Research Guides: Asian Studies: English Books, Articles...

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

Online Resources (in English) by Type

Bibliography of Asian Studies Provides indexes of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
EBL e-Book Library Offers content across all subject areas and from major academic publishers worldwide. Books are fulltext searchable. Login with your UCINetID to maximize the use. Find more about EBL at http://guides.lib.uci.edu/eBooks/ebooks_EBL
MyiLibrary e-Books can be browsed by subject, by publisher, and alphabetically. Format: PDF / Download: Section / Print 10 pages per print transaction.
Michigan Asian Studies Open Access Books Collection Provides open access to a collection of 100 significant humanities, social science, and politic science books about East, South, and Southeast Asia.
China, Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives, at the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.
HathiTrust Provides access to an increasing number of Eastern and Western language materials. Institutional login for (i.e., UCI NetID and Password) is recommended for full access.
Google Books Log in with your Google account for a maximized access

Bibliography of Asian Studies As the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), provides indexes of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
JSTOR Provides full-text access to articles published in the back issues （mostly back to the very first issue) of Asian Folklore Studies, Asian Survey, Asian Theatre Journal, China Journal, China Quarterly, Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (CLEAR), Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies, Journal of Asian Studies, Journal of Japanese Studies, Journal of the American Oriental Society, Modern Asian Studies, Modern China, Monumenta Nipponica, Pacific Affairs , and more. However, recently year articles might not be available.
Project Muse Provides online fulltext access to many humanities and social sciences content.

Access World News Full text news resources from U.S. and abroad.
Factiva Provide searchable and browsable access to Chinese, Japanese as well as English newspapers in the fields of economics and business.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1941-1996) A fully searchable digital edition of the United States’ principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. All content in there are English translation of foreign broadcast transcripts and news.
North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists (1850~1951) A fulltext database of seven historical English newspapers published in China between 1850 and 1951, including The North-China Herald（1850~1941）, The North-China Daily News（1865~1951）, The North-China Desk Hong List（1872~1941）, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser(1862~1872), Hu Bao (1882~1908), Han Bao (1894~1900), and Xiao Xian Bao (1898~1906)
English Newspaper of Modern China (Shanghai Library) Incl. The Shanghai Times 1925~1943, The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury 1929~1949, The Shanghai Evening Courier 1869～1874,Shanghai Courier & China Gazette 1876～1878 & Shanghai Courier 1878～1884.
ProQuest Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832-1953) Provides fulltext access to 24 historical English language newspapers published in China, including: The North-China Herald (1850-1867)- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869)-Peking daily news (1914-1917)-The Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
more...less...
The Canton times (1919-1920)-The China critic (1939-1946)-China monthly review (1950-1953) -The China Press (1925-1938)-The China Weekly Review (1923-1950)-The Chinese recorder (1912-1938)-The Chinese recorder and educational review (1939-1941)-The Chinese recorder and missionary journal (1868-1912)-The Chinese repository (1832-1851)-Millard's China National Review (1919-1919)-Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919)-Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921)-The North-China Herald (1850-1867)- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869)-The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941)-Peking daily news (1914-1917)-Peking gazette (1915-1917)-The Peking leader (1918-1919)-The Shanghai gazette (1919-1921)-The Shanghai Times (1914-1921)-The Weekly Review (1922-1923)-The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922)
South China Morning Post [via ProQuest] (1903-) Coverage: 1903 - 2001. Updated annually with one additional year.
Wisenews (2000-) A searchable and browsable database with 292 English language newspapers (and 477 Chinese language newspapers) published in many countries. The date coverage is from 2000 to the present for the majority of newspaper titles.
38 North It is a website devoted to analysis of North Korea. Main objective of this site is to bring the best possible analysis to both seasoned North Korea watchers and general audiences alike. According to its introduction, this web site strives as much as possible for ideological balance, publishing opposing opinions, and utilizes various technologies to analyze military, economic, social and other developments north of the DMZ.

Biographical Dictionaries

Gale Virtual Reference Library Format: PDF / Download: Section. Download to MP3
Biographical dictionary of Chinese women : antiquity through Sui, 1600 B.C.E.-618 C.E. /Lily Xiao Hong Lee and A.D. Stefanowska et al
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library HQ1767.5.A3 B56 2007
Biographical dictionary of Japanese literature / Sen'ichi Hisamatsu
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library PL723 .B5
Biographical dictionary of Japanese art / Yutaka Tazawa
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library N7350 .B448

Dictionaries

Gale Virtual Reference Library Format: PDF / Download: Section. Download to MP3
The Princeton dictionary of Buddhism / Robert E. Buswell Jr. and Donald S. Lopez Jr.
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library BQ130 .P75 2014
Wisdom of the Far East; a dictionary of proverbs, maxims, and famous classical phrases of the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean/ Young H. Yoo
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library PN6511 .Y6
Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese art / Hugo Munsterberg
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library N7340 .M818 1981
Classical Japanese reader and essential dictionary / Haruo Shirane
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library PL537 .S555 2007
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre* This updated edition adds well over 200 plot summaries representing each theatrical form in addition to:a chronology;introductory essay;appendixes;an extensive bibliography;over 1500 cross-referenced entries on important terms;brief biographies of the leading artists and writers;and plot summaries of significant plays
Historical Dictionary of Japan to 1945* The early history of Japan is told through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, an extensive bibliography, and over 800 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important people, organizations, activities, and events.
Korea : a historical and cultural dictionary / Keith Pratt and Richard Rut
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library REF DS904.8 .P73 1999

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library Format: PDF / Download: Section. Download to MP3
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia an online version of the Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by David Levinson and Karen Christenson (Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2002).
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia

Statistics

World Development Indicators Online a complete and authoritative collection of statistics on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world, as collected and presented by the World Bank.
Google Dataset Search Search for datasets on the Web from publisher's sites, organizational portals, digital libraries or author's personal web pages.

Yearbooks

中国农村住戶调查年鉴（英文） (2003-) * Rural household survey

Bibliographies

Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature: A Reference Guide (vol.1)
more...less...
Call Number: Langson Library PL2265 .A63 2010 v.1
Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature: A Reference Guide (vol. 2) offers a wealth of information on writers, genres, literary schools and terms of the Chinese literary tradition from earliest times to the seventh century C.E
Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature: A Reference Guide (vol.3 & 4) offers a wealth of information on writers, genres, literary schools and terms of the Chinese literary tradition from earliest times to the seventh century C.E.
Oxford bibliographies online. Chinese studies Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Access to millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester.