sociolinguistics actually has a number of tools in its conceptual arsenal - such as indexicality, stance taking, affect and styling - that can shed light on the Korean Wave as a form of soft power.
The Soft Power of the Korean Wave by Youna Kim (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021-09-05

Focusing on the recent phenomenon of Korean popular culture, Parasite, BTS and drama at an unprecedented historic moment, this book explores the multifaceted meaning of the Korean Wave at micro and macro levels and the process of media production, representation, circulation and consumption in a global context as a distinctive and complex form of soft power.
The Cambridge Companion to K-Pop by Suk-Young Kim (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023-02-06

Several relevant papers on BTS, including "The Band That Surprised the World. BTS, Transmedia, and Hip Hop" by Kyung Hyun Kim ; "The BTS Phenomenon"; "Transcultural Fandom: BTS and ARMY"; "Following the Footsteps of BTS : The Global Rise of K-Pop Tourism"
South Korean Popular Culture in the Global Context : beyond the fandom by Sojin Lim (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-08-17

Included in this edited volume is a chapter entitled "BTS's soft power and public diplomacy: partnership with UNICEF"
The Korean wave in a post-pandemic world : BTS, Cosmax and Squid Game by Geon-Cheol Shin, Mark D. Whitaker
Publication Date: 2023

presents an analysis of how the economic Korean Miracle spread into the cultural “Korean Wave” (Hallyu). First only in Asian countries and then around the world, the rising popularity of the Korean Wave continued within the pandemic—despite or even because of policies of digital lockdowns.
방탄 소년단 과 K팝 = BTS & K-Pop by 서 병기
Call Number: Langson Library Korea Corner ; ML421.B79 S64 2019

Publication Date: 2019

Written by reporter Seo Byung-ki, who records the history of Korean pop music in the field, tells the story of BTS, the greatest K-pop star that Korea has produced.